ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Sefter Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Sefter?

Ratings and Reviews

17 Ratings with 8 Comments

  • Excellent
    9
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3
  • Excellent
    9
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    1
  • Bad
    3

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
22.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 17 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

November 8th, 2016

back problems

Dr. Sefter is a very caring doctor that has an awesome bedside manner. He really takes the time to listen to each of his patients. He did my back surgery and improve my way of living immensely. I highly recommend him. The staff in his office are very nice also.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 16th, 2012

GREAT spine surgeon

I have had 2 lower back surgeries & Dr. Sefter did both of them. He phoned me at home the night before my surgery to see how I was feeling and that he'd see me in the morning. He REALLY knows the spine and is an excellent surgeon. With that said, he is a little quirky and will ramble on about non-relevant topics. If you need surgery on your spine - Dr. Sefter is definitely the guy to perform it!!

Wait time
20 minutes
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 22nd, 2011

Everything I wanted in a doctor

I needed lower back surgery to relieve a bulging disc pressing on a nerve bundle. The office staff got me in for an emergency visit, Dr. Sefter discussed and explained my situation and surgery was scheduled. He is extremely caring and supportive and I was out of pain immediately after surgery. I couldn't have asked for a better surgeon, or a nicer, more professional doctor. I highly recommend Dr. Sefter, and I appreciate all he did for me.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

February 25th, 2011

Do not waste your time

I was seen for the first 10 minutes in exam room, after waiting in exam room for at least 20- and then sent for x-rays. Meanwhile the dr. goes in with anohter patient and I wait another 25 minutes sitting in exam room. His demeanor was one of the strangest I have ever experienced. He did not stick to the topic and uses "sexist" comments. I was very dis-satisfied with my expense and visit here !!!

Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 8th, 2011

I was diagnosed with idiopathic scoliosis at age 11 with a double major curve. My pediatrician gave me a referral to Dr. Sefter, as he was close to my house. I, still being a young child, was terrified of what was going on - I didn't understand what scoliosis was. When I first went, I had a long wait time before a nurse took my vitals and led me to the room. She was extremely rude and unprofessional. Sefter was awkward and didn't know how to work with children. It was a very uncomfortable situation. At the time, my curves were minor, the top curve about 30 degrees, the bottom around 26. Between my first appointment with him and the time he suggested a follow up, my curves jumped into the 50's and 60's range. I started developing cardiac, musculoskeletal, and neurological problems, as well as pinched nerves from the scoliosis. It was then that my pediatrician recommended I see another specialist. I am now at Hopkins, in a back brace, and feeling a lot better. I'm really glad I do not have to follow up with Dr. Sefter.

Wait time
35.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 9th, 2010

mbarnettb

very profesional

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2010

Dr Sefter, and his staff were extremely helpful. I was very scared and nervous because my first visit involved my cervical spine. However, a year later I know I made the right decision. Dr Sefters surgical skills are excellent. And his personality, and faith in God are what makes his the caring doctor he is.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up

3.7 Rating

July 31st, 2008

Dr. Sefter

Although I feel he was an excellent surgeon he spent a LOT of time during my visits discussing his faith in GOD and about the "caring" yet never seemed to listen to me about my concerns. And he would often tell me what was going on with a patient in the next room, is that ethical? If you want an excellent surgeon he's your guy..if you want great follow up..he's not.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

September 12th, 2017

4.0 Rating

January 12th, 2017

3.0 Rating

February 10th, 2016

5.0 Rating

April 14th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Sefter is similar to the following 3 Doctors near State College, PA.

  • Dr. Brian Spencer

    Dr. Brian Spencer

    Orthopedic Surgery

    State College, PA 0.01 mi

    4.4
    (9)
    6
  • Dr. James Martin

    Orthopedic Surgery

    State College, PA 0.03 mi

    3.7
    (6)
    20
  • Dr. Paul Suhey

    Orthopedic Surgery

    State College, PA 0.03 mi

    3.5
    (13)
    29