Dr. John Sefter DO Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery of the Spine State College, PA

Overall Rating

3.8
  • 16 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.7)

16 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    19%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    6%
  • Bad
    19%
  • Wait Time 22.5 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
November 8th, 2016
back problems
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Sefter is a very caring doctor that has an awesome bedside manner. He really takes the time to listen to each of his patients. He did my back surgery and improve my way of living immensely. I highly recommend him. The staff in his office are very nice also.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 16th, 2012
GREAT spine surgeon
Wait time
20 minutes
I have had 2 lower back surgeries & Dr. Sefter did both of them. He phoned me at home the night before my surgery to see how I was feeling and that he'd see me in the morning. He REALLY knows the spine and is an excellent surgeon. With that said, he is a little quirky and will ramble on about non-relevant topics. If you need surgery on your spine - Dr. Sefter is definitely the guy to perform it!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 22nd, 2011
Everything I wanted in a doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I needed lower back surgery to relieve a bulging disc pressing on a nerve bundle. The office staff got me in for an emergency visit, Dr. Sefter discussed and explained my situation and surgery was scheduled. He is extremely caring and supportive and I was out of pain immediately after surgery. I couldn't have asked for a better surgeon, or a nicer, more professional doctor. I highly recommend Dr. Sefter, and I appreciate all he did for me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
February 25th, 2011
Do not waste your time
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
I was seen for the first 10 minutes in exam room, after waiting in exam room for at least 20- and then sent for x-rays. Meanwhile the dr. goes in with anohter patient and I wait another 25 minutes sitting in exam room. His demeanor was one of the strangest I have ever experienced. He did not stick to the topic and uses "sexist" comments. I was very dis-satisfied with my expense and visit here !!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 8th, 2011
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was diagnosed with idiopathic scoliosis at age 11 with a double major curve. My pediatrician gave me a referral to Dr. Sefter, as he was close to my house. I, still being a young child, was terrified of what was going on - I didn't understand what scoliosis was. When I first went, I had a long wait time before a nurse took my vitals and led me to the room. She was extremely rude and unprofessional. Sefter was awkward and didn't know how to work with children. It was a very uncomfortable situation. At the time, my curves were minor, the top curve about 30 degrees, the bottom around 26. Between my first appointment with him and the time he suggested a follow up, my curves jumped into the 50's and 60's range. I started developing cardiac, musculoskeletal, and neurological problems, as well as pinched nerves from the scoliosis. It was then that my pediatrician recommended I see another specialist. I am now at Hopkins, in a back brace, and feeling a lot better. I'm really glad I do not have to follow up with Dr. Sefter.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 8th, 2010
mbarnettb
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
very profesional
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2010
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Sefter, and his staff were extremely helpful. I was very scared and nervous because my first visit involved my cervical spine. However, a year later I know I made the right decision. Dr Sefters surgical skills are excellent. And his personality, and faith in God are what makes his the caring doctor he is.

4.0 of 5
July 31st, 2008
Dr. Sefter
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Although I feel he was an excellent surgeon he spent a LOT of time during my visits discussing his faith in GOD and about the "caring" yet never seemed to listen to me about my concerns. And he would often tell me what was going on with a patient in the next room, is that ethical? If you want an excellent surgeon he's your guy..if you want great follow up..he's not.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
January 12th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
February 10th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 14th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 1st, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Sefter, DO is similar to these 3 Doctors near State College, PA.

State College, PA
3.7
State College, PA
3.5