The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Murray Jr Is this you?

Filter Reviews

11 Ratings • 10 Comments

3.9
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
  • 0
  • 3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
29.4 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Murray Jr?

Showing 11 of 11 Ratings

Man and Doctor extraordinaire

Posted on March 31st, 2016

This man was incredible. His skills save my wife's life. My family owes him so much.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on July 28th, 2015

One of the top two doctors I've been blessed to know, both professionally and as caring humans I believe to this day that Dr Murray has allowed me many more years of like (75 now) and I'll always be grateful for that

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

A Thoughtful, Caring, Dedicated Doctor

Posted on July 12th, 2013

I have read some of the other reviews, and after literally many years of seeing Dr. Murray, am surprised at a few of the comments about him "not caring." I respect the recipient/reviewer and their own experience, but given what I have seen John do versus other surgeons, this could not be further from the truth for me. He would show up early to work to fit me into his schedule for an urgent issue, he was the last surgeon making rounds every night in the hospital during one of my semi-regular stays due to ongoing chronic issues, ensuring he saw each and every one of his patients twice a day on his own (versus every other gastro Dr or surgeon whom I am aware of that leverages residents), and really showed a dedication towards seeing through to completion each and every procedure on his own. Having been under the constant care of nearly a half dozen different gastro surgeons in my lifetime, his own success record with me was nothing short of excellent, and as much as we like to think of medicine and doctors as a science, with surgery their is very much an art, of which Dr. Murray is a true Picaso and one of the finest you hopefully never have the privilege of working on you.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Dr Murray

Posted on May 13th, 2013

I followed Dr Murray to DHMC after being a patient of his at Lahey. I'm scheduled for my sixth abdominal surgery to continue my battle for normalcy after acute and chronic ulcerative colitis. I have a JPouch that is functioning well, the UC is behind me and if we can successfully close this recurring incisional hernia I'm a happy camper. I find Dr Murray a skilled, caring surgeon that always puts the patients interest first. I wouldn't go through this with anyone else, he has saved my life a few times now.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

on of the best

Posted on September 25th, 2012

bright---caring--a fine healing professional--skilled surgeon--jj is the best

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on February 12th, 2011

Wonderful surgeon. Caring, calls to check on progress. Highly recommend!

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Vastly overrated

Posted on January 17th, 2011

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Gentle Doctor

Posted on September 21st, 2010

Dr. Murray is a quiet man, so he may come across as not caring. But he is a smart, conscientious, outstanding surgeon who cares more than most.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

office visit

Posted on April 6th, 2010

Dr Murray lacked empathy and compassion for me as a patient. He was inflexible. He lacked professional communication. I felt very uncomforable with his approach to my problem. He did not offer me relief of my symptoms and did not appear to care.

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One of the best!

Posted on September 24th, 2008

I've been to other facilities in the Northeast and the Cleveland Clinic as well. This doctor is excellent!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on November 30th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Murray Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Lebanon, NH.