Dr. John Sistrunk MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

3.8
  • 29 patient ratings
  • 13 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.2)

13 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    66%
  • Satisfied
    3%
  • Neutral
    3%
  • Dissatisfied
    3%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    24%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 18.6 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
January 11th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Sistrunk is a great doctor and is highly recommended by those at MD Anderson. The office staff, however, is the meanest in the world. They are very rude and have no compassion for patients. I am surprised that Dr. Sistrunk would keep such rude people. They should quit their job and let some one have it that needes a job/.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 4th, 2016
Wait time
40 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My appointment with Dr. Sistrunk was a complete waste of time and money. I felt like he didn't take me seriously and was uninterested in what I had to say. I don't appreciate the way he belittled me and passed judgment on me for taking diet pills. He wanted to do nothing but attribute all of my symptoms to weight and a lack of exercise, which isn't even a real cause for many of my symptoms. He also ended the appointment making remarks about me taking "speed" like I was some sort of drug addict. On top of everything else, he didn't check my T3 or antibodies and failed to do a thyroid scan. I feel like he passed judgment prematurely then didn't want to do everything he could to help me get answers to what was causing my symptoms. Aside from that, he couldn't give me any direct answers on what else could be causing my symptoms so I would know what other avenues to explore.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 7th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
the man was rude and obnoxious. the absolute worst bedside manner with patients I have ever encountered.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 16th, 2015
worst doctor ever
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
As a veteran I found his opinions of my service to country highly offensive and his wanting to refer me for domestic violence I do not suffer from and mental help deeply insulting. Just because someone has seen combat does mean they are in need of mental help or are crazy. I asked for medical help with a physical illness, not a dissertation on my veteran status.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 14th, 2014
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw 7 specialists over the course of 2 years. None of them could figure out was going on with me. Dr. Sistrunk found the problem with the first ultrasound (2nd visit). I have incredibly high standards for physicians for which I do not apologize. Dr. Sistrunk exceeds them. Contrary to what one reviewer posted, he is a native Jacksonian. He comes from a family of local physicians. Because of the complexity of my disease, HE wanted me to get a 2nd opinion. I really appreciate a doctor who is governed by care for his patients over his own ego. ALL of my doctors at MD Anderson knew and greatly respected Dr. Sistrunk. He also teaches the course on thyroid ultrasound at physicians' conferences. There is NO other endocrinologist I would see in Mississippi. In fact, I've seen a lot of them and could give you a laundry list of problems. I will concede that he is not emotional nor affectionate. But he is compassionate, thorough, and brilliant.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 6th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If only Dr. Woody Sistrunk could have Hashimoto's disease and hypothyroidism for just only one year then maybe he would HEAR what his patients are trying to tell him and he might be half the man and doctor he thinks he is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 12th, 2013
Horrible dr
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
My daughter went to see him and with thyroid antibodies that were over 5 times normal levels and a goiter plus every symptom of hypothyroidism.he refused to try medications based solely on "numbers" on blood test. Told her to see a psychiatric and get an antidepressant instead of treating hypothyroidism that was causing depression. Horrible dr for women and especially a woman who wants to ask questions about her treatment and not just blindly follow his advice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 26th, 2013
Does NOT Listen to Patients
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I felt that he completely trivialized my concerns about the side effects to the medications I am currently taking. I'm currently trying to find someone else to get a second opinion, because I don't trust Dr. Sistrunk after my last experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2012
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
This doctor is excellent he saved my life. I went to another doctor and he diagnosed me wrong. I had to call and call to get an appointment. He is the best thyroid doctor in the world.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2011
Great!
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
You can tell this is not a Southern man, but a very smart one. He's a little different but I fully trust this brilliant doctor! He really cares about every aspect of your life. I like that he dictates his letters right infront of you. His staff is the best of anywhere i've been!! Any nurse who can take my blood and I don't pass out is a winner in my book!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 31st, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very professional & thorough.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
November 11th, 2009
Hurtle Cell Cancer
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I am so glad I was referred to Dr. Sistrunk. He has been great with giving information about the cancer, treatment options, continuing health care and support. He ineracts with other physicians for a total care environment with all health needs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Sistrunk, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Jackson, MS.

Doctor

Dr. John Biggs

19 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kristen Crawford

5 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Ralph Sulser

43 years experience

5.0 of 5