Dr. John Shiau MD Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Staten Island, NY

Overall Rating

4.1
  • 63 patient ratings
  • 19 comments

Last 12 months:

4.8 (+ 0.7)

63 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    70%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    6%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    16%
  • Wait Time 32.3 minutes
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 14th, 2017
Amazing surgeon
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shiau performed a discectomy on me on June 28th, 2017. Prior to my surgery I could not walk stand or lift my 2 year old daughter. I was skeptical about my surgery after reading the review that he had involvement in leaving a patient crippled but I still decided to go forth with my surgery. That was the best decision I ever made. I feel 99% better 2 months post op. I finally have my life back thanks to Dr. Shiau. He was professional, made me feel comfortable, and effective. I would highly recommend him to anyone seeking help with sciatica or herniated discs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 9th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shiau has run late more than a few times with me but I appreciate the thoroughness and time he spends with me. He repaired my aneurysm and did emergency brain surgery on my nephew when he was 12. He doesn't just do spine surgery so I always give him the benefit of the doubt because he is great.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 12th, 2017
Great doctor
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very caring. One of the best surgeons I saw with my problem.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 30th, 2016
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Office staff was polite and prompt. All the woman/staff were extremely helpful
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 10th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
intelligent great surgeon
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 6th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very thorough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 23rd, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was very nervous about my fusion surgery, but the fact that he told me he could do it ambulatory made me feel much better.

5.0 of 5
September 13th, 2015
Happy
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I flew in from Michigan to have minimally invasive surgery at the Minimally Invasive Spinal Surgery Institute. I am so glad I did. Dr Shiau streamlined the process so I didn't have to make wasted visits. I'm so much better now.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 31st, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Shiau went out of his way and cancelled a social event to fit me into the schedule. I really appreciated it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 20th, 2015
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had an excellent experience with Dr. Shiau. He never rushes me

5.0 of 5
November 14th, 2014
Great experience
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Shiau in his new Manhattan office where it is less rushed. I did not wait and I had the chance to have a long discussion comparing minimally invasive spine surgery with my other options. I chose not to have surgery which he said was fine and I was happy with that.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 17th, 2013
Best surgeon
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I shopped around for a spine surgeon who could help me using minimally invasive surgery. There were so many doctors in Manhattan that said they specialized in it but then said I wasn't a candidate. Dr. Shiau was the only one who said I was. I'm so happy I chose him. My friend's mother had brain surgery done by Dr Shiau and recommended him to me.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Shiau, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Staten Island, NY.