The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Gunderson Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Gunderson?

Bipolar Disorder

Get the facts about bipolar disorder, including the different types and symptoms of each.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Gunderson?

Ratings and Reviews

9 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    2
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6
  • Excellent
    2
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    0
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    6

Quality Rating

Neutral

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Friendly Staff
Promptness
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
10 min

Showing 9 Ratings with 6 Comments

1.0 Rating

February 2nd, 2017

The man honestly should be tried in the hague

A true mysoginist if there ever was one. The number of people ive run into at other programs who have said they were traumatized by the man. He provokes the patient into getting mad then diagnoses them. Thank goodness only the very wealthy have to see him and its their choice based on his fame for writing books. Please bring your very wisest self to a meeting with him and feel free to walk out from the abusive nature of his quesioning.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 23rd, 2016

Unprofessional and Unscientific

He had staff pull me out of bed at McLean's Short Term Unit and bring me upstairs, where he interrogated me in front of a bunch of students. He offered a poorly thought out diagnosis after only talking with me for 7 minutes, billed me 300 dollars, and sent me back downstairs. I am a licensed mental health clinician, and I would never act with the same negligence as this so-called professional. Individuals like him are the reason Psychology has such a difficult time maintaining legitimacy in the public eye over scientific fields such as Neuroscience and Behaviorism.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 14th, 2013

He's wonderful. Honest but wonderful.

I love Dr. Gunderson. Ive seen him for quite a while now and I can state without reservation that he has changed my life. He's sometimes harsh but every time I have left his office upset I get home and realize "oh god, he's right." He sees through facades and falsity. He's a brilliant, funny and ultimately very caring. I have been in outpatient at Mclean, and in my experience those who don't like him are irked by his advice--often they don't want to hear what he has to say--which is brutally honest. He never panders. It's not him, it's them--a combination of textbook BPD hypersensitivity and the tragic state of denial that so many patients make their home. There are many patients at McLean who do love him. i know them well. Thank you Dr. G.

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 5th, 2011

If you are a parent looking for help with in an adult child suffering from Borderline Personality Disorder, read his publictions. They are excellent. I strongly suggest you don't however, make an appointment to see him. See someone else.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 3rd, 2011

May be a good theoretician, but a dangerous clinician

Dr. Gunderson saw me for about an hour when I was in a fragile condition. Without knowing much about me, he proceeded to shred my then-little self-esteem and to pass judgment on things about which he knew nothing. Having not been suicidal previously, I left the meeting with him in a dangerous condition.He was hostile and vindictive. Similar opinions of him were universal among patients I knew at McLean; I spent a year as an outpatient there and never met a patient who didn't loathe him, though doubtless there were some.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 2nd, 2010

Dr. John G Gunderson Supports Violent Misogynists.

It gets pretty nasty at Harvard. Avoid it. The doctors are too worried about their careers to provide comprehensive care to the public. They refuse to ...

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

March 18th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 14th, 2015

1.0 Rating

January 29th, 2012

Bedside Manner
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Gunderson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Belmont, MA.

  • Dr. Dost Ongur

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Belmont, MA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    16
  • Dr. James Wines Jr

    Addiction Medicine, Neurology, Psychiatry

    Belmont, MA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    27
  • Dr. Michael Hollander

    Dr. Michael Hollander

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Belmont, MA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)