Dr. John Zinkel MD, PHD, FACS Patient Reviews

  • Neurological Surgery Saint Clair Shores, MI

Overall Rating

4.5
  • 56 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

4.4 (-0.1)

56 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    82%
  • Great
    2%
  • Good
    5%
  • Poor
    2%
  • Bad
    9%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 20.5 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
August 24th, 2015
Wait time
50 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
arrogant, took 3 phone alls in the 15 min I was there, after waiting 45 min past my appointment time.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 24th, 2015
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Zinkel was excellent with me after a test he did on my back he personally called me the next day to see how I was doing.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 23rd, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Zinkel is a very good Doctor who operated on me twice, once for lumbar and also for cervical. The cervical one was the most important as I was close to becoming paralized and did not even know it. My spinal cord was very restricted. He was great as well as his staff. I would trust this man with my life, and I did. A very down to earth guy too!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 15th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very good
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 15th, 2014
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Zinkel is my favorite Dr. He is without doubt the best I have encountered in his field. He has performed two separate spinal surgeries for stenosis in 5 different areas of my back. Surgeries were done with no after problems. Two - Three week recovery from his minimally invasive procedure and I was back to doing most things. Pain gone and life back to normal both times. I have recommended him to many other back pain sufferers and will continue to do so. He is a miracle worker. He spent all the time I wanted explaining things and answering my questions and even called me at home in the evenings each time to discuss MRI's in more detail. Couldn't ask for a better experience or a better professional.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2014
A Skillful, Confident, Talented Professional
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I suffered all summer of 2014 with bad stenosis in L 4 & 5. My quality of life was diminishing by the week. The pain, numbness, tingling, you name it, in my left leg had progressed to the bottom of my foot. I learned of Dr. Zinkel from an ER visit for my lower back and leg. I followed up with him. Here's what I think: My life is back! This guy cured my condition. And I mean completely! He's a first rate surgeon and scientist. At the first visit / consultation, he showed me my MRI, told me what he thinks should be done, why it was necessary, that my condition had progressed beyond holistic and non-invasive procedures, answered all my questions, was a professional through and through. So is his staff by the way. And he fixed me! My life is back. I'm back to work in 4 weeks, walking, moving, living absolutely pain free. My 81-year-old mother, it turns out, has painful stenosis. I told her to see Zinkel. I am taking her to see Zinkel. I would trust him working on my kids. If this guy were a pitcher in the major leagues, he'd have been Greg Maddox: a skillful, confident, talented professional, one of the best ever.

5.0 of 5
October 9th, 2012
I love this dr he found my problem that the other neurosurgon could not.
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 6th, 2012
Worst Doctor I've ever run across
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He has an God complex. I can not express my distain for a doctor who simple would not allow a patient the opportunity to express their health history. He does not possess the necessary attributes to empathize with a patient.Get a second opinion.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 26th, 2011
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I had spinal fusion surgery after suffering for 7 years, and other docs telling me they could help me but wouldnt because I was too young(39). Had it not been for this Doctor I would have never gotten my life back. Eternally Grateful
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 30th, 2011
the best
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
one of the best in the Detroit area would recomend him to any one
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
July 6th, 2011
THE BEST IN HIS FIELD. I WOULDN'T GO ANYWHERE ELSE!
Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Z is the best neurosurgeon in Michigan, maybe in the U.S.! I've had two back operations, both successful and pain free. Dr. Z doesn't allow his patients to be in pain. You are given very precise instructions, oral and written, when you have surgery. He makes sure he covers all the bases before he operates. He explains everything to you and your spouse. You bring copies of your x-rays, MRI's, CT scans, etc. and he reads them in the office. He also brings them into the room to review with you. His staff is great, friendly and helpful. If you are having back problems and are not getting relief, go see Dr. Zinkel. I guarantee he will fix it for you!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 17th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. John Zinkel, MD, PHD, FACS is similar to these 3 Doctors near Saint Clair Shores, MI.