ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jonathan Ellant Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jonathan Ellant?

Diabetic Macular Edema

Diabetic Macular Edema

Get the facts about diabetic macular edema, including the different types and the doctors and specialists who treat it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jonathan Ellant?

Ratings and Reviews

19 Ratings with 7 Comments

  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5
  • Excellent
    11
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    2
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    5

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments
Wait Time
23 min
Appropriate Followup

Showing 19 Ratings with 7 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 21st, 2017

Excellent surgeon

Dr. Ellant performed surgery to repair a detached retina and explained everything and performed the surgery. I had no pain during the procedure and follow up exams were very good. Highly recommended.

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 5th, 2017

Best Ophthalmologist in NYC

Dr. Ellant is not only excellent in his practice but have a heart of Gold. He is very caring, and takes time to listen to your concerns. I am very satisfied with my treatment and highly recommend him.

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

January 20th, 2017

Very Pleased with Dr. Ellant's expertise and approach

went to Dr. Ellant after numerous attempts with a different doctor to solve my dry eye issues. He appears to know a LOT! impressed with his effortless demeaonor

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

June 18th, 2015

Needs improvement

Unimpressed, office could be more sanitary.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

January 23rd, 2015

This eye doc is too busy for new patients!

I booked my appointment a week in advance through ZocDoc and just before my appointment, "Rosie" calls me to cancel it because the doctor is "pretty booked" and if it is an emergency she can see what she can do. She did not even offer the opportunity to reschedule my appointment. This doctor apparently does not value new business and/or is greedy and overbooks his calendar. Luckily doctors are plentiful in NYC, find another one!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 27th, 2012

I don't understand the high scores

I visited Dr. Ellant after a recommendation from a friend. I do not think the high ratings are justified. I had to wait 45 minutes for the doctor to see me. Once I was in his office he spent the most 10 minutes with me rushing me out for his next patient. He was not able to diagnose my problem with 100% accuracy and prescribed me some medication which his stuff forgot to submit to my pharmacy until the next day ( and even though they reassured me they would do it immediately following my appointment). He made sure however to try and convince me to have lasics, because according to him wearing glasses is not comfortable!I booked a new appointment for two weeks later (because Dr. Ellant wanted to see if I reacted to the medication) and one day before our appointment I got a call from his secretary that he had to cancel because he had to leave the office early. No professionalism and no courtesy. I am never going back again and I am taking my business somewhere where I feel more appreciated and treated with respect.

Wait time
45.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 12th, 2009

Very unprofessional and discourteous

I booked a routine eye exam with Dr. Ellant as I haven't had my eyes checked in years. I called my insurance company ahead of time to make sure an eye exam performed by an ophthalmologist was covered and they confirmed that it was covered 100%. As is the case with all physicals, routine exams, etc, I was asked for medical history, so I told Dr. Ellant I have had migraines most of my life. He billed me for "treating" my migraines when he performed a routine exam and my insurance company now will not cover the appointment. I called Dr. Ellant and he was very rude, saying that he never performs routine exams even though that is what I booked with his receptionist. This doctor must care more about money than his patients. With the hundreds of doctors in the city, not worth seeing one that will rip you off.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

August 22nd, 2017

5.0 Rating

June 5th, 2017

1.0 Rating

January 30th, 2017

4.0 Rating

March 9th, 2016

5.0 Rating

July 9th, 2015

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jonathan Ellant is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. Frank Accardi

    Ophthalmology

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.3
    (22)
    38
  • Dr. Connie Dimari

    Dr. Connie Dimari

    Ophthalmology

    New York, NY 0 mi

    4.3
    (11)
    37
  • Dr. Emil Chynn

    Ophthalmology

    New York, NY 0.10 mi

    4.1
    (72)
    25