The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Lavery Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Lavery?

Ratings and Reviews

54 Ratings with 17 Comments

  • Excellent
    33
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    8
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    7
  • Excellent
    33
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    8
  • Poor
    4
  • Bad
    7

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
13.9 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 54 Ratings with 17 Comments

1.0 Rating

June 24th, 2017

incompetent staff

Their staff accidentally prescribed 2 narcotics at two diff pharmacies, i did not know this. I went and picked one up then the second pharmacy called me saying Lavery had another med for me so i went and picked it up. Turned out to be 2 narcotics and he blamed me and banned me from his practice at no fault of my own.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

December 15th, 2016

Best Rheumatologist!

I always feel better after my visit with Dr. Lavery. He is very compassionate and always answers my questions and gets me to feeling better.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 24th, 2016

patient

Love the staff and Dr. very helpful and always so friendly.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 18th, 2016

Incredible doctor.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 23rd, 2016

Awesome doctor

He is a very good doctor. I drive several miles to get to his office.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 24th, 2013

Dr. Lavery is wonderful and has helped me with all of my needs. His staff is very helpful and I appreciate ALL of them

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

August 20th, 2012

He has so many patients, heards them in/out. I feel dismissed. Office staff has changed - much better. His assistants are so rushed, they forget requests. Call back often. Time to, yet again, find a new rheumy.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

April 11th, 2012

I absolutely LOVE Dr. Lavery. He is amazing as a Dr. I can't say much for his office staff. I have never dealt with someone as rude and inconsiderate to my needs as Mary his front desk receptionist. I hate walking in to his office or calling for fear that I have to deal with her before I can get someone who actually knows what's going on, on the phone. She thinks she can make nursing and medical decisions, when in fact she has no clue. Stephanie one of the Medical Assistants does a great job in filling prescriptions and following up with the patients. Dr. Lavery as a Dr. is great. His office manager the new gentleman in the office is not very pleasant either.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 9th, 2012

Awful, Awful Receptionist EVER!!!

I have been seeing Dr. Lavery for about 4-5 yrs. He's really caring, but I think he suffers from ADHD. Always seems to be up on the latest info, meds for your condition. Now for the worst part! When I started there, I truly LOVED all the office staff. In fact we wanted to move from the area but decided its sooo hard to find dr office that has it all. So we stayed. One by one, the turn-over has been unbelievable! If it weren't for Stephanie and Vanessa I'd be outa there. Mary Is unbelievably Awful, Bizarre, And Oh So Exasperating! And the office manager is just as BAD. He actually called & chewed me out because my husband stopped by to pick-up a Rx instead of me. He was actually yelling at me on the phone. So, I'm not sure I would ever recommend this office to anyone. If it weren't for the doc and the closeness to my home, I would find a new doc. After writing this review, I'm mad all over again. Maybe I will start looking.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 26th, 2011

Very polite & caring

I have been a patient of Dr. Lavery's since 2001. He is very thorough and if he has any doubt he will recommend a doctor in a different field. My husband goes with me 9 out of 10 times & Dr. Lavery is very cordial with him also. Every once in a while his professional shell cracks and a joke comes out. He is a human being and a very professional dr. I would recomment him to my family anyday. He has been very good at filling out any disablity forms that are requested. I would be lost without him in the area.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

July 6th, 2011

Good Dr.

I think Dr. Lavery does a pretty good job at managing my lupus. He does listen to my wishes and helps in every way he knows how.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 30th, 2011

Dr. John P. Lavery, McKinney TX

What I like about Dr. Lavery is he actually cares about the welfare of his patients. His nursing staff Stepanie and Vanessa go above and beyond in calling back after talking to Dr. Lavery and following up with questions. They always call in presciptions as needed right away. Suffering from Sjorgens and fibromyalgia Dr. Lavery is always willing to explore diffent options. And always willing to make changes in medications when necessary. He is always willing to reach out to other physicians outside his specialty. He always makes sure his patients are seen in an expediant manner. He was able to correct my autoammune diseases that were misdiagnosed by another rheumatoligist.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Lavery is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Allen, TX.

  • Dr. Robert Barnett

    Internal Medicine

    Allen, TX

    4.4
    (18)
    30
  • Dr. Vijay Ramanath

    Dr. Vijay Ramanath

    Cardiovascular Disease, Interventional Cardiology, Internal Medicine

    Allen, TX 0.05 mi

    4.9
    (14)
    13
  • Dr. Victoria Mcgrath

    Internal Medicine

    Allen, TX 0.05 mi

    4.5
    (23)
    13