Dr. John Hovorka MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery McAllen, TX

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 17 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

1.5 (-2.2)

17 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    59%
  • Great
    6%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    12%
  • Bad
    24%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 17.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great dr saved my leg
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 5th, 2014
teacher
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hovorka is one of the best doctors, if not, the best of them all with a real interest in his patients and a passion which he implicitly demonstrates when he goes the extra mile to provide the most promising treatment possible. Moreover, he might seem a bit eccentric to the new patient, however that is due to his professional insight to the ailment presented by the patient but relax, he knows better. Nevertheless, his ability and professionalism cannot be questioned because the infirm do get healed as I can attest. In addition, I can state that his motivation is not directed by self-interest nor personal gain but, to attempt to bring healing to his patients; money is not his motivation to bring healing for his patients as unfortunately, it is for many doctors. It has been over three years since Dr. Hovorka performed surgery on my leg—DVT which inflicted profound damage to my foot, fortunately a nurse—Norma, introduced me to him and here I am…doing great on my feet. If you read this Dr. Hovorka, I share my testimony with those I see with foot or leg difficulties because I know you are an outstanding doctor. I never told you that your comforting words "amputation is the last resort”, gave me much comfort when others had written me off and I thank God and you for saving my foot on that day. See you and your exceptional staff soon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 9th, 2012
The best surgeon in McAllen
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Havorca is bar none the best surgeon in the valley, yes he is a litle bit difficult to undertand, but he truly cares about his patients, my mother was very sick and Dr. H. was having dinner with some friends, he left the restaurant and came to my house at 10:30 PM to follow up with my mom and next day had her admitted to the hospital. Today my mother is doing much better, thanks to the REAL care provided by Dr. Hovorka, I hope people take notice on this awesome surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 19th, 2011
Dr. Hovorka, one caring doctor out to help humanity.
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Hovorka is one of the best doctors out there. He might lack in social skills but his ability is unquestionable--he knows what needs to be done and will not allow anyone tell him "no" when it comes to caring for his patients. He actually does care about those he sees--his care is "down home" when it comes to care and helping his patients heal; he will order anything that will make life better for the sick. Trust him, he knows best because his interest it to help not out for the money as most doctors are greedy and uninvolved. He saved my foot after four different doctors (even my primary) all said to have my foot amputated while Dr. Hovorka said "no" and saved it. Today, I am able to walk and run if I like to.Please don't get any amputations done without asking Dr. Hovorka to see you first; he is "amputation is the last resort" kind of doctor we all need.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 24th, 2010
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
i was seen 3yrs ago with terrible leg cramps, bad venus flow, blood clots and very swollen legs and ankles. i was wearing size ll shoes. after dr. horvorka treated me for my problems my swelling has gone down, blood is excellent and i am back to wearing size 9 shoes again. if i had waited six more months longer i would have lost my right leg. dr. h. is the best in his field.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2009
Patiet
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
I couldn't find a better doctor for my mothr regarding her varicose veins. He is a very carig doctor and cares alote for his paitent. As well as for his staff that work with him are the most caring staff.

1.0 of 5
June 14th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 14th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 13th, 2016
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 13th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 15th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 4th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Hovorka, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near McAllen, TX.