Dr. John Alexander MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.5
  • 35 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (+ 0.2)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    43%
  • Satisfied
    14%
  • Neutral
    14%
  • Dissatisfied
    6%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    23%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 39.5 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
April 26th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Beware you will end up paying more money then quoted. I was asked for a bunch of money up front and now it's never ending. Was told dr was in network w my insurance company turned out he's not nor anyone he uses. Dr was friendly and knowledgeable his billing sept sucks and can't get their stories straight!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 12th, 2015
Unsanitary, terrible surgeon
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Most unsanitary, untimely, uncaring Dr. I've ever been around. Has not a care in the world about you- you see him once and never again. 2+ hr wait for appts. Terrible- I wouldn't trust him to remove a mole.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 27th, 2015
Don't believe the negative reviews
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I read the other reviews and want to add more details to my review. I traveled from Oklahoma to see Dr. Alexander. I arrived 3 hours earlier than they expected. The Staff AND Dr. Alexander did everything they could to accomate my early arrival. I think I waited a maximum of 20 minutes to see Dr. Alexander. Everyone went out of there way to do all they could for me, so my trips back prior to my surgery day would be as few as possible. I am very impressed with everyone in this office and Dr. Alexander. I just cannot imagine why anyone would have a negative comment to make.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 21st, 2015
Great experience!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Everyone in the office, including Dr. Alexander are amazing! I'm so glad I found him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
September 16th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very little information shared. Zero nutrition counseling and never saw the doctor again after surgery. Awful experience. Was very confusing, did not care about pain management. They only care about ensuring you hit a quota for weight loss. Was made to follow a clear liquid diet for 8 weeks. It was very difficult and the lack of protein was not good.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 26th, 2015
Nice doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was reading reviews,people sure do lie on these doctors ?Dr Alexander is one of the nicest doctors you will ever meet and yes he does ALOT he also removed my gallbladder and told me about all the cysts I have
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 23rd, 2015
best weight loss doctor in Dallas,Texas
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would definitely choose this doctor again and I recommend him to anyone that asks how I lost so much weight.I went to Mexico to get a lap band (was not good for follow ups) Dr.Alexander is the best revision doctor if you are considering a revision or having issues from work done in another country Dr.Alexander ,his staff the hospital everyone is just awesome,please see Dr.Alexander I started at 240pounds and got to 120 pounds nothing tastes as good as wearing a size 5!!!!! I don't know what else to say overall he is just "the best".
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 13th, 2014
The worst Dr. I have ever visited.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He does a lot more than weight loss surgery. Took out my appendix after waiting15 hours of agonizing pain. Even other Doctors told my very upset husband on the phone to leave his hospital and go get REAL help elsewhere. Bedside manner was the worst, follow up was days later while I was still in the hospital. I got a Staff infection from the surgery. Have a 7 inch vertical scar from what should have been a routine procedure. I have been told he waited at least 12 hours to long to perform the initial surgery, thus making the whole appendicmy much worse. I ended back in the hospital for the staff infection which was as bad a the original surgery. Bottom line DO NOT USE THIS DOCTOR TO CLEAN THE WAX OUT OF YOUR EARS! Overall rating would be a negative 5. I can no longer wear a batingsuit because of his inferior lack of skill.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 4th, 2013
Worst thing is the wait...
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The doctor and his staff are very competent, friendly and courteous. The only problem is that when you have an appointment with the doctor, get ready to wait. My longest wait has been 2:00hrs the best has been 1:00hr. As completely unacceptable as that is I'm a bit stuck, since my procedure is done. I also wish they would have been more fourth comming with general information ie. diet to follow and things to expect. They tell you you can call anytime but I'd like to have reading materials. Maybe not giving you reading materials forces you to make more office appointments...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 25th, 2013
Dr Alexander gave me my life back
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After having my surgery done I am no longer a diabetic I went from having two shots a day to not having to take any medications and I'm no longer a diabetic. I've also lost forty one pounds in six short weeks. Thank You Dr Alexander for giving me my life back.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
October 9th, 2012
Staff
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have recommended this physician to my friends & coworkers because he has such great experience. However his staff are horrible, they don't return calls, no follow up skills what so ever. They make financial arrangements, then come back 2 days later and say those aren't suitable. Always with the threat that you will not get to see the physician if their demands are met. Very rude also.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
March 15th, 2012
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Very optimistic and encouraging about surgery
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Alexander, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Dallas, TX.

Doctor

Dr. Steven Maskal

24 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Green

19 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Philip Swanson

35 years experience

3.7 of 5