Dr. Joo-Hyung Lee MD Patient Reviews

  • Rheumatology Orange, CA

Overall Rating

4.0
  • 20 patient ratings
  • 14 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.0)

14 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    70%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    20%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 12.2 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
April 7th, 2016
Professional and caring
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is very caring, takes the time to explain the condition and the medicine he is recomending also the side effects if and the benefits.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
May 13th, 2015
Extremely rude and Harsh! do not waste your time or money!
I SAW THIS DOCTOR TO CONSULT FOR LUPUS/FIBROMYALGIA/AUTO IMMUNE CONDITIONS. HE TREATED ME LIKE I WAS CRAZY(I HAVE A 20 YEAR HISTORY OF AUTOIMMUNE CONDITIONS). HE WAS VERY CONDESCENDING AND TALKED TO ME LIKE I WAS NUTS-EVEN TOLD ME THAT I NEEDED PSYCHIATRIC CARE! I WAS FLOORED AND I TOO WANTED TO DECK HIM! I CAME TO HIM BECAUSE I WAS IN A LOT OF PAIN AND WANTED TO KNOW IF SOMETHING MORE WAS GOING ON SINCE MY RECENT BOUT WITH THYROID CANCER; IG: LUPUS, ECT... HE DID NOT SHOW ONE OUNCE OF COMPASSION-NOR DID HE CARE ABOUT MY LEGITIMATE CONCERNS! WHEN I CAME BACK TO SEE HIM TO RECEIVE MY BLOOD TESTS RESULTS, I CONFRONTED HIM ON HIS ATTITUDE-I WAS POLITE BUT TOLD HIM I WOULD NEVER TALK TO SOMEBODY AND TREAT THEM LIKE THEY ARE A MENTAL CASE, ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY HAVE WELL DOCUMENTED CONDITIONS! HE DID NOT SAY A WORD-NOT SORRY OR ANYTHING-HE JUST STARED AT ME! WHAT A JERK! HE IS BY FAR ONE OF THE WORST DOCTORS THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN-I WOULD NOT EVEN BRING MY DOG TO HIM! THE STAFF WAS NOT VERY FRIENDLY NEITHER! DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME OR MONEY WITH THIS DUDE-HE IS CLEARLY JUST IN IT FOR THE MONEY! AWFUL HUMAN BEING-COLD HEARTED!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
October 13th, 2014
Arrogant, Rude, and Punctual
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After receiving an accurate diagnosis and treatment from a Hoag Rheumatologist, my employer switched our insurance plan and I ended up with Dr. Lee. My recollection of our first consultation is as follows: He discounted my family history that is chock-full of disabling autoimmune diseases (my Mother is also a patient of his), he belittled the diagnostic work and treatment plan of my previous rheumatologist, and he told me that the visible joint damage I had (and still have) on both hands was "just fat." When I asked him about the crippling, bi-lateral knee pain and stiffness that I had also experienced, he suggested (with a straight face!) that I had injured both of my knees at some point and just hadn't realized it at the time of injury. I was furious, shocked and deeply offended by the way Dr. Lee treated me, but I couldn't afford to pay for treatment out-of-pocket, so I was stuck with him. A year later, when I had yet another debilitating and undeniably obvious flare, I was advised by my PCP to consult with Dr. Lee again. It took an abundance of self control to keep from unleashing the obscenity laden response that I REALLY wanted to give him when he looked at my broken hands and choked out a limp apology for having dismissed me the year before. He then prescribed a treatment plan that was remarkably similar to the one that was designed by my previous rheumatologist. Dr. Lee and I have been together for three years at this point, and for the most part, our relationship is cordial and functional. He does have an excellent memory of the particular issues that both my Mother and I struggle with. She receives treatment from him and his staff on a monthly basis and speaks highly of the care she is given. He is also reliably punctual.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
January 10th, 2014
Out of touch with research and reality
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
a shame that a doctor at a research school doesn't know about a medical condition described for 27 years in medical literature.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 6th, 2013
Highly recommend Dr. Lee
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been a patient of Dr. Lee's for 12+ years. He is the fourth rheumatologist I've had over the course of 30 years with RA. I drive 45 miles, one-way, to see him and will not change rheumatologists. His staff is friendly and courteous. I don't have to wait long to be seen. Dr. Lee is knowledgeable, patient and genuinely cares about me and his patients. I highly recommend Dr. Lee and feel fortunate that I stumbled on this wonderful doctor over 12 years ago!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 30th, 2013
He can't admit mistakes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
When I first went to see Dr. Lee he correctly diagnosed me with fibromyalgia. He put me on Savella when it first came on the market and it helped for the first month but then it made me very sick over a couple of years. Another doctor finally took me off it and I got better right a way. Savella cost me three years of my life. Don't let him put you on Savella! Dr. Lee couldn't admit to himself that he made a mistake and never considered taking me off it. Thanks for the misery.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 4th, 2012
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Excellent Doctor. Spent lots of time explaining things to me and answered all questions in a patient and caring manner.Felt much better after seeing such a great doctor. Has a lab there and can do the blood work and get results immediately. Better than going to a lab and waiting for them to send to the Doctor and then get results days later. I would rate this office and especially this Doctor very high.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2011
Good Bedside manners
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I saw Dr. Lee after I developed some wrist problems after having my first baby. He gave me an injection that alleviated all my pain. It's been 6 months and I haven't had to return for recurrent pain. He is gentle and has wonderful bedside manners.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 27th, 2010
Awesome
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr lee saved my life and my friends Very knowledgeable proffesional and above all caring No other doctor will do
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 18th, 2010
very happy
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Lee is treating my elderly mother-in-law. She initially saw him for a possible rheumatoid arthritis diagnosis. He ruled out r.a., but diagnosed her with fibromyalgia, which her regular doctor missed. He is very caring and thoughtful and remembers details from past visits without even looking at the chart. I like him very much and recommend him to friends.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 17th, 2010
Great Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
After being shifted around from doctor to doctor, I finally met Dr. Lee who was able to diagnose my condition. He is very knowledgeable and thorough. After many months of illness, I am feeling better on his regimen.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 29th, 2010
Thank you Dr. Lee
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I spent over 3 weeks in reverse quaranteen at a local hospital. The Doctors drew blood, took biopsies and ran tests on a daily basis. I was being tortured. I was eventually released as undiagnosed. I did much research and found Dr. Lee. He ran 5 tests and diagnosed me with Lupus in less than a couple days. I feel like he saved my life. Thank you Dr. Lee!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joo-Hyung Lee, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Orange, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Donald Mahon

34 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Hossein Alimadadian

47 years experience

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Brian Kolski

13 years experience

4.7 of 5