Dr. John Winkelman MD, PHD Patient Reviews

  • Psychiatry Lexington, MA

Overall Rating

3.2
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 8 comments

Last 12 months:

2.0 (-1.2)

15 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    40%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    7%
  • Poor
    33%
  • Bad
    20%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 22.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
January 28th, 2014
Mediocre at best
Unfortunately this doctors degrees and titles do not translate into good care. He is not attentive or even professional when it comes to patients. He lacks medical insight, is a poor diagnostician and lazy when it comes to record keeping. Dr Winkelmans main interest is on serving on boards and panels of numerous pharmacuetical companies at the expense of being a clinician.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 26th, 2013
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have suffered for many years with RLS. Saw many doctors and neurologists who couldn’t help me. He helped me on the first visit. A true EXPERT in RLS. Probably the best there is for the treatment of RLS.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
December 3rd, 2012
Not a great bedside manner Dr. Winkleman has.
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 28th, 2011
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
First visit resulted in excellent first impression. I anticipate positive results.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 15th, 2011
Dr. Winkelan in Psychotherapy
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Regretfully, I believe Dr. Winkelman no longer sees individual patients. It appears I was one of the last in 2006. I saw him for about ten years on a weekly basis. He was the first to accurately diagnose me with Bipolar 2 Disorder, and to medicate me appropriately. In psychotherapy, Dr. Winkelman established the core of clinical behavioral psychotherapy concepts and behavioral learning in my daily life. I continue to use these skills to establish and maintain a stable life. The acid test of our work together was the end of an important relationshiip. I was able to maintain a stable daily routine in transitioning out of the relationship, and to apply my learned skills in establishing a new life.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
January 23rd, 2011
Capable, knowledgeable reserved
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have a complex combination of sleep disorders, depression. and multiple medical problems. He is able to integrate these issues in our appointments and make useful suggestions and referrals. Although he is quite reserved, he does seem to care.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 12th, 2010
Friendly and Professional
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
This doctor showed compassion for my medical difficulties and explained testing procedures thoroughly. Dr. Winkelman showed patience in explaining the diagnosis or test results, and his recommendations in simple terms. He took the time to answer my questions in a polite and respectful manner.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 28th, 2010
Gold digger
Wait time
50.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Just two words - incompetent and uncaring.

2.0 of 5
July 5th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
July 5th, 2017

2.0 of 5
June 9th, 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 27th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Winkelman, MD, PHD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Lexington, MA.