Dr. John Tompkins MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Plano, TX

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 45 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

4.0 (-0.1)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    56%
  • Satisfied
    27%
  • Neutral
    4%
  • Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Wait Time 20 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

4.0 of 5
November 4th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Dr. Thompkin was extremely knowledgeable he was very confident in being able to correct the issue. For the amount of pain I was in I was not able to get schedule for surgery until two-weeks later. The office staff needs to have customer service training because Terri is extremely ugly to the patients and I am not sure if the doctor is aware of her attitude. Dr. Thompkin's PA made me feel very at ease; I wish that I had that feeling with the doctor, maybe it is that he's got so much on his mind. My husband liked the doctor because of him having 20 years of experiences. I like the fact that he is experience, but I want a doctor that makes me feel that he has compassion and cares also and I did not get that feeling from Dr. Thomkins. I am not seeking a second opinion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 15th, 2016
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Thompkins has always been a very Good Doctor in regards to dealing with my Pain situation.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
December 2nd, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His analysis of the paid after my Spinal Tap was off. Every single person I know who has had the same procedure (5 other people) had a longer recovery period than the 2 days (over a weekend) that I was told was normal.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 15th, 2015
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This man saved my life! NF Tumors on the nerves that control my heart. He keeps up to date on the latest technology. He got me in for stereo tactic radio therapy when it was brand new technology. Well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 7th, 2014
surgery i had done
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
dr tomkins is alright be he liedto me after the surgeries ,he did not tell mei had a tumor in my neck and he did not tell me had nerve damage in my neck and cranium,my pain management dr told me because it showed on my xrays,he is not very truthful man,he told me i could not do eighty of activity.iblame him for lying to me and the other two doctors.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 15th, 2013
Grateful Patient
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Everyone told me not to expect bedside manner with a neuro-surgeon. They are the very proficient brainiacs that do what they do and leave. Dr. Tompkins is a very proficient brainiac but is also a very sweet and wonderful person. He takes the time you need to understand and even took the time to tell me about one of his favorite Dilbert cartoons. Teamed with P.A. Jeff (sorry Jeff, I don't know your last name) and a great team of assistants, this was one of the best surgical experiences I've ever had. It was supposed to be a crazy, scary, dangerous experience but combined with the confidence they exuded, and instilled in me, it was a breeze. They returned a stumbling, clumsy older lady into the self-sufficient, independent, confident person she used to be. I am grateful I found him and I wouldn't go anyplace else.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 6th, 2012
Completely satisfied with outcome...
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Had an ACDF procedure due to Spinal Stenosis and Dr. T. performed this in the Summer of 2011; am very pleased 18 months later though still some work to accomplish for "full" recovery. Yes at times it appeared that post-op visits were not as intimate and bedside manners waned but the Dr. idoes'nt have time to spoon feed all of his patients once he's comfortable with the progress. As pointed out by another, the Dr.'s PA is terrific throughout the whole process.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
June 19th, 2012
Having operation with Dr. but not thrilled with office staff
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The few office staff I was in contact with did not seem to know what to do-that was scary. Hopefully Iam making the correct choice with the Doctor. He needs to clean house and hire people who truly want to work and seem caring.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 19th, 2012
Dr. T is a doctor because of his love of medicine , not money.
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Tompkins was very up front an honest and explained my condition in a way that was understandable to me and not in the least bit condescending. I have already recommended him to friend's. My father was a doctor as was his father and his father and I have worked in the medical field. There is always going to be someone you can't please, but De. Tompin's passion and genuine care for his patient comes through. His staff was very friendly and professional which is very important as they are the first impression of not only how the office is run, but how the doctor prefers his office be run. He did an excellent job on my procedure and I have complete faith that he will perform just as well on the next. Also, his PA is the bomb!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
September 6th, 2011
Good surgeon but...
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had surgery with Dr. Tompkins last year and while the outcome was ok, I feel that he and his staff could be doing a lot better in terms of patient communication. I felt that once I was operated on I was pretty much on my own. Communication with their office is tedious and to get a return phone call takes a few days on average - not particularly helpful when one just had surgery and needs a question answered. Tompkins himself is more or less aloof and done with the patient as soon as he's gone over the usual spiel. Jeff, his nurse practitioner, is much more approachable and takes more time. But again, all that pretty much ends once the surgery has taken place. Office staff is rude and generally not compassionate to people in severe pain - especially Dora. Ugh. Every time I had to call their office I was glad when I could hang up again. All in all I would not go there again and rather try to find a good surgeon AND good communication.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 26th, 2011
The wok of Dr. John Tompkins
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Two years ago, Dr. Tompkins placed a VP-shunt to treat and relieve my hydrocephalus. It was successful. He operated on me earlier this week to relieve my spinal stenosis by means of a cervical laminectomy. It too is successful. He is an excellent neuro-surgeon in my opinions.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 14th, 2010
Dr is very good But!
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His office staff and the office manager are in the wrong profession. They should be working at the morgue. For people in severe pain and discomfort should never be greeted by these people especially the office manager I feel every time I talk with her I feel I am truly bothering her. She is not why i go there its Dr Tompkins who is great she on the other hand has not one ounce of compassion in her at all. I have almost left him because of her alone terrible staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Tompkins, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Plano, TX.