ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Gwin Jr Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Gwin Jr?

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Gwin Jr?

Ratings and Reviews

45 Ratings with 15 Comments

  • Excellent
    27
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    5
  • Bad
    8
  • Excellent
    27
  • Great
    3
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    5
  • Bad
    8

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
23.6 min

Showing 45 Ratings with 15 Comments

5.0 Rating

December 28th, 2016

Wonderful doctor and person

I have been with Dr. Gwin since 2004 when I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I trust this man with my life. I have continued treating with Dr. Gwin for other medical problems because of his expertise, his Christian and gentlemanly manners and his genuine concern of the well-being for his patients.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 13th, 2015

Referred in hospital for emergency surgery. Very compassionate and competent man.

Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

September 30th, 2015

Doctor Gwin is one of the best in Chattanooga Tennessee I know Because i had him .I will go to Dr. Gwin again .

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 16th, 2015

I am 71 years old and had a gall bladder attack, Dr Gwin was recommended and he did my surgery. I really liked him as a person, and he put my mind at ease. I was treated quickly, and recovered quickly, He has a great office staff who were friendly and professional.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 23rd, 2014

bed side manner very poor, poor follow up, i had a partial gastrectomy 4 mo ago and for the last 5 week ive had increased abd pain very severe at times and constantly hurts , he said very little with no meds given and to come back in 6 months, my god i hope you have a good gi md because this surgeon does not care ive worked with many doctors over the last 20 years and would never recommend this dr to anyone he may be a good surgeon but a patient needs more than a dr that is just good with a scalpel

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 6th, 2013

Outstanding Experience

Dr. Gwin was knowledgeable and skillful. He worked with my urologist so that they were able to complete three surgical procedures at one time. My surgery was simple umbilical hernia repair and everything went well.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

September 27th, 2012

Would go back if staff wasnt so clueless...

I have been a patient of Dr. Gwin for almost 7 years. He has had a change of staff and they went from being an efficient, caring, well oiled machine to hair twirling girls. I did not receive a call the day before my appt as I always have. I had a biopsy and had to call three times before I was given results. When people are dealing with cancer you should have people who genuinely care...not just working for a paycheck.

Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 3rd, 2012

Dr. Gwin is an excellent surgeon and caring individual

Last year I had surgery for cancer performed by Dr. Gwin. I have wonderful range of motion and minimal scarring. He truly cares about his patients and has spent time answering all my questions. He treats me like a friend, and directly answers questions at my level of comprehension of medical terms and procedures.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 2nd, 2011

Excellent care
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

September 16th, 2011

Amazing

I went to see Dr. Gwin as a referral from my OB/Gyn for a breast cancer concern. Dr. Gwin's office called me to set up the appointment, got me in the next day, and brought me back to an exam room as soon as I walked through the door. They stated that they did this because they knew that I as was scared, and they wanted to address my concerns as quickly as possible. Dr. Gwin was courteous, professional, and very easy to talk to. His staff waited until my exam was over to have me fill out the necessary paperwork. Overall, considering the nature of the meeting, I could not have been more pleased with how the process went!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 31st, 2010

Worse Doctor I've ever seen

I was referred to this doctor after my chemotherapy for followup since he was a surgical onocologist. This man did biopsys on me every 3 months causing more scar tissue to develop. he then sched me for a "biopsy" that he said needed to be done in the hosp and when he came in to speak with me at my schedule appt time, he saw a female friend of his that was scheduled for him 2 hrs after my scheduled time. He took her ahead of me and told me I could wait. I developed Staff infection after the last biopsy he did on my in his office and he refused to see me or call me until i was driven to his office at the hosp and my spouse demanded that he see me. I had to wait 2 hrs for him to see me, i had a 104 degree temp, lethargic, listless and almost comatose, he told my spouse he didn't think there was anything wrong with me, but he would admit me to the hosp. which he did and promply left town for the holidays.Never checked on me or anything. needless to say I never went back to him and never will. I ended up with so much volume loss due to his "necessary" biopsy's and a hole that did not heal that my breast sparing lumpectomy went bad and i ended up having to have a masectomy, STAY AWAY FROM THIS MAN!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 15th, 2010

needs to be more friendly

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Gwin Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Chattanooga, TN.

  • Dr. Richard Jennings III

    General Surgery

    Chattanooga, TN 0 mi

    4.8
    (19)
    35
  • Dr. George Gilmore

    Dr. George Gilmore

    General Surgery

    Chattanooga, TN 0 mi

    4.7
    (14)
    30
  • Dr. Charles Portera Jr

    Dr. Charles Portera Jr

    Surgical Oncology, General Surgery, Gynecology

    Chattanooga, TN 0 mi

    4.4
    (15)
    25