The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Itamura Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Itamura?

Fibromyalgia

Fibromyalgia

Get the facts about fibromyalgia, including the symptoms and conditions that may be related to it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Itamura?

Ratings and Reviews

71 Ratings with 21 Comments

  • Excellent
    53
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    5
  • Bad
    9
  • Excellent
    53
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    5
  • Bad
    9

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
33 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 71 Ratings with 21 Comments

1.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2017

Worst Doctor Ever!!

I had to wait 4 hours EVERY time I saw him. Then I'd only get a few minutes of his time. Ii now NEED a shoulder replacement cuz he wrecked my upper arm and shoulder muscles. I was given way too much anesthesia, and now can't walk. Yes, I've been crippled too, by this sorry excuse of a man. Stay away, unless you want to be hurt. He was also abusive. Could not have been a worse experience.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 14th, 2017

Brilliant doctor.

I had problems with my broken wrist and got complexex regional pain syndrome (CRPS) and had problems with the swelling in my hand and the movement of my fingers. He was the only doctor that could help me and now I have full use of my fingers. I'm very grateful and thankful to him

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 17th, 2017

Bad doctor all the way around

I had to wait for 4 hours to see him for an initial consultation. Then when I finally did see him, all I got was 15 minutes of his time, if that. The consultation was so limited, that I knew that I'd wasted my time. I came away knowing nothing. Total waste!!

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 6th, 2017

I wouldn't trust anyone else

I had a rare traumatic elbow injury from a horse accident in South Africa. My elbow had violently dislocated and I had a vascular injury (occluded brachial artery). After seeing other highly regarded orthapedic surgeons, no one wanted felt equipped to do my surgery due to its complexity. Dr. Itamura and his staff got me in quickly for an evaluation and scheduled surgery immediately. He was confident, kind and professional. The surgery went better than I could have expected/such a huge relief to me and my family. If something went wrong I could have lost my arm. As a bonus, since he knew I was driving over an hour for all post-op visits he made sure I saw all the specialists I needed to in one visit. Highly recommend him (staff is magnificent too). For us it was worth the 70 minute drive and I'm so grateful to him for repairing my elbow.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 13th, 2017

You will not find a better Doctor or Surgeon

Dr Itamura has cared for and treated me like he would treat his own family. Very honest and caring. My only regret that he wasn't the first surgeon that I was sent to repair a elbow fracture.I was finally referred to Dr I after multiple failed surgeries with the hope that he could repair the damage caused by the previous surgeries. The wait time has improved dramatically from previous years, but I would wait 10 hours everyday if it meant I would have the best surgeon in the country.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 1st, 2017

Very incompetent

He botched my surgery, and blamed my problems with the anesthesia afterwards on my failure to follow the physical therapist's recommendations. That was not the problem. I had brain damage from the anesthesia. All around a very bad experience.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 30th, 2016

I'm 67 and Dr. Itamura hurt me worse than my degen dis has. I was scared to speak out until my grandson showed me all the other negative reviews (he's also typing for me, thank you Josh). I want to say that Dr. Itamura threatened me when I said he would not getta way this this by saying "No one will ever listen to an old cripple." I might not be a cripple if not for you Mr. Itamura!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 30th, 2016

Dangerously incompetent

Most incompetent doctor ever seen. Injected a trigger point on the wrong side of my body and I was too ashamed by his constant verbal abuse to stop him. I have never felt so bad about myself.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 29th, 2016

Amazing Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

May 20th, 2016

Go With The Best

No Better Shoulder/Upper extremity surgeon! Period.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 23rd, 2016

The best reverse shoulder surgeon in So.Ca.. My therapists have many stories of how great this man is. He is a great asset to anybody with shoulder/elbow/wrist issues!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 19th, 2015

Best doctor! He repaired my torn, broken and separated shoulder. My shoulder was a mess, but he fixed it. Also spotted that I had a broken foot... after the foot specialist told me I had a bad sprain. I can not say enough good things about Dr. Itamura. He is just the best...and a nice guy too!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Itamura is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.

  • Dr. Matthew Chong

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0 mi

    4.3
    (25)
    7
  • Dr. Matthew Longacre

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0 mi

    4.3
    (13)
    7
  • Dr. Kevin Pelton

    Dr. Kevin Pelton

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0 mi

    3.9
    (48)
    12