The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Nelson Is this you?

Filter Reviews

50 Ratings • 18 Comments

3.2
  • 16
  • 8
  • 6
  • 7
  • 13

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
27.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Nelson?

Showing 12 of 50 Ratings

Bad experiance

Posted on July 6th, 2016

Have been to clinic only twice. First visit was good. Second was very bad right off the bat, they didn't know why I was there. Then after I told them they realized the referral paper had not been submitted from the first visit. Then he had the nerve to get lippy with me trying to defend the error. So basically my insurance paid for a visit that I got nothing out of, complete waste of time. Few weeks later I got referral for back injections and got the call from staff to arrange date and time. Never no mention that I had to fast before the procedure. So there I was on time and ready, only to be told I had to reschedule because I ate an orange earlier. Then he again defended his staff, He really needs to reevaluate his staff especially the rude one they hide in the back who answers phones. Some bed side manners wouldn’t hurt from him either. Lastly if you call and get voice mail which is 75% of the time, the message will say they will try get back to you in 3 days. I ended up getting another referral to another clinic. Also reported the wasted visit to my insurance company, thought they should know how he does business. They were also very disturbed by the practice, and would evaluate it more, and consider removing him from their referral list.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on May 10th, 2016

The only problem I have is they don't call you back or.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

HORRIBLY TREATED, listen to the real reviews, and not the 5 star reviews made by him and his staff putting patients down for begging for relief from pain! Treats you like a drug head, and very rude. Overcharges and makes things up to get money! RUN AWAY

Posted on January 25th, 2016

I saw Nelson several years ago, amd I waited over 3 hours for my appointment! He treated me like all I wanted was drugs, when I was asking for alternative path, non narcotic. Went to my appointment, and he was gone! Moved and didn't tell me! As for his staff obviously making posts about people breaking the rules, etc. just to make the people in severe chronic pain look bad........that should show you right there what a bad doctor and staff this joint is! I never broke ANY rules. I showed up on time. I took my medication as directed. I even asked his permission before taking ibuprofen! RUN AWAY FAST, LISTEN TO THESE REVIEWS! He, and his staff which keeps changing just like his location, treated my wife and I like all we wanted was drugs, when all I wanted was pain relief! Find a doctor who cares about his patients, and NOT HOW FAT HE CAN MAKE HIS WALLET OFF PEOPLE! RUN HARD AND FAST AWAY FROM THIS DOCTOR!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on January 21st, 2016

Aloof and uncaring. Office run like a billing machine patient mill

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

I freaking love Dr. Nelson

Posted on January 14th, 2016

All these bad reviews are probably from people that have broken the "rules" of pain management! Dr. Nelson is one of the best doctors I've ever been to. He got me to stop smoking because he actually cares about his patients and smoking makes back issues worse!! He is NOT a pill pushing doctor!! If you abide by the contract that you sign he helps you and your pain. It's that simple. I highly recommend Dr. Nelson!!

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on January 4th, 2016

The best

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

One Star

Posted on August 14th, 2015

I can't believe this doctor is still practicing. Stay far away from him. He just keeps moving from state to state and I will keep paying attention to warn people. he was kicked out of my state and under investigation he needs to stay away from medicine he's bad news.

Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Enter at your own risk

Posted on February 3rd, 2014

I have had 4 back surgerys. I was refered to Nelson from another dr. The whole time I seen him my pain was out of control. He accused me of taking a medication that was not precribed to me. I looked in disbelief and it was someone elses UA results! Wow. One mistake after another after another. Poor bedside manners and his office personal is nothing to be desired.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Wonderful Doctor

Posted on September 15th, 2013

Dr Nelson has been a God Send for my 18 year old daughter. He listened, made no assumptions about her and relieved her pain. Every other doctor takes a look at her and says " she's 18 and to pretty to have anything seriously wrong with her" what a crock of poo. How beautiful or unattractive a young woman is has NO BEARING on he health. Dr Nelson is the smartest most compassionate dr. we have ever known. Fantastic. His staff is a little inefficient but that would NEVER stop us from seeing a brilliant dr.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Very discourteous office & Dr.

Posted on March 29th, 2012

I went with my husband on all but 2 visits to Dr. Nelson. He paid no attention to our questions and was at times rude. We were referred to him for a pain pump implant and to be able for my husband to stop taking pain meds. The trial was fantastic!! Took last pain pill the morning of surgery in December, 2011. Pain pump was put in and my husband has been in the most pain since then. We made numerous visits to get an adjustment, only to be told there would not be one. Dr. said all my husband wanted was drugs. We did not want oral meds, just wanted the pain pump to work. Last visit we were told the setting was higher than the trial medication & he was to arrange a procedure to have a dye test. This has been 3 weeks ago and not a word since. Had pump monitored yesterday by a Medtronic rep, pump is totally dry and set on the lowest setting possible. Dr. Nelson is a pain management Dr.? He has done nothing but manage to keep my husband's pain level at an all time high. Get someone else that wants to help people and it is not Dr. Nelson. With regard to the staff, very unprofessional and rude. Phone calls are not returned and in looking at our statements we have been invoiced for procedures that were not done.

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Five Stars

Posted on November 2nd, 2011

Dr. Nelson is direct and to the point, which I love. He is on a mission to find exactly what is wrong, make a diagnosis and then find a solution. I would HIGHLY recommend him!!

Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Just dont understand this guy

Posted on July 18th, 2011

Overall it wasnt a bad visit....but it will be my only visit....I will find a new doctor.....It took me 9 phone calls to get my appointment....once I got in and waited forever...I was tossed out quick with my next appointment in two weeks....I feel like this is a mill....money pit without results. Sorry guys but just cant let everyone fall subject to this place.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Nelson is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Oklahoma City, OK.