John J Leppard, MD
Board-Certified Orthopedic Surgeon
34 years of experience

Accepting new patients
Woodbury
Orthopedic And Sports Associates Of Long Island
205 Froehlich Farm Blvd
Woodbury, NY 11797
516-364-0070
Locations and availability (2)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
2.0
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

21

Total Reviews

7

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 2.8333333333333 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 1.7647058823529 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 2.5294117647059 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 2.4117647058824 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 2.4117647058824 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 2.4117647058824 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 2.2352941176471 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 49 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by Mrs. K, Abbatiello on Sep 17th, 2014

I would recommend Dr. Leppard for his skilled work and excellent care. I felt very comfortable and trusted him with the skin graft that had to be done on my hand. Now that everything is healed I can't even see the many stiches that I had,

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by JM on Jan 25th, 2013

Dr Leppard will take the time to explain condition and options

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  Received More Courteous Treatment and Warmth From the Car Dealer  |  show details
Aug 12th, 2012

I waited over 2 hours to see the doctor in a very crowded waiting room with badly stained couches. The doctor ordered a series of tests and wrote out a number of prescriptions with minimal explanation of what, where or why. When asked to explain the doctor said, "The girls in the front will help you out". A follow-up phone call for clarification resulted in the information that the doctor doesnt accept phone calls from patients and the question, Would you like to make an appointment? Following poor to non-existent communication, a gruff and nasty manner and very poor treatment I will be looking for a new physician.

Mark as Helpful  | 2 people found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  One of my most-trusted physicians  |  show details
Mar 17th, 2012

Different people have different impressions of process. Dr. Leppard's specialization of the hand can make that complex structure difficult to explain in detail to a patient. Understanding comes from both sides. My experienced - 4 hand surgeries, to date - have all had near-100% outcomes. From the Dr's. point of view you mave only two options, and that may be clearer to him than to you. Personally, I think he's brilliant.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  ITS A SHAME...  |  show details
Jan 17th, 2012

IT IS A SHAME THAT THE DOCTORS ARE WONDERFUL AND YOU HAVE TO GO THROUGH VERY UNPLEASANT CONVERSATIONS WIHT THE FRONT DESK. AS A HEALTHCARE PROFFESIONAL MYSELF, I KNOW WHAT GOES ON BEHIND CLOSED DOORS. ITS SUPPOSED TO BE ABOUT PATIENT CARE, ISNT IT? DR. LEPPARD IS EXCELLANT, HAD HE BEEN NOTHING BUT I WOULD HAVE WENT TO A DIFFERENT PRACTICE. I UNDERSTSAND THE GIRLS ARE BUSY, AS WE ALL ARE, BUT THERE SHOULD AT LEAST BE A LITTLE COMPASSION, NO? EYE CONTACT GOES ALONG WAY. ESPECIALLY WHEN ASKING FOR A COPAYMENT. I MEAN, CAN YOU LOOK UP FOR A SPLIT SECOND TO AT LEAST MAKE EYE CONTACT WITH THE PATIENT? IS THAT REALLY ASKING TOO MUCH?? OTHERWISE, JOHN DOWNEY AND DR. LEPPARD AND DR. CORSO ARE FANTASTIC TO WORK WITH WHEN YOU ARE HAVING A PROBLEM.......

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 2 of 4 stars
 |  Assembly line treatment of patients  |  show details
Dec 9th, 2010

The office itself runs a kind of assembly line operation. Patients are fed into one of the treatment rooms, doctors cycle through treatment rooms giving patients brief attention. I saw the doctor three times, each time 1-5 minutes in duration. Came in, asked me about my condition (which I'd already described in a long q'aire he apparently hadn't looked at, then filled out another one with a med tech entering data into a computer system), ordered and x-ray, left. Came back again, couldn't pull up the x-ray records on the computer, called a med tech, left. Came back again, this time spent maybe five minutes diagnosing and prescribing. Real factory operation-- patient in, patient out, bill; patient in, patient out, bill.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Apr 25th, 2010

Doctor was rude and condescending. Spent more time lecturing than diagnosing. Didn't give a thorough examination

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 1 of 4 stars
 |  show details
May 15th, 2009

Dr. Leppard has not bedside manner. You are kept to at least 1 hour in the waiting room and then additional time in the examination room! All this time waiting for the doctor to show up and then he spends 5 minutes with you!! Awful practice!!!

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse