Dr. John Whalen MD Patient Reviews

  • Orthopedic Surgery Albany, NY

Overall Rating

2.5
  • 27 patient ratings
  • 6 comments

Last 12 months:

1.0 (-1.5)

27 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    22%
  • Great
    7%
  • Good
    11%
  • Poor
    15%
  • Bad
    44%
  • Wait Time 25 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
October 2nd, 2016
Must have skipped the "bedside manner" course
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Like interacting with a robot. His pre-op and post-op visits lasted 60 seconds each, max. No interest in answering questions. I had to look up most of my concerns on the Internet. OrthoNY---never again!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 24th, 2016
Don't be late
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Spends Time with Patients
Don't be late for your appointment - they will NOT see you. I was 20 min late. Despite struggling to get out of the house, driving from an hour and got a little lost. I was in extreme pain and crying from my sciatica, he would NOT see me. Didn't even come out of office. Put that in consideration for what his compassion might be.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 27th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you want a warm, and fuzzy dr. dont see dr Whalen. However, if you want an excellent surgeon who has made my life live able again, then go immediately!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
June 17th, 2015
Terrible
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Whalen is a waste of time. He was unhelpful, rude, did not ask anything about my situation or pain or quality of life. Many of the doctors at Ortho NY have nothing to offer beyond surgery or needles. I have given up going to anyone in this practice.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 26th, 2014
Office visit
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Staff qualify as complete incompetent morons.If have an idiot of an IQ you most likely be working in his office heading it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 20th, 2011
stay away from him
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr.whalen performed a cervical spinal fusion in 2006 levels c6-7 I woke up in more pain then I went in with. The surgery failed and the disc above it herniated. I had another surgery with him in 2007 and that one failed also. It is now 2011 and I have had chronic pain since 2006. Dr.whalen ruined my life . Stay far far away from him if you want to have a good quality of life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 17th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 13th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 13th, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up

4.0 of 5
May 20th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 12th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 19th, 2016
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Whalen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Albany, NY.