The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Nelligan Is this you?
  • 13
  • 0
  • 3
  • 0
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
16.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Nelligan?


19 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

August 23rd, 2016

Mr

Great Dr. Explains everything.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 22nd, 2016

Worst surgeon

I had both my knees replaced by Dr. Nelligan at Sequoia Hospital. What a mistake. He broke my tibia when he was putting in the pieces. He told my daughter I was a drug addict and I don't need an X-ray. After 3 months of complaining the pain was excruciating my daughter took me to another doctor. Upon looking back at the first post-op X-ray the radiologist read it as possible medial tibia fracture. (Nelligan told my daughter that radiologists don't know what they are talking about) my daughter is a radiologic technologist. I had to have a revision and a year later the hardware in my other knee fell apart. Was not put in properly. He left the area and went to Washington. He is back now in Sonora! Beware. He will tell you what a great surgeon he is, but I can tell you after all this he is the Devil! Horrible surgeon.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 3rd, 2015

Thanks Dr. Nelligan

Dr. Nelligan reminds me of doctors before our current system took over. He spends time with you and cares about you and your outcome. He replaced my knee, and will be replacing my other one. Going to him was a great decision. I highly recommend him.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 22nd, 2013

Don't go

He is a horrible doctor, ruined me for life and cost me my career. I thought he had left the area and that no one else would be subjected to his torture. Pick another surgeon, please.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 30th, 2013

All Docs should be this good!

I made an appointment with this Doctor because I had heard he was a good orthopedic doc. Well, he is! he checked my knee, took x-rays, then explained them thoroughly to me. Then he suggested I have surgery if I wanted to be better off in the future, but gave me a choice to try to rehab the knee at home the best way possible. I elected for surgery. Revovery has been great so far and he saw me on a followup 4 days after surgery and said to call immediatley if I had any problems. What a pleasan experrience. I would recommend him to anyone in a heartbeat!!!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 20th, 2010

Excellent surgeon, compassionate human being. He gave me back my life.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 28th, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 16th, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 15th, 2017

5.0 Rating

January 2nd, 2017

3.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2016

5.0 Rating

December 3rd, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Nelligan is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Sonora, CA.

  • Dr. Ariana Demers

    Sports Medicine, Orthopedic Surgery

    Sonora, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (16)
    14
  • Dr. Airell Nygaard

    Dr. Airell Nygaard

    Orthopedic Surgery, Sports Medicine

    Sonora, CA 0 mi

    4.5
    (27)
    44
  • Dr. James Boyd III

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Sonora, CA 0 mi

    4.2
    (5)
    15