Dr. John Pfeiffer MD Patient Reviews

  • Family Medicine Myrtle Beach, SC

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 18 patient ratings
  • 10 comments

10 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    11%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    22%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 36.2 minutes

Showing 1 - 10 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 18th, 2015
Pill Pusher
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Pfeiffer hooked me on xanax after my mother died and I had trouble sleeping. He assured me that xanax was going to be helpful and told me that he gave it to his aunt when his uncle died. When a month had gone by and I told Dr. Pfeiffer that I kept needing more and more xanax to sleep and that I was worried about the fact that I now needed 4 xanax to get to sleep, Dr. Pfeiffer told me not to worry -- that some of his patients take 40 xanax a day! When I told Dr. Pfeiffer that I was going to stop taking the xanax, he did not tell me about the need to give it up slowly. So I stopped cold turkey and I'm still in recovery from the emotional imprintment of what the xanax detox did to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 29th, 2012
Staff is awful
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The overall he betrays the image that he does not care. Docter pheifer is probally the most Vulgar physician that I have met. He is slow on getting lab information back, or following up with the patient to see if the labs were done. Docter Pheifer nor his staff respond to emailConcerning labs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 14th, 2012
Thank God for Dr. Pfeiffer!
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My two daughters and I have been patients of Dr. Pfeiffer's for several years.On our first visit, I knew he was the right general practioner for us because he actually knew more about my youngest daughters' two rare conditions than the specialists did!! After many years, I had finally found someone that listened to me. We've gone on to be accurately diagnosed ever since. His intelligence, experience, and empathy make him an excellent doctor and a pleasure to know.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 3rd, 2012
Is a thorough & caring physician, very knowledgeable on complex illnesses.
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Pfieffer takes the time to listen to your concerns that you may have. Covering all aspects of treatments in a way that the patient will understand. Caring enough to see you again in 2 weeks. The staff was very friendly and helpful with issues with the insurance companies. The wait time is very understanding because the doctor actually spends the time with you as well as other patients.I would recommend Dr. pfieffer to others in need in the future.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 5th, 2011
Great Doctor
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you are looking for someone who will focus on outcome based medicine this is the guy for you. Dr. Pfeiffer takes his time to speak with you and is not afraid to question the status-quo or conventional wisdom of the medical community. Dr. Pfeiffer wants people to get the most out of their lives by building a relationship that allows him to treat you as an individual with unique concerns. There is no "shrug and bill" mentality that I have experienced here in Central Florida. I have been with Dr. Pfeiffer for nearly a decade and don't plan on going anywhere anytime soon.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 3rd, 2011
Professional & Personal
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Pfeiffer has been our general practitioner doctor for 10+ years. When we have run into unexpected illness, he and his staff find a way to fit us in, which is something most doctors won't do, so as previously rated sometimes there is a long wait because a patient needs more of his time, as sometimes we have needed that extra time. He spends time you need to answer questions and present options for treatment for more complicated diagnoses. We feel very fortunate to have him as our family doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 2nd, 2010
BEST DR. EVER!!
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is such an amazing Dr. I left to the UK for 6 months and he still made sure I had enough medication and refills. Never met a Dr. with such a sweet, laid back but still amazingly professional attitude. Spends time with you and is never pushing you out the door like other Dr's. do. I will never leave his practice! I don't know what I will do when he retires?? :-)
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 8th, 2010
Nightmare Staff!!!
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office staff is utterly incompetent. They are rude, do not answer any emails at all sent my patients and never return your phone calls! They will overcharge you and your provider for every visit. They sent me to get blood work to an address where the office was completely shut down. When I told them that they sent me to an address that is no longer in service, they just said "oh" without any apology at all for wasting my time. Theresa and Teri are useless. They submitted claims to a past provider I had from a previous place of employment that was in my file even after I gave them my new insurance card. Then they asked me to resend my new information to them three different times! It's been a nightmare trying to fix the mess they created, going on two months now! If you want a nightmare experience just use this Doctor's office. They also double charge you by coding your bill with different numbers for the same service!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Doctor's Response

Thanks, I have a new staff now for these reasons, although I'm not quite sure how I'm responsible for whether or not your insurance company's preferred lab keeps open their sites or not. We are a small operation that has a lot of problems keeping up with profound changes in the requirements of multiple insurance providers, including coding, and we are admittedly far from expert (although hopefully improving considerably) in billing. I would suggest that the problems you experienced are increasingly common among individual primary care practitioners, which is one reason why, when I opened my practice in 2000, there was a shortage of over 400 family physicians in the area and by now the situation is likely considerably worse due to population growth and physician attrition, i.e., few new primary care physicians care to practice here because of the difficulties getting started. BTW, it took me anywhere from 4-9 months to get "credentialed" by many insurers because of their arcane rules, even though I had been a provider for many of them in Akron for 16 years, so I don't think all of your complaints are actually OUR responsibility - e.g., insurance companies have taken to simply rejecting without notification claims that are not "clean", leaving us without any way even to know your visit isn't going to be paid for by them without hiring even more staff to go to their website and investigate the progress of the claim ourselves, even if we've totally and fairly provided the service. I'll tell you straight away - I hate coding, I don't understand it, we likely don't do it right to OUR detriment, and, despite your suggestions, I've never even earned the average STARTING pay for a family physician because I don't focus on reimbursement. Sorry if that doesn't work for you, the ERs and UCCs who make that their primary concern (and have different codes that pay them multiple times what I'm allowed to charge) are far more efficient at this and we'll never be as ruthlessly efficient as they are. We are practicing in a system that simply doesn't reimburse the way I practice - in short, the road to success these days, unlike when I started in 1981, is to spend as little time as possible with patients, bring them back as often as you can, refuse to take care of more than one problem on each visit, and even replace your own presence with a PA or NP if you can. I see every single patient, take care of multiple problems at each visit, frequently get bogged down by "oh, by the way, while I'm here I have a list of problems......." patients, spend far more time with each patient than I will ever be paid by the current coding system, and am still struggling to survive in an environment that is increasingly economically hostile to individual physicians who don't have a highly paid procedure to subsidize their practices. Ever wonder why so many primary care physicians are adding "ancillary" services such as selling bogus "wellness" medications and shooting Botox? The answer is that they can't survive without it. Gosh, I wish I had a deep pocket like a hospital or large group behind me like others, but I'm one of the few remaining FPs who's trying to do this on his own nickel.....


5.0 of 5
June 17th, 2010
Great DR
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been with him since he opened his practice. I now live in ft myers and make the trip up just to see him
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 29th, 2010
Most knowledgeable and caring
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
There is sometimes a long wait. Why? Because Dr. Pfeiffer stays with me as long as it takes for him to understand all my problems and for me to understand all my options. I have been sat with him for 30, 40 minutes at times, so of course he was behind for others. That's why I have no concern if I have to wait for him. I know he's helping someone else without rushing them out to get to the next patient. when my wife had a cut that wouldn't stop bleeding we called his cell. Rather than send us to an emergency room, he took his bike and met us at his office on a Sunday to take care of it.He's caring AND knowledgeable.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Pfeiffer, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Myrtle Beach, SC.

Doctor

Dr. Ewa Marcinkowska

28 years experience

4.2 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Abdias De La Rosa Serrano

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Louis Antosek

3.8 of 5