Dr. John Oppenheimer MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 12 comments

Last 12 months:

no change

12 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    63%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    4%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    22%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 10.5 minutes
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
June 1st, 2016
Easy Appointment
I tried making an appointment the Dr. after expressing that I had an emergency. The receptionist was the farthest thing from helpful. Terrible way for a new patient to feel.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 16th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He was so rude, pretty much told me he had no time for my child as he was super busy and my child would take too much time to get better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 13th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Oppenheimer shows genuine concern to his patient. I missed his services when I left New Jersey in 2013. Now that I am back, he is in on top of my bucket list to visit for my asthma and allergies.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 7th, 2015
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My first visit to Dr. Oppenheimer resulted in an immediate and huge positive change in my allergy/asthma issues.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 12th, 2013
A happy patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I enjoyed visiting Dr. Oppenheimer as he was so direct and sure on my diagnostic. I highly recommend him and he takes good care of the patient's anxieties. A rare ability to calm the patient down, jokes with the patient, and creates a very nice atmosphere while treating you. No hesitation on telling he is the best in his profession.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I feel after reading the reviews below that we are seeing a different doctor. My 9-year-old daughter has both a peanut allergy and asthma and has been seeing Dr. Oppenheimer for about 4 years. I find him incredibly well informed of the medical literature out there and very communicative as to her health status and how we should approach her care. I like the fact that he speaks to my daughter as well and realizes, though 9, that she is the patient. On the rare occasions that I have had to call the office in need of his input he has called us back promptly. I not only have recommended him to countless friends I just recommended him to one of the physicians I work for whose son needs an evaluation. I would not take my daughter to anyone else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 18th, 2013
Dr Oppenheimer refused to see my daughter
Wait time
5 minutes
My daughter who is 7 had a 830 am appointment on a Monday . She woke up sick so I called the after hours line at 745am to cancel.. I called back when the office was open and the nurses words to me were that dr Oppenheimer said he will never take her as a patient bc I cancelled her to find another Dr.. I will make sure everyone knows what he did after I have referred him, he's seen my daughter and my nephew
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have a 6 yr old boy with Asperger's. I also had no choice but to bring my 3 yr old. The nurse & the Dr were very patient and understanding and aware of our needs. My son is usually very weary of people he does not know, especially doctors. But he was ok at both our initial appt and follow-up. Maybe we got him on a good day? Seems like others had bad experiences- sorry for that. I think he does have a sort of no-nonsense approach- but that works for us!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
August 23rd, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
not pleased with manners or assistance.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 25th, 2009
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Oppenheimer is an excellent diagnostician. I am confident in his abilities. When I had additional questions, he called me back within a day or two. He isn't warm and fuzzy but I found him to be appoachable and respectful. I do reccomend him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 7th, 2009
VERY NICE UNDERSTANDING AND CONCERNED
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Oppenheimer is my daughter's doctor and he is very informative about her health. It is very friendly and concerned about his patients. My daughter loves him. The office staff are the most friendly and caring people, I have ever met. We love going there.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 17th, 2009
Mean, uncaring, rude, arrogant, hurtful
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had a second visit with Dr. John Oppenheimer. I came in because I felt like I might have been getting another sinus infection, which I am prone to. I didnt wait long and the nurses and front-desk staff were very nice. Dr. Oppenheimer walked in and immediately was very rude. He started off by telling me he isnt my doctor and to follow-up with Dr. Graffino My first visit to the practice was with Dr. Graffino. Though the day after my visit the office called that they made a mistake and Graffino isnt on my insurance. So, the second visit with the practice they scheduled me with Oppenheimer. During the second visit with Oppenheimer (and third with the practice), he insisted that isnt true; that I was never switched as a patient to him and am still Graffinos patient. I know what occurred as I was sent a huge bill from Graffino. Either way, it was inappropriate and uncalled for to argue with me that he isnt my doctor. He should have simply said he will look into it and focus on treating me and being kind to his patient sitting in front of him. Then he said numerous times during the visit he has a plane to catch and a limo waiting downstairs. I was appalled how arrogant he was being. I was so hurt and shocked by his behavior toward me I started crying. Rather than consoling me, he continued being just plain mean. I walked away with no solution to my illness and felt extremely sad and angry by his unnecessary behavior toward me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Oppenheimer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Cedar Knolls, NJ.

Doctor

Dr. Donatella Graffino

36 years experience

3.6 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Colin Reisner

9 years experience

3.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. William Chernack

47 years experience

4.0 of 5