Dr. John Slightam MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.3
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

4.5 (+ 0.2)

8 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    60%
  • Satisfied
    27%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    7%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 9.4 minutes

Showing 1 - 8 reviews

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
A great Doctor who really listens to you. Couldn't ask for a better Doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 19th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Amazing listener. Follows through on topics. Helps me understand my illness
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 22nd, 2013
Nice guy
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Easy going person, and very open about himself. Other than that, his ego gets the best of him. As much as I try to explain my situation with him he already has a mindset of what is right medication for me from his experience with other patients. It's a double edged sword where it is good to have that experience but not all cases are just that simple. He cuts me off after 2 sentences, questions me and explains his perspective then changes the subject while I haven't gotten to the main point of my topic. Much of our conversations are like that. I reluctantly accept his decision since he is the Dr. Afterwards I realize he stereotyped my condition and pushed me out the door since he was running late on appointments (I already waited about 20 minutes on mine). I pretty much feel not taken care of, and ripped off.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 18th, 2013
Down to earth, Open to alternatives, knowledgable
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I"ve had some very miserable experiences with several therapists and psychiatrists and a few positive ones. My contacts with Dr. Slightam have been very limited, last 15 minutes at a time, and involve quick assessments and prescription filling. Without insurance covering it, its $100 each time. However, he's aware of my financial sacrifice, the greed of pharmaceutical companies, the overpromised underdelivered value of new mass marketed meds. I've grown to respect Dr. Slightam for his honesty and empathy on those matters. He also works outside the box as necessary and listens to suggestions. Its refreshing not to be treated like a nutcase but as an equal. On the other hand, his receptionist/office assistant is generally rude and impatient, and a new friendly one would be a great addition. Clients with mental health issues dont deserve that cold, businesslike sourpuss approach with every phone call and office meeting.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 14th, 2012
jeff christiansen
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
not caring for enough at all. gets other people to work for him. shoves work in other peoples hands, I have been a pactient with him for 13 years.why should brother get blamed for something he never even new
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 26th, 2012
A Doctor who will be a teammate, rather than a dictate.
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Been seeing him for approx 12 years or more, He talks to you as an equal and is very knowledgable about current advances in treatments. Is willing to listen to your own research, giving his opinion and allowing you to decide. Kind, friendly, he makes the time and actually calls you personally on issues. Shares successes and failures and efficacy of medications and their drawbacks. Willing to go the extra mile in dealing with insurances, managed plans and is not afraid to voice his opinions on optional treatments and open to alternative therapies. Timely on prescription request for refills and just one heck of a nice guy. He has that ability to make you feel like talking to a friend for advice rather than a feeling like a onced-over guinea pig. Takes your economic concerns seriously and works to make it affordable for patients. Gives one plenty of time to discuss treatment plans and changes. A Good DR. and a Good human being.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 18th, 2011
Long term
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Slightam is a caring doctor who treats his patients with a great deal of respect, and an attitude of equality and friendliness that make him emotionally accessible. So many MDs, in this field and others give the patient the lab rat treatment,exhibiting themselves as superior and take the "professional distance" that they need to assume too far. Dr. Slightham treats folk with attentiveness, a kind humanity and a personality that invites openness. He is willing to work with the patient, rather than working on the patient, to solve the complex emotional and mental disorders that are difficult to pin down as to diagnosis. He is refreshing in a field filled with Drs. that are burnout from the trials of dealing with others deep seated emotional problems.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 2nd, 2010
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Highly recommended. If you are looking for a last-resort shrink, this is it. If he can't help you, you are screwed.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Slightam, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Normandy Park, WA.

Doctor

Dr. Brian Maclurg

33 years experience

3.8 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Kristina Purganan

7 years experience

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Joy Zhao

20 years experience

3.8 of 5