ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Raiss Is this you?
  • 6
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
  • 7

Quality Rating

Neutral

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
9.2 min
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Raiss?


19 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 28th, 2015

Very kind, true gentleman. Really great doctor.

It really doesn't get any better than Dr. John Raiss. He is an extremely caring individual and if you tell him the honest truth about everything he can most definitely help you solve your problems. I've been going to different psychiatrist for ten years plus and this is absolutely the best one I have met. You can really tell this guy how you feel, your habits, personal things that other similar doctors might hold against you. He has patients at its highest and the most understanding level I have seen before in this field. Its worth every cent and his assistant is very kind and helpful as well. I am very satisfied with his treatment and as comfortable as I have been ever in my life in this psychiatrist's care.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 20th, 2012

Don't Even Think About HIm!

Total jerk. Never looked me in the eye, only at his computer screen. Asked yes or no questions, some over and over. I understand he is not looking for friends among his customers; I doubt he has any.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 18th, 2011

I only had one bad experience with Dr. Raiss early on when he didn't answer an e-mail and I got pushed out of shape over it. Since then, he's been good at getting back to me. Other than that, he's a concerned individual who has pretty much gotten my medication right. I look forward to my visits with him because he'll take the time allotted to me to hear me and my troubles out (I'm between psychologists). Not the guy to ask over for an afternoon of televised sports but a fine professional to gauge your pharmaceutical needs.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

May 8th, 2011

bad beside manner doctor

I DO NOT recommend this doctor. Don't waste your time with this doctor because he won't! No investment on his part as what is really wrong with you and how he can help. He treats you like number and acts like a machine. He is concern about getting you appointments so he can charge the insurance. The ONLY good thing about his practice is his office staff: Chris! I DO NOT recommend this doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

January 29th, 2011

At first I liked Dr. Raiss a lot, but as time went on he was less and less concerned about my problems. I've seen him for maybe two years now. I am bipolar, but he didn't diagnose me, so I'm not sure how well he does that (I had recently moved so just needed a new doctor to continue my pharmacological treatment). When I started having additional symptoms and gave him my concerns, he didn't really give it any thought, nor did he suggest any medication adjustments. He wasn't very proactive and didn't really listen to what I was saying. He doesn't do "therapy"--he basically just does pharmacological treatment. This was fine for me since it's the only reason I went there. His office staff--Chris--is very pleasant and helpful, though recently he was having some issues with follow-through.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

December 14th, 2010

Nice enough

But very rough about missing appointments and gave my health insurance company the wrong diagnosis making impossible for me to get insured.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

September 22nd, 2009

Dr. Raiss is an incompetent psychiatrist and is dangerous

I went to Dr. Raiss a number of years ago for meds to help me sleep. He prescribed Zyprexa for me which is anti psychotic drug used for schizophrenia and people who are bipolar. You don't prescribe an antipsychotic drug to a non psychotic who just wants something to help them sleep. As a result of his prescription I became deeply addicted and almost became diabetic. People have died from Zyprexa. I had to go to a very expensive drug rehab in Malibu to get free of Zyprexa. It was very painful and cost me a fortune. Do not go to Dr. Raiss, he has no business practicing medicine.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 24th, 2009

Dr. Raiss is very knowledgeable about current trends and medications. My daughter has had at least 4 other psychiatrists and Dr. Raiss is the one who finally got her medications right. He is not warm and fuzzy (although his office assistant, Chris, is)but he is sharp, organized and clearly up to date on his psychopharmacology.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

May 31st, 2017

3.0 Rating

May 31st, 2017

4.0 Rating

May 31st, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 18th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Raiss is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Santa Monica, CA.

  • Dr. Richard Greenberg

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Santa Monica, CA 0 mi

    4.2
    (18)
    57
  • Dr. Michael Mandel

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Santa Monica, CA 0.01 mi

    3.0
    (2)
    48
  • Dr. Deborah Finklestein

    Psychiatry

    Santa Monica, CA 0.01 mi

    10