The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Hurley Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

Ratings and Reviews

26 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    13
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
31.4 min

Showing 26 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 20th, 2016

I had a wonderful experience with Dr. Hurley. He scoped my knee 10 years ago to repair a torn miniscus and I've had no subsequent issues. I suspect some of the Hurley haters out there didn't do their rehabilitation. That's imperative to having a favorable outcome.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 13th, 2015

Bottom line...fixed my shoulder and did a great job!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 23rd, 2013

Most Special Experience with a doctor in my life

I saw Dr. Hurley for what I later learned by TESTS was osteoarthritis. Dr. Hurley looked at me and told me my knee pain was because I had had children, and what I had was a "women's condition." There was no treatment or cure, and really nothing wrong, just the fact that I was a woman who had had children who must live with my "imagined" knee pain. And I am so thankful that I had to wait well more an hour for this diagnosis, and pay a copayment as well.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 11th, 2012

Smashed clavicle left sholder

I was reading some of the comments regarding this ODctor and i really can't believe them. I went to him after an accident in Florida left me with a totally destryed clavicle and shoulder. I truly did some home work before going to John. Thinking back to the other surgeons I interviewed whose thoughts on this type of surgery were from another era I thank God I found him. I am an older active man, golfer,tennis player and one of my concerns was that I could keep my sports life. He told me I would never be like before but I might approach 96/97%. My recovery and therapy was not easy and I was yelled at by him like a child(for raking leaves and possibly destroying his work), but this guy is on the money. I am playing in a competitive golf in a league and can still play a set or two of single tennis. This is 4/5 years after the surgery.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 13th, 2012

Biggest mistake of my life!

Long waits, poor post-op care which you have to fight to be seen. After 10 weeks post-op I am in worse shape than before seeing Dr. Hurly. I continue to have fluid accumulation, pain and swelling in my knee. I was told I would be able to play tennis 6-8 weeks after surgery, I can't even walk more than 1-2 blocks without having to stop from pain. I am now on continuous antiflammatories, have to limit my life and activities thanks to this surgery. Like a previous comment I had some arthritis in my knee which should never have been operated on and now Dr. Hurly states that I need a knee replacement. I would have been fine I know learn if I rested my knee and gone to physical therapy rather than have surgery. The surgery just progresses arthritis which a Dr. Of Hurly's experience would know. Since I have good insurance his practice could get two surgeries out of me instead of one. I now have to be a patient until the day I can know longer live this disabling pain and get a knee replacement which after my per-op visit I was assured I would be able to play tennis again and go back to my normal life. I would never recommend this Dr. To anyone.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 14th, 2011

Terrible getting appointments

I called to schedule an appointment. After answering a phone questionnaire, I was told they would call me back to let me know if the doctor would meet with me. After waiting 2 days, I had to call everyday for the next 5 days for them to actually schedule an appointment with me. That appointment was for 15 business days later! Terrible. I have never had such an awefull experience just to make an appointment. I went to a different doctor.

Easy Appointment
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

September 8th, 2011

Meniscal tear surgery

It has been a year since my meniscus tear surgery done by Dr. Hurley. At the moment I have no issues with my knee at all. Highly recommended.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

October 2nd, 2008

He cared more about his reputation, I just want it fixed right.

He called to tell me he never had to re-do a surgery before me. This tells me he's worried more about his reputation than the patient's pain. He keeps me in a sling for 6 months which caused my other arm to be overused and re-tear also. This is my fifth time of re-tears rotator cuffs surgery. Do you think he'll get it right this time? I don't want to undergo any more surgeries. P.S. I don't have disconnective tissue disease, diabetes, and was tested for numerous other problems of which came out negative. Therefore I have no other recourse than to blame the doctor who thinks everyone fits his textbook example. Only time will tell after my surgery. I'll let you know.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 12th, 2017

3.0 Rating

August 7th, 2016

2.0 Rating

June 1st, 2016

5.0 Rating

May 12th, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Hurley is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Hackettstown, NJ.

  • Dr. Robert Masella

    Dr. Robert Masella

    Sports Medicine, Orthopedic Surgery, General Practice

    Hackettstown, NJ 0.01 mi

    4.9
    (18)
    14
  • Dr. Michael Deehan

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Hackettstown, NJ 0.01 mi

    4.6
    (40)
    28
  • Dr. Glen Wainen

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Hackettstown, NJ 0.01 mi

    4.2
    (19)
    24