Dr. John Schubmehl MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry Cooperstown, NY

Overall Rating

3.7
  • 23 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.3)

23 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    61%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    4%
  • Poor
    13%
  • Bad
    22%
  • Wait Time 5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
March 20th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Has written wrong dosage for prescriptions multiple times. Last visit he wrote the completely wrong prescription. Just writes scripts and sends you in your way. Easy to get him to write scripts for you
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 22nd, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Schubmehl was extremely caring and helped me tremendously. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
December 25th, 2015
BEWARE!!
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He prescribed me 2 drugs, which of taken together, can have a Major interaction and could have badly hurt me me if I took them together. Watch out for this doctor and do your research. He also did not listen to me. Must be getting a kick back for every drug prescribed from the pharmacutical companies. Please please look for interactions before filing meds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 17th, 2015
drxy
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr schubmehl is garbage. He was a waste of my time and money
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 9th, 2015
Great doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent doctor, he really turned my life around.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 18th, 2014
Not an easy place to reschedual visits.
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I currently work in sales and my day starts to get productive around 4:00 to 5:00PM. Any time that I had to miss any appointment I would make a call and the office would be closed. Not having 24 hours notice became expensive as the receptionist told me that the doctor can charge anything he wants. I was a bit disappointed in this and feel if the doctor truly wants to help that they should listen and not just say pay this fee now. Very disappointed in the way the staff called and asked for the money and could care less about me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 17th, 2012
Mental illness is socially constructed
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As Thomas Scheff demonstrated in Being Mentally Ill, mental illness is a social construct. There is no such thing as mental illness, but thinking and social labelling makes it so. Psychiatrists like Schubmehl give every patient a DSM IV diagnosis and the patient alters their behavior over time to fit the symptoms of the diagnosis. I did this. I have never seen a psychiatrist or psychotherapist tell a patient you're normal. A psychologist just told me 25% of the general population had bipolar but I looked up that statistic and studies say that only 4% of the general population has bipolar disorder. Psychologists just exaggerate mental illness diagnoses to make money and because they don't admit mental illness is just a social construction.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 2nd, 2011
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent choice for finding a doctor who will work with you to find the right mix of medications for a mood disorder.

5.0 of 5
April 1st, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Have had a great experience with Dr. Schubmehl in every way!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 27th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Schubmehl, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Cooperstown, NY.