Dr. John Raiss MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

2.7
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-1.7)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    33%
  • Satisfied
    7%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    13%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    47%
  • Wait Time 9.2 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2015
Very kind, true gentleman. Really great doctor.
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It really doesn't get any better than Dr. John Raiss. He is an extremely caring individual and if you tell him the honest truth about everything he can most definitely help you solve your problems. I've been going to different psychiatrist for ten years plus and this is absolutely the best one I have met. You can really tell this guy how you feel, your habits, personal things that other similar doctors might hold against you. He has patients at its highest and the most understanding level I have seen before in this field. Its worth every cent and his assistant is very kind and helpful as well. I am very satisfied with his treatment and as comfortable as I have been ever in my life in this psychiatrist's care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 20th, 2012
Don't Even Think About HIm!
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Total jerk. Never looked me in the eye, only at his computer screen. Asked yes or no questions, some over and over. I understand he is not looking for friends among his customers; I doubt he has any.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I only had one bad experience with Dr. Raiss early on when he didn't answer an e-mail and I got pushed out of shape over it. Since then, he's been good at getting back to me. Other than that, he's a concerned individual who has pretty much gotten my medication right. I look forward to my visits with him because he'll take the time allotted to me to hear me and my troubles out (I'm between psychologists). Not the guy to ask over for an afternoon of televised sports but a fine professional to gauge your pharmaceutical needs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 8th, 2011
bad beside manner doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I DO NOT recommend this doctor. Don't waste your time with this doctor because he won't! No investment on his part as what is really wrong with you and how he can help. He treats you like number and acts like a machine. He is concern about getting you appointments so he can charge the insurance. The ONLY good thing about his practice is his office staff: Chris! I DO NOT recommend this doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 29th, 2011
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
At first I liked Dr. Raiss a lot, but as time went on he was less and less concerned about my problems. I've seen him for maybe two years now. I am bipolar, but he didn't diagnose me, so I'm not sure how well he does that (I had recently moved so just needed a new doctor to continue my pharmacological treatment). When I started having additional symptoms and gave him my concerns, he didn't really give it any thought, nor did he suggest any medication adjustments. He wasn't very proactive and didn't really listen to what I was saying. He doesn't do "therapy"--he basically just does pharmacological treatment. This was fine for me since it's the only reason I went there. His office staff--Chris--is very pleasant and helpful, though recently he was having some issues with follow-through.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
December 14th, 2010
Nice enough
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
But very rough about missing appointments and gave my health insurance company the wrong diagnosis making impossible for me to get insured.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 21st, 2009
Dr. Raiss is an incompetent psychiatrist and is dangerous
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I went to Dr. Raiss a number of years ago for meds to help me sleep. He prescribed Zyprexa for me which is anti psychotic drug used for schizophrenia and people who are bipolar. You don't prescribe an antipsychotic drug to a non psychotic who just wants something to help them sleep. As a result of his prescription I became deeply addicted and almost became diabetic. People have died from Zyprexa. I had to go to a very expensive drug rehab in Malibu to get free of Zyprexa. It was very painful and cost me a fortune. Do not go to Dr. Raiss, he has no business practicing medicine.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 24th, 2009
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Raiss is very knowledgeable about current trends and medications. My daughter has had at least 4 other psychiatrists and Dr. Raiss is the one who finally got her medications right. He is not warm and fuzzy (although his office assistant, Chris, is)but he is sharp, organized and clearly up to date on his psychopharmacology.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Raiss, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Santa Monica, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Richard Greenberg

4.4 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Michael Mandel

3.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Deborah Finklestein

10 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor