Dr. John Pier MD Patient Reviews

  • Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation Scarborough, ME

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 46 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (-0.2)

46 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    65%
  • Great
    2%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    4%
  • Bad
    22%
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 24.3 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Friendly Staff
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 27th, 2017
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Outstanding doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 31st, 2016
Does not care
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Saw pier yesterday because I am dealing will constant low back pain with radiating pain down both legs. Have seen him three other times for the same reason. He gave me two epidural steroid injection which did not help me. My injury was caused by a fall at work, because it's a worker comp injury he treats you like you're a liar when clearly I'm in pain , asking why do you think you're in pain ? Clearly you're the doctor that's why I'm here to see you. He told me he doesn't believe in no work capacity , when I can barely get around due to the constant low back pain and leg pain. I would recommend to explore other options than him as I am looking for another doctor. I've suffered with this pain long enough
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 17th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have PTSD and agoraphobia. He was very well-mannered and supportive as I was having a panic attack and cried through most of our visit. He helped me feel safe, welcomed and treated me with a deep amount of respect. He took the time to make sure I understand my injury and answered all my questions with professional respect.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 8th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He has been treating me for many years and I make sure I have him even if I have to wait for my appointment! He is highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 30th, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Do not waist your time with this man; as another has said in one of the reviews here, Dr. Pier is only working for workman's comp. He does not care about your pain and will turn pretty nasty when you stand up for yourself.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 25th, 2014
Great doctot
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Started my relations with doctor Pier fourteen years ago and I have had a great experience with him he is understanding caring willing to take what ever time I needed always looking for ways to help me besides just writing scripts for pain I thought I was leaving state now I am not due to medical reasons and before I left his office he told me if I had problems just get in contact with him the reason I am writing this is because I want others to know what a great and caring man and doctor he is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 6th, 2014
worst doctor
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had an appointment, so he could help me recommend a rehabilitation program, He said the surgeons recommendation for physical therapy was dumb. Where I live it would be a waste of time to drive 40 minutes to get treatment. He Claimed I didn't like him. He disagrees with all the treatments the other doctor"s recommends. He accused me of just wanting pain pills; and that I'm not doing my treatment like I should. Just because I'm on worker comp he doesn't care about my issues.

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2013
update to previous review
Dr. Pier apologized for mixup between GP and he providing medication. He acknowledged his error and I greatly appreciate it. Not many doctors would do this; he has shown a great deal of integrity. I really appreciate this character in a doctor - it is very difficult to find. Thank you Dr. Pier
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
October 3rd, 2013
Office visit for ESI
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Pier was very honest with me as to why he felt my pain levels at this appointment were not constant enough to warrant an ESI and should not be done unless and until the pain is more constant. I felt relieved that if the ESI would not be of any value without a more constant pain level that Dr. Pier did not just go ahead with it. I felt confident with his evaluation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 23rd, 2013
After several appts, MRI etc., Dr Pier recommended we try a back brace. While the back brace was ordered, he would not help with pain management unless I was progressing with surgery. He did not tell me this at the apt where we discussed the back brace. I had thought this was a progression, try the back brace, see if it works - make a decision from there. Believe me, the last thing I want to do is be on pain medication but I have a major herniation and have had several spinal fusions prior. I want to see if the back brace works before I go jumping into another spinal fusion. It just goes to show you cannot find a decent Dr. in Maine. If you want expertise, bedside manner (i.e. a real doctor) do not go see Dr. Pier.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 18th, 2012
john pier he is no good and is for the insurance company!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
john pier he is no good and is for the insurance company! he called me a lair after 4 other doctor said a need surgery i would not even waste my time with him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 13th, 2011
A Doctor Who Actually Talks To His Patients!!
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Pier, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Scarborough, ME.