ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Kamphaus Is this you?
  • 3
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
  • 13

Quality Rating

Dissatisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
21.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Kamphaus?


18 Ratings with 9 Comments

2.0 Rating

May 4th, 2016

I'm not a doctor but I think he is a good doctor. The problem I have is I have bipolar disorder and other doctors have prescribed me lamictal and valium for my symptoms. I had to burst into tears to get him to spread rice me 10mg valium a day. He keeps wanting to press antidepressants on me when I know from experience they don't work. He thinks everyone has addictions problems and I don't. If I was an addict I could get coke, heroin ..whatever I want and I don't need a psych to act like asking for sonething is drug behavior when other doctors have prescribed it in the past. Some doctors say valium isn't a long term solution for chronic anxiety but no matter what they prescribe is a long term prescription and valium is cheap. If I was an addict I wouldn't need to pay a doctor 200 and hour for meds when I'm trying to help myself. I would just pay a friend to get me real drugs.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 6th, 2014

Robotic, monotone, avoid this hot mess.

Zero eye contact with patients, constantly banging on his laptop while you're trying to explain your needs, complete disregard for differences of opinion. Will change meds, doses so fast that you become a lifeless disaster and if you question his decisions, God help you. He drones on in complete robotic, monotone fashion when he does address you. Otherwise, you're just one more experiment for him to play with.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 12th, 2013

John Kamphaus

This psychiatrist had difficulty maintaining professional boundaries, which resulted in a great deal of pain and suffering for the patient.

Wait time
5 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 10th, 2011

This guy needs a psychiatrist...

He is a control freak. There is no office staff and no way to make an appointment unless you leave a message for him. There is never anyone else there (spooky) but you have to wait forever for the delicate genius. I came with a diagnosis and all he keep doing was renewing my prescriptions. He has no bedside manner and I felt like he never really listened to me. When I was in crisis he yelled at me over the phone and asked he what I thought he should do (?!?!) He sounds like he is half dead. It is a relief to have a new doc that listens and knows what he is talking about. Stay away!!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 21st, 2010

JOHN N. KAMPHAUS

I would not recommend this psychiatrist to anyone.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 17th, 2010

Anonymous
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

April 10th, 2010

REVIEW

I would not recommend.

Accurate Diagnosis
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 27th, 2010

NOT RECOMMENDED
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

March 16th, 2010

He has problems scheduling patients. Inattentive.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 19th, 2016

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 Rating

January 12th, 2016

5.0 Rating

November 4th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Kamphaus is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Plano, TX.

  • Dr. Baer Ackerman

    Adolescent Medicine, Psychiatry

    Plano, TX 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (5)
    38
  • Dr. Ameena Isa

    Psychiatry

    Plano, TX 0.01 mi

    13
  • Dr. Thomas Mitchell

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Plano, TX 0.81 mi

    4.1
    (12)
    36