ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Karlen Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Karlen?

Ratings and Reviews

31 Ratings with 16 Comments

  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    8
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    10
  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    8
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
20.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 31 Ratings with 16 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 26th, 2017

Miracle 36 years ago

In 1981 I was diagnosed with cancer of the cervix. They told me I may only live 6 months. Dr Karlen treated me, removed my bladder and gave me a urostomy . I am still alive 36 years later. I would like to talk to him and let him know how I am.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 4th, 2016

Cancelled Too many times !!!!

No .. He has no people skills. After canceling on me a few times and I made it in ,I said to him about it he didn't say I'm sorry or anything.its a 50 min.drive and last min. Canceling is not right. Bad bedside manner.. I called and asked to release my record's ,I'm done with this ....

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

February 6th, 2016

Has very poor people skills. Does not want to talk with you very long. Did not give me very much information about my surgery. I ended up with a complication that took longer to deal with than my initial problem. According to my next Dr., I have a lot of scar tissue from the surgery Dr. Karlen did. When I was in his office and he was writing, his hand kind of shook. He was totally accurate with my diagnosis and assured me it wasn't cancer. He was right, thankfully. But I was not happy with having very little information about my surgery or the possible complications that I ended up having.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 3rd, 2015

Had an appointment 2 weeks and one day ago. Still have not been scheduled for a biopsy. This is unacceptable!!! We are waiting to find out if this is ovarian cancer.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 23rd, 2015

Wonderful

Dr Karlen gave me hope when others didn't. He is straight and to the point. I appreciate that.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 10th, 2015

Dr Karlen is very thorough. He gave me hope when I thought there wasn't any. I would recommend to anyone.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 30th, 2014

Caring

Dr Karlen was honest and direct about my diagnosis, but he was very caring and took his time explaining all the options and gave me his personal opinion that ultimately could have very well saved my life. I heard about him from a friend who highly recommended Dr Karlen. I also referred friends of mine to him also.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

1.0 Rating

August 12th, 2014

Terrible experience

I was informed upon arriving that Dr. Karlen had to cancel my appointment. I was not given a reason why. I was extremely angry since I had to schedule a babysitter for this appointment, missed work, and drove 25 minutes for nothing. Do not waste your time with this doctor. Terrible experience.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 27th, 2013

Was late for surgery, and not around at all for recovery

Went in last Thursday for vaginal hysterectomy, Dr. Karlen was over an hour late, and there were 2 residential Dr's there with 3 medical students interviewing me about my medical history. At this point I am very scared to get this procedure done last and the last to do thing I want to do is answer questions to a student. I wasn't seen by Karlen the next day, but by residential doctors with 4 yrs experience. I was also told by a nurse that I wasn't going to get a menu and I would eat what was served

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

May 20th, 2013

Amaing doctor, but yes- not very sensitive

Dr. Karlen is an amazing doctor. He has performed two different surgeries on me, both to remove cancerous cells. Yes, he does not have great bedside manner, and he is "short" with people. However, that is his persoanlity. Personally, I rather go to a great doctor who has poor bedside manner, rather than a horrible doctor who acts like a therapist.

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 4th, 2013

Horrible Experience

I had to have an emergent radical hysterectomy for a benign tumor that was pressing on my kidney. Before the surgery, I had a CAT scan that also revealed a sludgy, stone-filled gallbladder. I asked if he would also be taking out my gallbladder and he said no-this was not my problem today. 2 weeks after my surgery I went for my follow up appointment when's the office staff removed my stoles with a staple remover that had been lying on the back of the sink. I asked for a new pair and the staff member rubbed them off with alchol while she assured me that they were "sterile". At this time I also conveyed to Dr.Karlen that I did not feel good - I was nauseated and tired all the time. He said it was because I had just experienced a major surgery. 1 week later I was in the emergency room because my rotten gallbladder was infecting my liver. I had to have another major surgery within 24 hours when this could have been taken care of. Dr. karlen does not listen, his office staff are unprofessional, and I definitely would not recommend him to operate on anyone .

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 29th, 2013

His beside manner is atrocious....he is very rude.

After trying to conceive for 15 years, I finally became pregnant. My labor and delivery was awful. The OB left products of conception inside of me and almost caused me to die. I returned to the hospital with abscess which were life threatening and had 3 major abdominal surgeries within 45 days of giving birth. Dr. Karlen had to remove some of these abscess and he ended up doing a full hysterectomy. His bed side manner was awful, appalling. My family was shocked with the way he treated me. I had spent several months in the hospital due to what I suffered. When he did my hysterectomy, he judged me for being anxious? How could someone not be anxious, after spending over 2 months in the hospital with life threatening abscess and being told she may not make it? I believe the anxiety was warranted given the circumstance. My entire family had anxiety over it. After the surgery, he told me that my surgery was one of the most difficult in his 37 years of being a surgeon. When I went to see him, to have him remove the staples, he had no compassion, no patience and did it in less than 5minutes. It was painful and very rough treatment. After a hysterectomy, you are to be seen twice. Once to remove staples, the second time is to look at vaginal cuff to make sure you are healing. He never scheduled me a second appointment and told me I didn't need one? My gyno was in shock, he said that was very wrong and he should have seen me. I had to beg Dr. Karlen for a Cat scan, where he argued with me about it. I told him something was seriously wrong, because I had so much pain. I ended up having a hematoma and seroma above my vaginal cuff! He never saw me again after taking my staples out. It's a shame he has such terrible bed side manner and he is extremely rude. The only thing I can say positive is that he saved my life with this surgery!

Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Karlen is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Akron, OH.

  • Dr. Ernest Estep

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Akron, OH 1.42 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    46
  • Dr. Thomas Deveny

    Dr. Thomas Deveny

    Gynecology, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Akron, OH 1.42 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    31
  • Dr. Costas Apostolis

    Dr. Costas Apostolis

    Obstetrics and Gynecology, General Surgery

    Akron, OH 1.82 mi

    3.5
    (29)
    12