Dr. John Southerland MD Patient Reviews

  • Gastroenterology Sarasota, FL

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 42 patient ratings
  • 16 comments

Last 12 months:

2.9 (-1.0)

42 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    60%
  • Great
    5%
  • Good
    12%
  • Poor
    10%
  • Bad
    14%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 13.6 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
March 17th, 2017
highly disappointed
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have severe U.C, he diagnosed me and for every flare he'd always put me on prednisone, causing sever depression, and now have osteoporosis, never gave me more treatment options, never listened to me as a patient, I usually always saw his PA which I love but him as a DR I rarely saw. I switched Gi asap.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 17th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The best and brightest gastro Dr in town. He never makes you feel rushed, hurried, listens, never trivializes. He thinks through everything and is n incredible diagnostician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 26th, 2016
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
One of the kindest, most considerate, compassionate and just nicest doctors I have ever met. I am an R.N graduate of the Mass. General Hospital, so I know of what I speak. I highly recommend him.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 9th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Southerland is so kind and his bedside manner is amazing. My first colonoscopy ever and he was the best along with the hospital staff he works with at SMHS. His office staff could be a little nicer, but better than most. Good luck getting an appointment, he is that good!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
April 15th, 2015
What happened to ability to follow through?
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never had to deal with such ineptness in a doctor's support staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2015
Excellent! Committed to being part of the solution in Medicine
Wonderful man, kind, caring and knowledgeable. Listens. What more could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 31st, 2014
Don't have anything done until Billing is clarified
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Southerland is excellent but his billing department fails the grade. I decided not to continue with him because his billing could not/ would not tell me how much my costs will be. Don't get caught by them!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 6th, 2013
crem de la crem
Wait time
25 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I haven't seen him in a couple of years but he is tops. He is smart, lets you speak and actually listens. Great sense of humor if you need that. I will always see him as long as I am no more than a couple hours away. I have things wrong with me that is gastro but is caused from an autoimmune disease. So there is not much that can be done other then meds for lupus. He is great with colonoscopies and you don't even remember a thing! Pain and fear free. wish nothing but the best for Dr Southerland.

1.0 of 5
May 23rd, 2012
follow up
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
2 weeks after procedure and no follow up with results
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
December 22nd, 2011
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Appropriate Follow-up
Office staff in inept.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 21st, 2011
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had fear of seeing a gastroenterlogist based on a very bad experience with another local doctor. Dr.S. put all my fears to rest and made me feel absolutlely comfortable in my appointments. So happy I have found a doc I can put my trust back in.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 8th, 2011
Best doctor in Sarasota
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is the best at bedside manners. He doesn't make you sound or look stupid when you talk to him. He really is a great doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Southerland, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Sarasota, FL.