Dr. John Vanwagoner MD Patient Reviews

  • Allergy and Immunology McKinney, TX

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

19 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    74%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    0%
  • Poor
    5%
  • Bad
    21%
  • Wait Time 9.4 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
December 31st, 2013
Love this doc
Dr. V has never been anything but caring and professional with me and my son. He has helped me develop and navigate my complex allergy and asthma treatment plan for over 2 years. I am very happy with him, Sonya, and all of his nurses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 15th, 2012
Excellent
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Van Wagoner for years and he has never been anything but caring. He has greatly improved my quality of life. He always takes plenty of time to explain things to me and is very compassionate. I have never experienced him being aloof or uncaring at all as the other reviews suggest - quite the contrary. I would and have recommended him to anybody needing help with asthma or allergies - adult or child.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 19th, 2012
Best allergist around!
Wait time
15 minutes
I LOVE this doctor. I take my 5 year old son there. We have been going since he was two. He has asthma, food allergies and had chronic unexplained vomiting. We had been seeing a GI doc for a year for the problem when "Dr. John" got to the bottom of the problem. He changed my child's medication dosage and my son hasn't had reflux vomiting since. He was the first dr. to actually care that my kid was throwing up nearly every day of his life. He is thorough friendly and intelligent. I have mentioned his name to all my son's other doctor's and they all have wonderful things to say about him and what he brings to his specialty. As for comments about him being arrogant of demeaning, I have NEVER noticed. He is the best!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
April 13th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Scheduled appointments with wrong dr. Never called back to answer questions. Don't answer phone during office hours. Charged days we didn't have appointments. Staff unable to answer questions. Gave wrong dosing information for my child. Thankfully I knew it was wrong and pointed it out to staff
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 29th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Van Wagoner has treated me for the last year for severe allergies and asthma. He has only seen me 3 times despite my continuing problems. He took me off needed medication and then claimed that my asthma is psychological!!!!!!! He has one back and forth on his treatments and diagnosis. He was terribly rude and demeaning at my last appointment. He also sent inaccurate information to my PCP!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 28th, 2011
Outstanding doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been seeing Dr. Van Wagoner for several years and have found him to be an amazing doctor. He has dramatically improved my quality of life and has always been extremely compassionate towards me. He takes his time to explain everything and never seems rushed or inconvenienced the way some doctors do. I am super picky about doctors and Dr. V is one of the very few I have encountered that I truly respect. I would and have recommended him highly to several people with no reservations at all.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 22nd, 2010
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I absolutely love this office. My son was sent Dr. Vanwagoner when he was about 2. Our first visit was a little intimidating. He said that our visit to him was long overdue. He did a very thorough evaluation and made changes to our treatment plan. We have been through many tests, labwork, etc. My son is now 7. I can honestly say that he is a different child than the one that we first took in to this office. He maintains a much healthier life now. Our whole family has a much better understanding of the immune and asthma process; and how to appropriately treat it. He seems to genuinely take an interest in what I have to say as a parent and discuss his decisions on treatment with me. He takes his time to sit down and talk to me on a level that I can understand. (at least some of the info; the immune system is a little overwhelming to me) The office staff has always been extremely courteous and professional. I am very grateful that we were referred to Dr. Vanwagoner. He has really improved my son's quality of life. I now give his name and office info to anyone I know that is having difficulty with frequent respiratory infections, bad asthma maintenance, or allergy problems that don't seem to be improving with primary care. This office can really help.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 26th, 2010
This doctor needs help with how to work with his patients
Bedside Manner
His nurse was very nice, but he was demeaning like the other person said that reviewed him. He showed my son who is 10 what good lungs look like and what bad ones look like and said my son's were bad and went on to say that he (the doctor) was lucky to not have this problem and that his own kids didn't have it either and how lucky they were. As if my poor "unlucky" son needed to hear that. I was shocked. It was like the doctor had no clue how he was making my son feel. Then he went on to say that I (the parent) was mismanaging his asthma and this was after I had been going to him for 2 years. If he wanted me to manage it better why hadn't he been a better doctor in telling me sooner. My last appt. with him before this one I didn't even get to see the doctor only a nurse. This guy has mismanaged his ego and needs to learn how to work with his patients. He made my son and I feel terrible when we left, not better!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 26th, 2010
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Van Wagoner is extremely caring and thorough. I have visited his office several times and he was takes plenty of time to address any questions or concerns I have and is available after hours if needed. I have gone to other doctors and he is by far the one I trust the most.

2.0 of 5
May 11th, 2009
Patient
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Many tests in the office that were very expensive and not sure they were worth it all
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 11th, 2009
How Disappointing for a doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
He literally asked me questions and gave me the option to say either Yes or No to them. Seemed aggravated to talk with me and treated me in demeaning manner. Told me I should see my PCP.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 12th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Vanwagoner, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near McKinney, TX.