ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Boyd Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Boyd?

Colonoscopy

Colonoscopy

Get the facts about colonoscopy, including how and why it's done and doctors who perform the procedure.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Boyd?

Ratings and Reviews

33 Ratings with 15 Comments

  • Excellent
    25
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    4
  • Excellent
    25
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    1
  • Poor
    2
  • Bad
    4

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Appropriate Followup
Wait Time
14.1 min

Showing 33 Ratings with 15 Comments

5.0 Rating

March 19th, 2016

Excellent Doctor!!!!

Dr. Boyd has an impeccable bedside manner. He is very kind and compassionate. He is also extremely knowledgeable and he takes him time to listen to any concerns you have. I went to him years ago and I will continue to see him in the future. My family member just had a procedure done by him today and he did an excellent job. He made us feel welcome and his sense of humor is a pure delight!!! A few of my friends have also gone to him and they each say the same thing. This Dr. definitely has our vote!

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 28th, 2015

I have been a long time patient of Dr John Boyd. Dr Boyd has provided exceptional care to me and has a wonderful bedside manner! I feel that without my treatment from him I would not be where I am today. Dr Boyd always takes the time to listen and address any concerns I have had since being diagnosed with ulcerative colitis. He truly cares about his patients and I feel Blessed to have him as my doctor. I would highly recommend Dr Boyd to anyone looking for a gastroenterologist.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

April 27th, 2015

Do I need a gastrointestinal specialist or do I need a nutritionalist?

I've had gastrointestinal problems for years. I've tried to explain my symptoms - I'm told it's just IBS. Okay, it's been years and years of diet changes, meds that do nothing and I'm not sure where to go or who to see next. I need a doctor that will work with me to resolve the problems I have.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 24th, 2015

Really took time with me, to explain procedure, answer any of my questions and his bedside manner was outstanding. Very kind and compassionate, doctor. Very easy to get my refills, for my medicine. I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs to see someone in his field of medicine.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 15th, 2015

Extremely good Doctor., Always recommend him to others everywhere I go.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 6th, 2015

I have been a long time patient of Dr John Boyd. Dr Boyd has provided exceptional care to me and has a wonderful bedside manner! I feel that without my treatment from him I would not be where I am today. Dr Boyd always takes the time to listen and address any concerns I have had since being diagnosed with ulcerative colitis. He truly cares about his patients and I feel Blessed to have him as my doctor. I would highly recommend Dr Boyd to anyone looking for a gastroenterologist.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 29th, 2015

Great Personal Care from Day 1

I've been going to Riverside Gastroenterology for 5 years now (my condition has me visiting quite often) and am always greeted and helped by a great staff every time I go. I first met Dr. Boyd 5 years ago when I was lying in a hospital bed trying to figure out what was wrong me. He was the doctor on call (not my doctor at the time) and re-assured me that he was going to help me get better. He came to visit me in my room everyday to check on me, get to know me, and work on getting me better. After my doctor retired I requested to be under his care. For the last three years Dr. Boyd has given me every resource I need to make well informed decisions about my care and condition. He works with me as a partner in my care and doesn't hesitate to call me directly when I have questions or trouble. When I have a visit he makes sure that I have all the time I need to communicate my condition, I have all the information I need, and makes sure we are both on the same page with my care. In this day and age of healthcare you don't find a doctor who exhibits the amount of professionalism and personal care that Dr. Boyd provides.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 3rd, 2014

LCDR USN (Ret)

He saved my life and remains my partner in medicine for the rest of it.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

April 8th, 2013

The Best!

Dr. Boyd is, hands down, the BEST physician I have ever seen. Not only is he professional and knowledgeable, he is kind, caring, and shows a great deal of concern for the patient. He is what every doctor should be. In my 67 years of life, I have seen many doctors, however, none are even a close match to Dr. Boyd.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 28th, 2012

Agree with last rating!

My feelings are the same as the last person. He is very personable and took a lot of time with me when other doctors would not. Very easy going personality and called back quickly when I was having problems. Even called the next morning to see how I was doing. I've never had a doctor do that. He truly acts like he cares what happens. I also had a colonoscopy which could not have gone better. He did diagnose a problem which 4 other doctors could not. Highly recommend him.

Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 22nd, 2011

This Doctor is the Best!

I can't believe that some of the comments I've read are about the same doctor I saw. What are they thinking? Dr. Boyd is very personable and a caring physician. He diagnosed a rather complex condition I had and is successfully treating me. I feel like a new person! He is good natured with a sense of humor, listened carefully to my symptoms and thoughts, and even called me at home to see how I was doing. He is very accessible; I could page him whenever I wanted, and he responded quickly. He is a very talented doctor with a wealth of knowledge who knows how to treat his patients. If I had to start over again, I would choose Dr. Boyd as my gastroenterologist without hesitation. He is THAT good!

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

February 6th, 2011

Helped me tremendously , would highly recommend.

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Boyd is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Newport News, VA.

  • Dr. William Hackworth

    Dr. William Hackworth

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Newport News, VA 0.01 mi

    5.0
    (7)
    10
  • Dr. Ray James Jr

    Dr. Ray James Jr

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Newport News, VA 0.01 mi

    4.3
    (11)
    37
  • Dr. Frederick Gessner

    Dr. Frederick Gessner

    Gastroenterology, Internal Medicine

    Newport News, VA 0.01 mi

    4.1
    (26)
    32