Dr. John Alexander MD, FACS Patient Reviews

  • Surgical Oncology Dallas, TX

Overall Rating

3.3
  • 38 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.0 (-0.3)

38 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    39%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    26%
  • Poor
    5%
  • Bad
    29%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 42.6 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
July 3rd, 2017
STAY AWAY FROM THIS BUTCHER
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Keep clear of his office and his hospital if you want to stay healthy!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 22nd, 2017
STAY AWAY FROM THIS DR AND HIS HOSPITAL-FIRST BAPTIST MEDICAL CENTER
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor and his staff are nothing but liars. From the receptionists to the insurance handlers. Nurses and doctor included. He supposedly did my surgery over 5 months ago. Im still vomiting on a daily basis, still cant eat solids and have lost over 50 lbs. I look HORRIBLE!! I ended up with a staff infection while I was in the hospital. But, they paid it no mind. Got sent home and right back in the ER and hospitalized for another week. I was given overdose of medications......too much to list. But with whatvibe given you, you need to turn back and seek another doctor. They do lie about the insurance. Talk with your insurance company BEFORE allowing any doctor to touch you. You could end up with a $240,000 unpaid medical bill like me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 26th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Beware you will end up paying more money then quoted. I was asked for a bunch of money up front and now it's never ending. Was told dr was in network w my insurance company turned out he's not nor anyone he uses. Dr was friendly and knowledgeable his billing sept sucks and can't get their stories straight!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 12th, 2015
Unsanitary, terrible surgeon
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Most unsanitary, untimely, uncaring Dr. I've ever been around. Has not a care in the world about you- you see him once and never again. 2+ hr wait for appts. Terrible- I wouldn't trust him to remove a mole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 27th, 2015
Don't believe the negative reviews
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I read the other reviews and want to add more details to my review. I traveled from Oklahoma to see Dr. Alexander. I arrived 3 hours earlier than they expected. The Staff AND Dr. Alexander did everything they could to accomate my early arrival. I think I waited a maximum of 20 minutes to see Dr. Alexander. Everyone went out of there way to do all they could for me, so my trips back prior to my surgery day would be as few as possible. I am very impressed with everyone in this office and Dr. Alexander. I just cannot imagine why anyone would have a negative comment to make.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Great experience!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Everyone in the office, including Dr. Alexander are amazing! I'm so glad I found him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 16th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very little information shared. Zero nutrition counseling and never saw the doctor again after surgery. Awful experience. Was very confusing, did not care about pain management. They only care about ensuring you hit a quota for weight loss. Was made to follow a clear liquid diet for 8 weeks. It was very difficult and the lack of protein was not good.

5.0 of 5
June 27th, 2015
Nice doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was reading reviews,people sure do lie on these doctors ?Dr Alexander is one of the nicest doctors you will ever meet and yes he does ALOT he also removed my gallbladder and told me about all the cysts I have
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 24th, 2015
best weight loss doctor in Dallas,Texas
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would definitely choose this doctor again and I recommend him to anyone that asks how I lost so much weight.I went to Mexico to get a lap band (was not good for follow ups) Dr.Alexander is the best revision doctor if you are considering a revision or having issues from work done in another country Dr.Alexander ,his staff the hospital everyone is just awesome,please see Dr.Alexander I started at 240pounds and got to 120 pounds nothing tastes as good as wearing a size 5!!!!! I don't know what else to say overall he is just "the best".
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 13th, 2014
The worst Dr. I have ever visited.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He does a lot more than weight loss surgery. Took out my appendix after waiting15 hours of agonizing pain. Even other Doctors told my very upset husband on the phone to leave his hospital and go get REAL help elsewhere. Bedside manner was the worst, follow up was days later while I was still in the hospital. I got a Staff infection from the surgery. Have a 7 inch vertical scar from what should have been a routine procedure. I have been told he waited at least 12 hours to long to perform the initial surgery, thus making the whole appendicmy much worse. I ended back in the hospital for the staff infection which was as bad a the original surgery. Bottom line DO NOT USE THIS DOCTOR TO CLEAN THE WAX OUT OF YOUR EARS! Overall rating would be a negative 5. I can no longer wear a batingsuit because of his inferior lack of skill.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
June 4th, 2013
Worst thing is the wait...
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor and his staff are very competent, friendly and courteous. The only problem is that when you have an appointment with the doctor, get ready to wait. My longest wait has been 2:00hrs the best has been 1:00hr. As completely unacceptable as that is I'm a bit stuck, since my procedure is done. I also wish they would have been more fourth comming with general information ie. diet to follow and things to expect. They tell you you can call anytime but I'd like to have reading materials. Maybe not giving you reading materials forces you to make more office appointments...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 25th, 2013
Dr Alexander gave me my life back
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After having my surgery done I am no longer a diabetic I went from having two shots a day to not having to take any medications and I'm no longer a diabetic. I've also lost forty one pounds in six short weeks. Thank You Dr Alexander for giving me my life back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Alexander, MD, FACS is similar to these 3 Doctors near Dallas, TX.