The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Upshaw Jr Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Upshaw Jr?

Ratings and Reviews

15 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
39 min
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Accurate Diagnosis

Showing 15 Ratings with 6 Comments

1.0 Rating

April 26th, 2016

Negligent

I wouldn't bring my dog to this man... He only assumes that test are done correctly instead of making sure... When someone's life is in your hands, you don't make assumptions... YOU MAKE SURE Test are DONE CORRECTLY THE FIRST TIME !!!!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

February 24th, 2016

The doctor repeatedly scratched and rearranged his private area while he was telling me the findings of his exam. I found this very unsettling.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 19th, 2015

Dr. Upshaw, my life saver

Highly recommended, wonderful physician.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 18th, 2015

Poor!!!

Can't believe that someone would make you wait that long and not even apologize. And he didn't do any surgeries today! Will never return!!!!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.7 Rating

October 31st, 2013

office visit

My husband went for a consultation and Dr Upshaw asked questions and patiently listened to our concerns and gave us satisfying answers. my husband have a followup appointment for some tests,

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 16th, 2013

Horrible experience

Had to BEG him to do tests due to repeated infections, kept blaming them on incontinence pads. Finally decided to do a scope, and blurted out, you have cancer! I did not expect to see that! Rushed through the rest of the appointment, and then put biopsy off for over a MONTH! Then when tried to get a second opinion, the staff was rude, and LOST THE CHART! Took a WEEK to get the file sent where we asked. Will NEVER EVER refer someone there.

Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

4.0 Rating

May 4th, 2016

3.0 Rating

March 6th, 2016

5.0 Rating

February 19th, 2016

3.0 Rating

January 29th, 2016

Wait time
56 minutes
Promptness
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me

5.0 Rating

December 11th, 2015

5.0 Rating

May 26th, 2015

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Upshaw Jr is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Lake Charles, LA.

  • Dr. Stacy Mcbroom

    Dr. Stacy Mcbroom

    Urology

    Lake Charles, LA 0 mi

    24
  • Dr. John Melton III

    Urology

    Lake Charles, LA 0.22 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    48
  • Dr. Reed Fontenot Jr

    Urology

    Lake Charles, LA 0.22 mi

    48