Dr. John Paulsen MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Peoria, IL

Overall Rating

2.1
  • 12 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-1.1)

12 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    25%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    8%
  • Bad
    67%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 29 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 15th, 2017
Worst
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My dad had to go in for surgery. It was a life changing surgery. He was the doctor doing the rounds that week and came in to talk with us. Well he talked for 5 seconds and tried to leave. He tried to walk out and I said "umm" and he turned back around and say "yeah" and pointed to my mom. He looked at her and he says "what is it?" She asked her question as he listened with disgust and totally didn't answer the question my mom asked. This guy is completely rude. If you can't handle talking with patients, especially before a life changing surgery, and answer questions and comfort them a bit, then get out of the profession. I'm mean come on. My dad had lost a leg. Have a little more compassion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
June 2nd, 2016
Skilled, but rude and pompous
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Paulsen is a skilled surgeon, but is rude, arrogant and verbally abusive. He had little interest in what I had to say, interrupting or ignoring me. Even got me through a tough situation, but left my spirit broken.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 17th, 2016
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
awesome Dr and staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 10th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Arrogant, rude, old school deity mentality. He should retire. General surgeons are a special breed. He is the poster child. I would avoid him and would never recommend him. His comments are non-professional. He offers no help for anyone suffering post surgery. Expect nothing from this man. He is an old surgeon who has had his day in the sun and now it is time to pass the baton.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 2nd, 2013
If you expect to spend time with this doctor forget it.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had to wait for over an hour to see him and then he was in the room 3 min. 2 min. 30 seconds of which he was fiddling with the computer he didn't know how to use. Evidently I was making him late for lunch. The second time I saw him he came in did the procedure took a phone call in the middle of it telling whoever was on the other line that he wouldn't be much longer and zoomed through the rest of it as to not miss his date. I will never go back to him and I'm having my stitches taken out by my gp.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 17th, 2013
same doc
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Same doc I went to I agree w the first review go to another surgeon
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 16th, 2012
This guy.....
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I think of the word "Doctor" , the image that comes to mind is a hard working, smart, open and personable person. This surgeon is completely the opposite. He is arrogant, snobby, and of what I can tell believes he is above everyone else. Do not give this guy business. Go to another surgeon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 12th, 2017

1.0 of 5
June 16th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 30th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 7th, 2012
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 11th, 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Paulsen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Peoria, IL.