The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Scagnelli Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Scagnelli?

Bipolar Disorder

Bipolar Disorder

Get the facts about bipolar disorder, including the different types and symptoms of each.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Scagnelli?

Ratings and Reviews

30 Ratings with 16 Comments

  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    9
  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    2
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    3
  • Bad
    9

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
12.2 min

Showing 30 Ratings with 16 Comments

5.0 Rating

February 10th, 2016

Glad to have him on my team

I have MS, and have had other doctors in the past. I'm grateful to have Dr. Scagnelli looking over my case. He is genuine in his desire to help with e ...

Easy Appointment
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 10th, 2016

I have a pretty difficult to follow neurological problem, and feel completely trusting of Dr. Scagnelli being the one at the front line of my healthcare decisions. He's thoughtful, honest, and not stuck in his ways.... if you bring new info. that is useful, or valid to your problem, he will review it, and give you his honest medical opinion. He's human. Glad I've got him on my team!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 20th, 2015

Poor directions and poor professional service

In fairness my wife was late for her appointment. We didn't leave on time, then we encounter very heavy rain for most of the hour drive. Once at the office complex we relied on the address on the paperwork sent from the doctor. We tried to find a handicap parking spot at building 1540, but there were none. My wife walks slow and uses a cane. When we got to the reception desk, we were told Dr Scagnelli's office was in Building 1520, quite a distance for a handicap person to walk. So we waited for assistance and a wheel chair. When we got to Bldg 1520 we were not allowed enough time to fill out the paperwork but rushed into the doctors office, where the nurse told me we didn't need to fill out the forms, that she had everything, and that she had to keep the doctor on schedule. The doctor rushed the "exam" and in short time declared my wife did not have dementia or Alzheimer's, and he would refer my wife back to her regular doctor and recommend she be prescribed Zoloft. The doctor left in short order. We sat and waited until finally I found another nurse who couldn't find our nurse or doctor. We never received any diagnosis form or further instructions. I (also disabled) wound up pushing my wife back to Bldg 1540 where our car was parked in a handicap spot. Both my wife this doctor visit was a total waste of time! Today, my Internet review indicates Dr. Scagnelli's training is in Multiple Sclerosis and not dementia or Alzheimer's.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

November 4th, 2015

Dr. Scagnelli worst doctor ever

Went to dr. Scagnelli for depression and alcohol abuse. All he did was refer me to someone else who needed his approval to treat me. Never got a call from back from either of them even after calling multiple times. Dr. Scagnelli is rude and doesn't care one bit about his patient. My sister had the same experience; rude attitude and the guy never so much as looked her in the eye. All he is, is a drug dealer with a license.

Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 13th, 2015

terrible doctor!!! Only after money. put me on daily med for migraines. They got worse. Sent portal message for help. No response. Called urgently since I had a migraine for five days on new med, no response. Then had staff call me a few days later and tried to enroll me in another study in which he makes money!! Then I got a bill for 380.00!! And my migraines are worse! For a 5 minute consult???? This practice doesn't care about their patients just cares about making money. Find an independent neologism in a small practice if u want patient care. What a jerk!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.0 Rating

May 17th, 2015

Doctor did not listen to what I had to say about my symptoms and history.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 22nd, 2015

Great doctor

Smart doctor that diagnosed me when no one else could figure out what was wrong!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 19th, 2014

I feel as though I finally found a doctor to treat my MS symptom by symptom, and as an overall patient.... My care has beenbeen so well rounded since starting care here.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 24th, 2014

Solid MS doctor

I switched from another neurologist at Raleigh Neurology as soon as Dr. Scagnelli joined the practice, and I have been pleased with both his competence and personality. He is very direct, which I appreciate, though he's personable as well. I feel that he remembers me and my symptoms, and has been proactive in helping me deal with MS. I have also found that turn-around time is quick; I had an MRI on Wednesday morning and got an email message regarding the results on Friday morning.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 18th, 2012

Excellent Communicator

Dr. Scagnelli took over care for my husband after doctors in Richmond felt they had no more to suggest in a very difficult neurological case. When he was hospitalized at UVA, we met Dr. Scagnelli and he began very thorough examinations and treatment. Cheom was given to stop the progression of neuromylitis opticia, a rare neurological disease that somewhat mimics MS symptoms. As my husband was almost blind and very confused, I was so appreciative of the way Dr. Scagnelli involved the family, making sure the options were understood,and became an anchor for me, the care giver. Dr. Scagnelli was professional, worked with other doctors, investigated new possibilities, was interested in my husband to the point of giving us his personal phone number, and calling to check on us after appointments. UVA's loss is NC's gain! I personally feel that because of Dr. Scagnelli, my husband has a quality of life that we once never imagined he could have.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 18th, 2012

Dr. Scagnelli took over case management from our local neurologist after she was diagnosed with multiple sclerosis and had immediate complications. He was very prompt in his response, helped us understand treatment options and helped get her stabilized in her symptoms. My daughter felt very comfortable talking to him and knew that she could reach him or his nurse with quesstions, concerns about flare-ups, etc. We were very sorry to see him move to NC.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 12th, 2012

My husband contracted an unknown neurological disease almost two years ago and, by the luck of the draw, Dr. Scagnelli became his doctor. Dr. Scagnelli has gone above and beyond to find answers and to get my husband the care that he needed. He has also worked with insurance companies, home health agencies and other physicians near and far, to get my husband the most effective care and treatment. Because of Dr. Scagnelli's attentiveness, my husband has had the best treatments available as well as daily private duty nursing. He even gave us a private phone number by which to reach him if there was a emergent situation. I can't say enough about Dr. Scagnelli's abilities and sincere thoughtfulness and compassion. In this day and time, it's almost impossible to find a doctor that will spend the needed time with a patient but Dr. Scagnelli always spends more than an average 15-minute visit; always over an hour, sometimes much longer. He listens, truly listens, to his patients and takes their thoughts and wishes under advisement when making medical decisions about what's best for the patient and then discusses the options in plain English for all to understand. Of all the physicians we have dealt with over the last two years, Dr. Scagnelli is, by far, the best in every way.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Scagnelli is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Raleigh, NC.

  • Dr. Kevin Rathke

    Child Neurology, Neurology

    Raleigh, NC 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    21
  • Dr. Gregory Bertics

    Dr. Gregory Bertics

    Neurology, Psychiatry

    Raleigh, NC 0.01 mi

    4.8
    (15)
    35
  • Dr. Matthias Zinn

    Dr. Matthias Zinn

    Child Neurology, Neurology

    Raleigh, NC 0.01 mi

    4.7
    (13)
    10