Dr. Jonathan Ply MD Patient Reviews

  • Ophthalmology Murrells Inlet, SC

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 30 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

3.2 (-0.7)

30 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    67%
  • Great
    3%
  • Good
    3%
  • Poor
    3%
  • Bad
    23%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 13.1 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

1.0 of 5
May 19th, 2017
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
It seemed every procedure had a follow up procedure. I believe the new Crystal lens are not worth the cost. I have not had the outcome I was lead to believe they would have. It was a very bad experience.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 15th, 2017
Do not trust with your vision
Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He did my LASIK surgery and assured me that I had 1 year to have a correction if either eye was still blurry. I asked for my left eye to be redone because it was very blurry within a few months. Dr. Ply refused and said that both eyes work together to see 1 image. I argued, but he refused to honor how word. I went to DMV to renew my license and failed the eye exam. Dr. Ply wants to pay full price to fix the left eye now. He refuses to fix his mistake. I also have to pay full price for an eye exam there. This practice is very greedy.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 25th, 2016
Great Outcome
I knew I had cataracts because my vision was decreasing and I was told a couple of years ago I would likely need cataract surgery. Several of my friends went to Dr. Ply and got really good results, so I gave him a try. Very professional and caring office and Doctor. he explained to me what I had and my different options for treatment very clearly. the surgery was done right there and was super easy. my vision became really clear almost overnight, and I am so happy with the way that I see now. I owe Dr. Ply a lot of gratitude - he has helped my get the vision i never had but always wanted! What a difference to in my overall life quality!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
March 16th, 2016
Beware
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
BEWARE, BEWARE, BEWARE. Dr. Ply of Atlantic Eye in Murrels Inlet, SC., performed three procedures on each of my eyes in December, 2015. He claimed I had cataracts in both eyes. HIGHLY suggested I have the laser astigmatism procedure even though I was diagnosed with Keratoconus which I later discovered that laser surgery should never be done on those with this problem. He touted the Crystalens as the best option. My out of pocket expenses totaled $7,781. My vision is now worse than before. He tried talking me into another procedure to help correct the problem. Again, another $700, out of pocket expense. I saw two other eye specialists who stated the procedure was unnecessary. It appears Dr. Ply and Atlantic Eye talk patients into receiving procedures that are expensive and most likely highly profitable. Be highly skeptical of this Physician. Once he removes a cataract there is no way to determine if it was necessary. The Bosch and Lomb Crystal Lens is expensive and very, very seldom lives up to its hype. Most surgeons will contest to this. The Cyrstal lens leaves the individual seeing halos and still in need of reader lens. Seek help elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 30th, 2013
Great Ophthalmologist
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
The office is beautiful, staff was friendly, Dr Ply really helped me. I had really poor vision due to cataracts and now I see 20/20 without glasses! He is very skilled and I love my Crystalenses
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2013
Great Dr
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
His expertise is excellent at fixing all kinds of vision problems. Dr Ply is dedicated ,knowledgable, and a caring pleasant physician

5.0 of 5
August 4th, 2011
I wouldn't go anywhere else!
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Ply and his staff are true professionals. They have taken care of my eyes for a couple of years now and I couldn't be happier!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2011
patient
Wait time
15.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Really good experience by an excellent Doctor and staff.He accurately diagnosed and treated several eye conditions that other doctors could not.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 25th, 2011
Patient
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very knowledgable and skillful Doctor.He diagnosed and treated me for multiple eye problems. My husband had lasik with him and is very pleased also.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
October 28th, 2010
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have never had a bad experience with Dr. Ply or his staff. I have had a couple of eye emergencies and they saw me right away (and never made me feel like a bother). They even thanked me! I highly recommend this doctor and his staff!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 19th, 2009
See This Doctor!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Dr Ply is a caring and very skilled physician.I went to him after other doctors made things worse, and he was able to accurately diagnose my condition and to fix it quickly and painlessly.I highly recommend him!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 9th, 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Jonathan Ply, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Murrells Inlet, SC.