The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Schubmehl Is this you?
  • 14
  • 0
  • 1
  • 3
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
5 min
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Schubmehl?


23 Ratings with 9 Comments

3.0 Rating

March 20th, 2016

Has written wrong dosage for prescriptions multiple times. Last visit he wrote the completely wrong prescription. Just writes scripts and sends you in your way. Easy to get him to write scripts for you

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 22nd, 2016

Dr. Schubmehl was extremely caring and helped me tremendously. Thank you.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

December 26th, 2015

BEWARE!!

He prescribed me 2 drugs, which of taken together, can have a Major interaction and could have badly hurt me me if I took them together. Watch out for this doctor and do your research. He also did not listen to me. Must be getting a kick back for every drug prescribed from the pharmacutical companies. Please please look for interactions before filing meds.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 17th, 2015

drxy

Dr schubmehl is garbage. He was a waste of my time and money

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 9th, 2015

Great doctor

Excellent doctor, he really turned my life around.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

April 18th, 2014

Not an easy place to reschedual visits.

I currently work in sales and my day starts to get productive around 4:00 to 5:00PM. Any time that I had to miss any appointment I would make a call and the office would be closed. Not having 24 hours notice became expensive as the receptionist told me that the doctor can charge anything he wants. I was a bit disappointed in this and feel if the doctor truly wants to help that they should listen and not just say pay this fee now. Very disappointed in the way the staff called and asked for the money and could care less about me.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 17th, 2012

Mental illness is socially constructed

As Thomas Scheff demonstrated in Being Mentally Ill, mental illness is a social construct. There is no such thing as mental illness, but thinking and social labelling makes it so. Psychiatrists like Schubmehl give every patient a DSM IV diagnosis and the patient alters their behavior over time to fit the symptoms of the diagnosis. I did this. I have never seen a psychiatrist or psychotherapist tell a patient you're normal. A psychologist just told me 25% of the general population had bipolar but I looked up that statistic and studies say that only 4% of the general population has bipolar disorder. Psychologists just exaggerate mental illness diagnoses to make money and because they don't admit mental illness is just a social construction.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 3rd, 2011

Excellent choice for finding a doctor who will work with you to find the right mix of medications for a mood disorder.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 1st, 2009

Have had a great experience with Dr. Schubmehl in every way!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 27th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 27th, 2017

5.0 Rating

April 27th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Schubmehl is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Cooperstown, NY.

  • Dr. Stephen Hudyncia

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Cooperstown, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    30
  • Dr. Syed Sher

    Neurology

    Cooperstown, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
  • Dr. Iryna Chepurnaya

    Psychiatry, Neurology

    Cooperstown, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    29