Dr. John Shiau MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery South Amboy, NJ

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 59 patient ratings
  • 18 comments

Last 12 months:

4.6 (+ 0.6)

18 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    66%
  • Satisfied
    10%
  • Neutral
    2%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    19%
  • Wait Time 34 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
February 12th, 2017
Great doctor
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very caring. One of the best surgeons I saw with my problem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 30th, 2016
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office staff was polite and prompt. All the woman/staff were extremely helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 10th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
intelligent great surgeon
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 6th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very thorough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was very nervous about my fusion surgery, but the fact that he told me he could do it ambulatory made me feel much better.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 13th, 2015
Happy
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I flew in from Michigan to have minimally invasive surgery at the Minimally Invasive Spinal Surgery Institute. I am so glad I did. Dr Shiau streamlined the process so I didn't have to make wasted visits. I'm so much better now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 31st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shiau went out of his way and cancelled a social event to fit me into the schedule. I really appreciated it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 20th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had an excellent experience with Dr. Shiau. He never rushes me
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 14th, 2014
Great experience
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Shiau in his new Manhattan office where it is less rushed. I did not wait and I had the chance to have a long discussion comparing minimally invasive spine surgery with my other options. I chose not to have surgery which he said was fine and I was happy with that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 27th, 2014
ARE you kidding
Dr Shiau might be good but personally wouldnt know. His office sticks and it is a meat market in my opinion. I am a very busy person but there office obviously thinks that i could just wait weeks for a call back. I wait 3 months for an appointment for a test then went and the valuum did not work, The person giving me the test says well it didnt work because i use to many pain relievers. Not true never used a pain reliver at all till recently using valume for the 5 mri;s and 4 cat scans i had had. I was told by my neourolist that it is possible due to my history that i may wake up and not be able to walk as it happened to me 15 years ago. I was told to go to a suregom and she recommened dr shaiu. I thought it was because he could good but found out today that no thats not the reason. The reason is because he is the only sugeon on Staten island. I waisted 3 months of my time for an office that is like a meat market. DO NOT RECOMMEND AT ALL..
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2013
Best surgeon
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I shopped around for a spine surgeon who could help me using minimally invasive surgery. There were so many doctors in Manhattan that said they specialized in it but then said I wasn't a candidate. Dr. Shiau was the only one who said I was. I'm so happy I chose him. My friend's mother had brain surgery done by Dr Shiau and recommended him to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 16th, 2013
Excellent surgeon
Easy Appointment
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First of all, I had to wait an hour for my appointment but once I got to see Dr Shiau he was thorough and unrushed. He did minimally invasive spine su ...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Shiau, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near South Amboy, NJ.