ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. John Sperling Is this you?

Filter Reviews

21 Ratings • 6 Comments

3.6
  • 10
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1
  • 5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
24.4 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. John Sperling?

Showing 12 of 21 Ratings

Dr Sperling is Awesome!!

Posted on April 20th, 2017

Dr Sperling is an excellent communicator and a phenomenal surgeon. The guy treats you like a friend!!

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Be weary

Posted on September 15th, 2016

After a month and a half of anticipation for my appointment with Dr. Sperling, I could not have been more disappointed in how it went. After a 3 hour drive, I quickly got in to get the x-ray he suggested, and after a short wait, I was led into his waiting room by his "assistant." If we were to rate his assistant, a 1 star would be too generous. This man would ask me questions, and cut me off in the middle of my response just to ask me something else. He did not care about my response 1 bit, he just had to list off these questions as quick as possible before he waddled out of the room in his pastel colored suit like an absolute clown. Then shortly after, Dr. Sperling came into the room. He had me remove my shirt and do 3 very elementary movements before asking me where the pain was. After I pointed to the spot on my back, he said that area was more scapular and he did not work on that area... I sent copies of my MRI, CT, X-Ray, as well as notes from previous physicians a month in advance. All of which stated how my pain was scapular. And to top it off Dr. Sperling claimed he read my file! So he either made me drive 6 hours for a 5 minute appointment just to tell me he doesn't work with the scapula, or he is a liar. He might be a decent doctor if your symptoms happen to be something he is qualified to work on, but unless you live in Rochester and have time and money to waste, I would avoid him at all cost.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Experience

Posted on June 28th, 2016

Wow, I saw a well known, Deroit area Orthopedist numerous times, and he performed 3 surgeries on my shoulder. I was still in serious pain. I went to my family doc who suggested I see Dr Sperling at Mayo Clinic. He agreed to fix it, got my surgery scheduled and I when it was over I felt so much better and was able to go home and to sleep. This is an amazing doctor!

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Patient

Posted on March 26th, 2013

I won't return to him. I've been treated at Mayo Rochester for about seven years and continue with them because of the Mayo Ethic and Mayo Model. In my opinion, this doctor doesn't chose to abide with the level of cares I've found to exist in nearly every other department. My office visits with him were short < 3 minutes, which I thought were insultive. He didn't spend time explaining much, just that it could be fixed. I found it rude. There's much better at Mayo.

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Long way for Nothing

Posted on October 11th, 2012

Went to Dr Sperling to find the cause of my shoulder pain. Even though my referral was made 2 months in advance- he did not appear to have read any of the information. I drove 800 mies to have 1 X-ray and for dr sperling o tell me it's not my shoulder. I had to BEG him to send me somewhere else. He sighed and rolled his eyes at me... He finally referred me to pain management. He was basically rude, uncaring, and very put out. I thought the Mayo clinic had a standard of care... This guy was awful !

Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Great Mayo clinic shoulder specialist

Posted on October 5th, 2011

Overall, Dr. Sperling is a very smart and resourceful physician. I felt completely comfortable during my office visits and after my surgery. He has good assistants and residents that work with him. If he couldn't be there to answer my questions, he made sure that someone from his team was available. It's hard to get in to see him at first, but my follow up visits are much easier to schedule. I would highly recommend Dr. Sperling to anyone who has shoulder problems.

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

Four Stars

Posted on October 23rd, 2017

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on September 21st, 2017

Five Stars

Posted on December 10th, 2016

Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Full Review Rating Breakdown

Five Stars

Posted on November 18th, 2016

Five Stars

Posted on June 28th, 2016

One Star

Posted on June 21st, 2016

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. John Sperling is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Rochester, MN.