Dr. John Geisler MD Patient Reviews

  • Gynecologic Oncology Newnan, GA

Overall Rating

2.9
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 15 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 2.1)

23 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    39%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    43%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 35.8 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
March 14th, 2016
Best OBGYN Oncologist on east coast!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Absolutely the BEST! Hands down - every time I see him I am more and more thankful I found him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 12th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Told us My Mom was cancer free after he did surgery??? Pet scan proved otherwise. She died 4 months after that WTH
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
January 22nd, 2013
uk
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr was great. His staff lead a lot to be desired. Being sick is hard and being treated the way I was by them was even harder. Cancer is a scarry word but Vanessa is even scarrier. She caused me stress that is so uncalled for.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 3rd, 2012
Not very good...
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
May 23rd, 2012
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Giesler did not recommend chemo after my surgery. I had two other opinions who said I definitely needed chemo as it was standard protocol for my specific diagnosis. I am thankful I got another opinion because my cancer did not go into remission after my surgery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 2nd, 2012
Not the kind of doctor I want...
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He doesn't fight for you - he doesn't push the insurance companies for tests that are needed, he doesn't ask questions to get the whole story, he doesn't take your concerns or questions seriously. He isn't a doctor I would want caring for me, especially with a serious condition, like cancer. His coworkers aren't impressed with him, and that says a lot to me. Seek care and REAL compassion elsewhere...it'll save your life, literally.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2011
"I thank god for you"
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am truely thankful to you and your staff for the wonderful care, compassion,and expertise you have shown to me during my recent surgery and follow up appointments.You as well as your associates saved my life as i was a very sick woman,I can not thank you enough for that! I highly reccomend you to any woman out there who needs a doctor who specializes in repairing Vaginal procidentia.Once again thank you for being such a great doctor your kindness,and expertise is what the world needs more of.May god continue to use you to help others. Blessings always

1.0 of 5
July 25th, 2010
Very upset and disappointed in Dr. Geisler!
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Geisler, along with the residents he is in charge of, are sub par!He is difficult to get in touch with (especially during emergent situations), lazy in his diagnosis process, passes the majority of his work to residents who don't have the experience and hides from complex cases.I would never!!! recommend Dr. Geisler to anyone! His wife, Dr. Mannahan, works at UTMC in the same department. She has been called a poor surgeon by so many colleagues and patients it is unbelievable she is still employed with UTMC. They both came from Indiana, as a package deal, to UTMC. It was a very raw deal for UTMC and the Toledo citizens who are in their care!Dr. Geisler is a good doctor if all you need is an office visit now and then. But if you need anything more, you better be prepared to be disappointed. 90% of what he does is "talk" with his patients...and he is good at that. But if you want a doctor to go to bat for you with your insurance company (to fight for your PET scans, etc), be available to answer questions when your admitted to his hospital and give you accurate/timely care, you better go somewhere else!!Finally, one more piece of advice, if you are taking Avastin under his care, make him talk to you about its side affects!! And pay attention to your body and any changes....and bring those up to him. He is so quick to get you in and out of his office, and to make you feel like "things just change sometimes, without cause." Question him, pester him, talk to him directly (don't be pushed off on his residents, who all seem to be versions of him - little compassion, lack of knowledge, etc.) and get a second opinion outside of his group of Oncologists! Best of luck to you in your medical fight. Keep your chin up, it will get you further than you can imagine!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 28th, 2010
A Doctor? Ha!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Yea, right. I couldn't have said it better than AVERY did below. He is self centered, and lacks compassion and common sense. You can put his wife, Dr. Mannahan, in the same category too. He preaches prevention, and doesn't act on it. He wants you to think he is concerned, when really you don't matter. And he will leave when things get rough, and jump back in when things are smoothing out. He takes credit where he deserves none, and he relies on the patient (who is drugged up in bed) to make all medical decisions.He will do the bare minimum for you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 5th, 2010
Complete A**hole...very arrogant
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This man cares about no one but himself. He will tell you he cares and he acts as if he does. However, after he makes mistakes he refuses to own up to them and will not take the advice of other doctors (even when the problems he causes need other specialties to fix his errors). He will not be bedside after his rounds. If called for a problem he will push it off until morning, regardless of how critical the patient is. Stay away from this man. He is only in this job for the paycheck!!!! He will allow you to die before coming in after office hours (especially on weekends).
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 9th, 2009
Find Someone Else
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
July 23rd, 2009
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
associate is very crass! not comforting place to hear about life changing diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Geisler, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Newnan, GA.