ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Shaw Is this you?

Vitals cannot verify whether or not this professional is currently practicing. We recommend that you attempt to contact the provider to verify their status. Please email us at support@vitals.com if you have any additional information.

  • 10
  • 0
  • 1
  • 0
  • 2

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

13 Ratings with 9 Comments

5.0 Rating

June 4th, 2013

Doesn't Get Any Better

Over 30 years ago I was diagnosed with a Stage 3B Hodgkin's lymphoma and was referred by some highly competent Northwestern doctors to John Shaw. There was a 40% chance I would not be around 5 years later. John is great doctor, scientist and diagnostician and after following his guidance and prescribed treatment, here I am 30+ years later without ever having a reoccurence of the disease. In the 30 years since my treatment, John has become a good friend and a miracle worker for some of my other friends. He gave 7 good years to a lung cancer patient that wasn't expected to survive 6 months. He had major surgery stopped on a 21 year old girl I had referred to him for a second opinion. After reviewing the records of her other "specialist" , he felt firmly that there was nothing wrong with this young women and he was correct. John may have a dry sense of humor, but I know of few more compassionate people and have even seen him cry (although he will never admit it). John is simply a good man and a great doctor and I hope he continues his practice helping people for years to come. Now 65+, I've lived long enough where I am currently having to face some possible prostate cancer issues. I'm just glad to have John in my corner which makes dealing with all this a lot easier.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 24th, 2012

After 24 years

After 24 years of waiting for the "iffy" return of ocular melanoma to my liver, it has happened. In those years oncologists in "the know" concerning this rare melanoma have studied it, learned what to do WHEN (no if nowdays)it returns and Dr Shaw's expertise has gained me a new lease on life.

Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 27th, 2012

e wait. He is the best. I'd drive miles to see him.
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

June 11th, 2011

Dr Shaw is extremely compassionate as are his staff. The office has its lab on site so test results are available for the appointment. Dr Shaw spends ample time in the exam and available for follow up, occassionally even via email. I highly recommend this doc. I have never experienced him as Gruff as said in another review. I think he really is amazing. He is so warm and open and this allows me to express all my concerns.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 17th, 2011

pataient

Dr. Shaw is an excellent doctor.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 21st, 2011

Don't let his sometimes-gruff demeanor fool you... he is THE BEST.

I have seen Dr. Shaw for nearly a year now following my diagnosis of Non-Hodgkins Lymphoma. His care and concern, and his expertise are just exceptional. Oh, he can sometimes seem a bit gruff, but he is a real teddy bear underneath. His staff worships him, and more than one of them have described him to me as "brilliant." Oncology is a difficult profession, I think. I am extremely pleased I chose Dr. Shaw to guide me on what seems to be a very successful journey.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

December 14th, 2010

Dr, Shaw does spend time with his patients. Because of this it does back up the wait time, but he does give each patient individual time.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 18th, 2010

HE IS EXCELLENT!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 26th, 2010

Dr. Shaw Oncology

I have been seeing Dr.John Shaw for 10 years, as I have had breast cancer.He is a great Dr., takes the time to listen and reply with whatever concern you have. I would strong recommend him..He is an excelent, kind, caring oncologist.

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 16th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 4th, 2015

5.0 Rating

May 13th, 2010

Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Shaw is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Chicago, IL.

  • Dr. Stavonnie Patterson

    Dermatology, Internal Medicine

    Chicago, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    12
  • Dr. Brady Stein

    Internal Medicine, Hematology

    Chicago, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    14
  • Dr. Frank Palella

    Dr. Frank Palella

    Infectious Disease, Internal Medicine

    Chicago, IL 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    30