ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Lurain Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Lurain?

Ratings and Reviews

31 Ratings with 9 Comments

  • Excellent
    23
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    23
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
29.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 31 Ratings with 9 Comments

1.0 Rating

October 21st, 2016

AVOID THIS DOCTOR. I was referred to Dr. Lurain for a colposcopy due to an abnormal pap smear for dysplasia and a positive HPV test. Dr. Lurain must have been trained in the 1950's, because his view of medicine and women is most distressing. Dr. Lurain REFUSED to perform the colposcopy because I did not consent to a Resident (doctor in training) observing his procedure. I walked out of Northwestern Memorial Hospital because I saw his actions as completely UNETHICAL. It is completely optional and at the patient's sole discretion whether they want a Resident present. Other physicians I saw told me this was not only unethical but potentially illegal and against all medical practice. The delay in diagnosis threatened the timeliness of the LEEP procedure for severe dysplasia at its end stage (before a cancer diagnosis). His actions threatened my health and a successful outcome of my LEEP. The margins of procedure were in fact positive and it was miraculous that my pap smears reverted to normal. This man should not be seeing patients. He is a better academic physician.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 9th, 2016

Worst Doctor I've ever seen

Dr. John Lurain is hands down without a doubt the worst Doctor I've ever been to in my entire life. My primary Doctor referred me and I was very stressed about the appointment. The Doctor came in with 5 people all there to watch the exam and when I said I was uncomfortable with that he said I could deal with it or not see him. Needless to say I left and have reported him to my insurance, the hospital and lawyer. It's illegal to tell patients they have to be seen with 5 med students and not even warn them before hand. He is rude and it's very clear from the second you walk in that he doesn't care about you or your health. It's a business and he's in it for that reason only. If you are having problems I strongly encourage you to see someone else because this will only make things worse emotionally and physically. I have stopped seeing Dr. Shari Snow who referred me to Dr. Lurain as well because together they are very poor doctors.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 18th, 2012

Exceptional physician...

I have been a patient of Dr. Lurian for eight years now and truly count him as one of the great blessings of my life. I trust him like I have never trusted another Dr. before. From the first consultation my husband and I had with him, any expectations we had were exceeded. Not only is he a top-notch oncologist, he is a beautiful soul.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 18th, 2012

Dr. Lurain is a no-nonsense professional, with a sense of humor and more than a little compassion. He spent time with me, answered ALL my questions (and I had a page full of them!), and made sure I understood what was going on and what his recommendations were. On the day of surgery, he visited with me, answered my remaining questions, and left me with a sense of well-being. After surgery, he saw me in the hospital several times, each time making sure to answer questions.He returns calls promptly, and his office is run professionally. I trusted this man with my life, and I'm glad I did.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 5th, 2011

Find someone else if you want to be treated like a human

Find someone else if you want to be treated like a human. I've waited up to four hours to see this doctor. When I've asked about what procedures he'd be performing on me he was extremely rude and condescending. There I am half naked with my legs in stirrups with a very serious subject matter at hand (checking for possible cancer) and this doctor doesnt think it's important and/or my business to tell me what's going to happen to MY body. I would not recommend him to anyone who wants to be treated with dignity.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

April 5th, 2011

Dr. Lurain was brought into my life when I was 23 and not a clue in the world at the time what really made such a difference in bedside manner or the outcome of a serious illness and what a difference the Doctor would make. I from the moment of meeting Dr. Lurain knew he was the one the Doctor I needed and wanted to make me feel safe and know I was in great hands. He comes across as not just a Doctor but a friend, someone who really cares and makes you feel the warmth of a Doctor and friend all in one. I could never thank him enough.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 30th, 2011

Not very concerned about the patient

I was referred by my OB-GYN for an oncology opinion after beating cancer once. He was not particularly interested in answering questions or explaining his prognosis. Very old world "doctor knows best" nonsense. Try someone else if you can.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 18th, 2011

He saved my life

I am still alive after 20yrs of treatment by Dr. Lurain. Mine was a rare myeolyosarcoma that few women contracted or survived. I will always be grateful for his calm reassuring manner which obvious comes from his wisdom and experience. He is an one of a kind!

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

June 16th, 2010

bad doc- bad bedside - has fellows do his work- nothing but bad

thanks to this doc i will not trust another medical profesional.for me didn't explain anything. untill day of surgery. then as it turned out i was USED for his fellows. and they did a truely bad job.LOTS OF EXTRA DAMAGE.i went and payed for the best and got fellows. thanks to this doc i refuse any farther cacer treatment or testing . i could wright several pages on my experience with this terrible quality of care.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 6th, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 6th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 10th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Lurain is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Chicago, IL.

  • Dr. Joseph Purpura

    Dr. Joseph Purpura

    Gynecology, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Chicago, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    41
  • Dr. Emily Donelan

    Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Chicago, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
  • Dr. Latasha Nelson

    Maternal and Fetal Medicine, Obstetrics and Gynecology

    Chicago, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    12