Dr. John Weinstein MD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry Garden Grove, CA

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 22 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

3.7 (+ 0.5)

22 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    50%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    9%
  • Bad
    36%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 44.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
December 8th, 2016
Ridiculous Waste of Time
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Horrible Absolutely Horrible my experience with this Psychiatrist, If I can rate this as a 0 I would and here are my reasons below: 1. With all due respect, His secretary is honestly an airhead. As soon as we get there to the place for our 1st appt. I get a call saying that the doctor can't see you today. What happened to 24 hour advance notification? Yet, if we do this my credit card gets the heat. I'm upset and I go to the office and have a discussion with his secretary, and all she does is laugh like this is some kind of joke and makes a new appointment. Real professional not even an apology.. 2. After coming for the new appt. we had to wait 1 hour 30 mins. just to be told that "we don't take new patients" "I don't know what you're doing here" "who are you" in the rudest on manner. Me trying to be nice and professional I kept my anger low, and did my best to establish some dialogue to figure out what's happening. The Dr. W didn't seem to care what we had said he then took off arguing with his secretary and putting the blame on her. 3. I missed two days of work, wasted my time, was treated rudely and disrespectfully from both the Dr. W and his asian secretary, my kids missed school twice, wasted on gas $$, and they think we're playing around or this is a joke.. My kid needs some serious help and it's not like I'm getting any of these services free I'm paying for them. I do not recommend this place to anyone else. I'm positively sure there are better suited doctors than this jerk, so please don't waste your money or time. If you have any questions you are more than welcome to email.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 2nd, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Can't keep an appointment.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 5th, 2015
Discrimination and unprofessional Doctor.
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr John R. Weinstein is a very unprofessional and arrogant doctor. He has no respect and discriminate patient base on their insurance coverage. He doesn't care how much time the patient spent on waiting. Minimum waiting time is one hour and 30 mins, even though patient is already scheduled and arrive 15 mins prior to the scheduled time. Every visit in his clinic, we usually spent two to four hours, before my patient is seen. In this recent visit, my patient was the next in line, but he called the patient behind us who has arrived in just 30 mins. I called his attention that we've been there prior to this patient, but he just responded in a rude manner, "I will not argue with you". Seems that he has favoritism and discriminate his own patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
February 26th, 2015
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. John weinstain, was not able to help my 6 year old son. Said my son was to loud in he's office and clients were complaining which that was a lie. Also mention he was bothered during he's vacations regarding my son. Dr. Weinstein clearly told me couldn't work with patients like my son . I left his office crying.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
October 9th, 2014
Worst MD Experience Ever
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
If you want to spend all of your time in the waiting room, by all means, go see this man. 2 plus hours behind, and they scheduled me on a day when he sees his "patients from the group home". Boy, was that a treat. Screaming, adult diapers, helmets, swearing...it was like "One Flew Over the Cukoo's Nest". When I FINALLY saw him, he had a sporting event on his radio the ENTIRE TIME! Wow, thanks for listening! In the end, he did absolutely nothing to help me, and basically pawned me back off on a previous physician. A huge waste of time, and a downright creepy experience. STAY FAR AWAY!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 15th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
not a place to go if u want to get somewhere else on time! appts r ridicules .. call backs are ridiculas. he is ridiculas! not knowledgable on a psych med i wanted.. had to google it during our visit!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 5th, 2013
A Professional and Compassionate Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been his Patient for 10 years and he is straight forward of what are my options are and how I can proceed with my medications. His staff is very courteous and helpful they will go for an extra mile to help you if they can. I know the wait is long at times if there are severe patients before me, I don't mind waiting because he is the doctor that is worth waiting for.

5.0 of 5
March 19th, 2012
Excellent and Professional Doctor
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have seen this doctor and have been very frank what are my options are and very thorough with the medications, he is not a type of doctor that will see you for 5 minutes and give you the prescription. Staff are reliablle and very courteous, will go for an extra mile to help you. They even help me with the prior authorization with my medication to be covered by my insurance. There is no enough words to desribe how excellent the doctor is and his staff.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2011
He is the best Doctor
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Weinstein is very thorough doctor. He is on the ball when it comes to diagnosis and medication. His office also helps me with the patient assistance program in order for me to save money on my medication. The Doctor so with his staff have professionalism and treats you with respect. Many patients complain of the wait but he is the doctor that is worth waiting for.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 20th, 2010
Expert Psychaiatrist
Wait time
40.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Weinstein is a true expert in this field. He is precise in his meds and also can make the patient feel comforatable enough to share symptoms, which is the hardest part. He knows more than other dr's who just write up prescriptions without taking the time to hear your story. Everyone complains that the wait is too long. It is usually long, but worth the wait. He has made such a dramtic difference for several people I know. He also referred us to an outstanding clinical trial which saved us thousands & thousands of dollars in office visits and meds. Can't say enough good stuff about him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
April 19th, 2010
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The scheduling is atrocious. We have waited over TWO HOURS on three occasions and the wait time is the topic of conversation between all of the waiting patients.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 26th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Weinstein, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Garden Grove, CA.