Surgical Specialist, Plastic Surgery Specialist
34 years of experience

Accepting new patients
Orthopedic And Sports Associates Of Long Island
205 Froehlich Farm Blvd
Woodbury, Woodbury, NY 11797
631-364-0070
Locations and availability (2)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.0
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

18

Total Reviews

9

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.7647058823529 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 1.625 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.4375 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.3125 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.3125 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.3125 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.125 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 49 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  horrible doctor  |  show details
Feb 2nd, 2014

This doctor abuses his power as an MD. He does not listen to his patients and creates his own opinions without reviewing tests, other MD opinions nor the patient's complaints. DO NOT GO TO THIS DOCTOR FOR ANYTHING. He talks over you with redundancy, does not listen to your responses and is only concerned with his own paycheck. You wait over 2hours in a room full of complaining individuals who speak of their w/c claims and how their attorney's copy was mailed to them, yet the paperwork states the attorney's address. A stall tactic on his part so his IME cannot be appealed promptly. The system of Medical practice has gone horribly wrong; and it is significantly revealed in his office. If this man was faced with horrible illness or injury, I hope Karma, comes back to greet him!!!!!!

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Exam?  |  show details
by G on Jan 16th, 2014

I have never had such a horrible experience with a so called "Doctor" as I did today with John Leppard. I waited in a cramped room for an hour and 45 minutes. He did not examine me and not only was he rude but he was extremely rough in handling me physically, I was forced to go to this person because it is a workman's comp case. New York State Insurance Fund should be ashamed of themselves for paying incompetent and obnoxious doctors' if he is even licensed! I can not even leave stars because of useless and offensive behavior of the doctor and the woman at the front desk. The young man at the front desk was the only decent person there.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by JM on Jan 25th, 2013

Dr Leppard will take the time to explain condition and options

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Received More Courteous Treatment and Warmth From the Car Dealer  |  show details
Aug 12th, 2012

I waited over 2 hours to see the doctor in a very crowded waiting room with badly stained couches. The doctor ordered a series of tests and wrote out a number of prescriptions with minimal explanation of what, where or why. When asked to explain the doctor said, "The girls in the front will help you out". A follow-up phone call for clarification resulted in the information that the doctor doesnt accept phone calls from patients and the question, Would you like to make an appointment? Following poor to non-existent communication, a gruff and nasty manner and very poor treatment I will be looking for a new physician.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  One of my most-trusted physicians  |  show details
Mar 17th, 2012

Different people have different impressions of process. Dr. Leppard's specialization of the hand can make that complex structure difficult to explain in detail to a patient. Understanding comes from both sides. My experienced - 4 hand surgeries, to date - have all had near-100% outcomes. From the Dr's. point of view you mave only two options, and that may be clearer to him than to you. Personally, I think he's brilliant.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  ITS A SHAME...  |  show details
Jan 17th, 2012

IT IS A SHAME THAT THE DOCTORS ARE WONDERFUL AND YOU HAVE TO GO THROUGH VERY UNPLEASANT CONVERSATIONS WIHT THE FRONT DESK. AS A HEALTHCARE PROFFESIONAL MYSELF, I KNOW WHAT GOES ON BEHIND CLOSED DOORS. ITS SUPPOSED TO BE ABOUT PATIENT CARE, ISNT IT? DR. LEPPARD IS EXCELLANT, HAD HE BEEN NOTHING BUT I WOULD HAVE WENT TO A DIFFERENT PRACTICE. I UNDERSTSAND THE GIRLS ARE BUSY, AS WE ALL ARE, BUT THERE SHOULD AT LEAST BE A LITTLE COMPASSION, NO? EYE CONTACT GOES ALONG WAY. ESPECIALLY WHEN ASKING FOR A COPAYMENT. I MEAN, CAN YOU LOOK UP FOR A SPLIT SECOND TO AT LEAST MAKE EYE CONTACT WITH THE PATIENT? IS THAT REALLY ASKING TOO MUCH?? OTHERWISE, JOHN DOWNEY AND DR. LEPPARD AND DR. CORSO ARE FANTASTIC TO WORK WITH WHEN YOU ARE HAVING A PROBLEM.......

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
 |  Assembly line treatment of patients  |  show details
Dec 9th, 2010

The office itself runs a kind of assembly line operation. Patients are fed into one of the treatment rooms, doctors cycle through treatment rooms giving patients brief attention. I saw the doctor three times, each time 1-5 minutes in duration. Came in, asked me about my condition (which I'd already described in a long q'aire he apparently hadn't looked at, then filled out another one with a med tech entering data into a computer system), ordered and x-ray, left. Came back again, couldn't pull up the x-ray records on the computer, called a med tech, left. Came back again, this time spent maybe five minutes diagnosing and prescribing. Real factory operation-- patient in, patient out, bill; patient in, patient out, bill.

  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Apr 25th, 2010

Doctor was rude and condescending. Spent more time lecturing than diagnosing. Didn't give a thorough examination

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
May 15th, 2009

Dr. Leppard has not bedside manner. You are kept to at least 1 hour in the waiting room and then additional time in the examination room! All this time waiting for the doctor to show up and then he spends 5 minutes with you!! Awful practice!!!