ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Yu Is this you?
  • 7
  • 2
  • 3
  • 0
  • 1

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
16.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Spends Time With Me

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Yu?


13 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

October 9th, 2015

What a wonderful care giver and adept surgeon.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 6th, 2015

I could not be more pleased with the care and service of Dr. You and his entire team of specialists and staff. I had undergone quite a major surgery for removal of a tumor in my brain (craniotomy). Operation was a success and follow ups scheduled right on time.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 29th, 2015

I had a very favorable surgery result.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 15th, 2014

Dishonest

I had a small (1.5 cm) skull-base meningioma on an area known at the lesser sphenoid wing. Based on a previous MRI done years before, we could see that it was growing, so wait and watch was probably not the best option. This tumor was non-symptomatic...it was found by accident when my regular doctor ordered an MRI with contrast for a completely separate issue (headache) which went away on its own. I consulted with three different brain surgeons about this tumor, and all were in agreement that it was a relatively easy tumor to remove, and there was virtually no risk to other structures since it was in a "relatively quiet part of the brain" as Dr. Yu put it. Another surgeon called it a "chip shot," again meaning that it was easy to remove. Meningiomas are non-cancerous and typically just grow in place without spreading, but can get quite large if left alone. I opted for Dr. Yu to do the surgery to remove it. Before the surgery, I asked him about monitoring the 3rd cranial nerve during surgery to insure against damage. This nerve is important because it controls the eye muscles, the pupil, and your ability to open your eye. Sometimes important cranial nerves like this are monitored during surgery taking place nearby to insure it doesn't get damaged during surgery. When I asked him about this, he said very definitively: "you don't need that." Period. In terms of neurosurgery, this nerve (and several others) are too far away to be concerned about according to him and others I consulted with. After the surgery, I came out with near complete destruction of not only that nerve, but total destruction of three other cranial nerves! My eye was then, and will always be paralyzed. I must patch it to avoid horrible double vision and the sensation that the environment is unstable like an earthquake, so I have lost the use of that eye. Ok, so unforeseen things can happen. But when I saw my op report, it said: "She was warned about the potential for eye paralysis." This was a total fabrication. It was obviously added after the fact to cover it up. He would never provide me with an explanation. He is a good surgeon. My theory is that he allowed the neurosurgery resident from Africa that was working this him do the surgery, since it was supposed to be so straightforward. He also wrote in the op report: "I was the one who did the entire surgery from start to finish." I work in the medical field, and have never seen any op reports that says such things. The reports only talk about what was done during surgery. Not about warnings given to patients. Those are written in other sections of the patient charts. I told him prior to surgery I only wanted HIM to do the surgery, and that was why I chose him and Cedar Sinai instead of a teaching hospital where surgery fellows routinely do the surgeries. It's so sad. Just make sure to get ALL of your chart notes, both before and after your procedure.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 9th, 2013

Dr. Yu was very knowledgeable and kind. He is very well-trained and we had the utmost confidence in his skills. My father was taken care of very well during the whole time under his care.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

May 2nd, 2013

Abandons patients

Dr. Yu's office staff and nursing staff are very difficult to deal with, - chaotic, disjointed, unresponsive to requests, and full of excuses. Also, after surgery, his staff appears to be inaccessible and uninterested in assisting patients during recovery and complications. Clearly Dr. Yu is an outstanding surgeon, but his staff does not follow through with good communication or appropriate care for his patients following discharge from Cedars-Sinai.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

February 18th, 2017

4.0 Rating

February 18th, 2017

5.0 Rating

October 23rd, 2016

4.0 Rating

March 4th, 2016

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.0 Rating

February 26th, 2016

5.0 Rating

June 17th, 2011

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Yu is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Los Angeles, CA.

  • Dr. Chirag Patil

    Neurological Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    10
  • Dr. Adam Mamelak

    Dr. Adam Mamelak

    Neurological Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0 mi

    4.6
    (26)
    26
  • Dr. Moise Danielpour

    Neurological Surgery, Pediatric Surgery

    Los Angeles, CA 0 mi

    4.4
    (10)
    20