The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Pittman Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Pittman?

Crohn's Disease

Crohn's Disease

Get the facts about Crohn’s Disease, including how it affects the body, the symptoms it causes, and complications that may arise.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Pittman?

Ratings and Reviews

23 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    14
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    14
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
12.1 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 23 Ratings with 6 Comments

3.0 Rating

March 4th, 2016

Great surgeon, poor bedside manner

I've seen Dr. Pittman several times since 2013, and I honestly think I hated the man initially. He can come off as dismissive, and even condescending at times. It can seem like he's not listening to you or just doesn't understand what you're going through. He struggles with empathy. I never thought I'd come to his defense, but the man is a genius...and most geniuses just aren't that well adapted, socially. He is a highly skilled surgeon, and I would trust him to perform any procedure, no matter how complex. If you can look beyond your need for a "connection" with a doctor and get through the office visits, you'll be in the most capable hands in Indianapolis when it's time for a surgical procedure.

Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 14th, 2015

This Dr. dismissed my symptoms and pain I tried to express to him. I apologize as he is a professing Christian but does not demonstrate love and compassion like we are called to do. This is very frustrating as he is to be above all an example. After seeing him a few times, I decided to switch doctors, sad to say, I want a CARING doctor.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 18th, 2012

THE BEST!!!! SAVED MY LIFE
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

January 10th, 2011

Awesome physician

Thanks to Dr. Pittman I am back to my old self. My surgery was a complete success!!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 4th, 2011

3 procedures later -

After 3 procedures later nothing has changed except for more pain and more issues. Dr. Pittman would never listen to what was really going on and if not for my GYN I would have thought I was losing my mind. Even after Dr. Pittman ordered tests done at IU MED CENTER he didn't agree with findings and still did what "he" wanted to do. Now, I need more surgery to not only correct issues he created but learned NOTHING was corrected that I paid him for. Couldn't recommend him.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

March 31st, 2010

Worst doctor I have ever seen!

This is the worst doctor I have ever seen in my entire life time. Very rude, impolite and impotent. He even lied about the information about the disease. Maybe he is incapable of knowing these expertise in his own field and has to lie to me about it. He even interrupted me when I was asking his some questions and behaved like I am wasting his time with non sense. The whole visit took less than 10 minutes and he just showed me the door and said goodbye. I couldn't believe it. Am I the person who is paying this visit? He is not qualified as a doctor IMO.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 14th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

5.0 Rating

November 14th, 2016

3.0 Rating

June 7th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 1st, 2016

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.0 Rating

January 27th, 2016

5.0 Rating

December 14th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Pittman is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Carmel, IN.

  • Dr. Patrick Park

    Colon and Rectal Surgery, General Surgery

    Carmel, IN 0 mi

    4.2
    (16)
    26
  • Dr. William Kelley

    Colon and Rectal Surgery, Geriatric Medicine, Family Medicine

    Carmel, IN 1.45 mi

    48
  • Dr. Bruce Robb

    Colon and Rectal Surgery, General Surgery

    Carmel, IN 2.25 mi

    18