The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Jorge Tijmes Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jorge Tijmes?

Fibromyalgia

Fibromyalgia

Get the facts about fibromyalgia, including the symptoms and conditions that may be related to it.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Jorge Tijmes?

Ratings and Reviews

29 Ratings with 6 Comments

  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    10
  • Excellent
    15
  • Great
    1
  • Good
    3
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    10

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
40.3 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 29 Ratings with 6 Comments

5.0 Rating

May 16th, 2016

My Knee surgery was a success.

Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

May 3rd, 2016

Dr. Tijmes is an excellent doctor.

Wait time
35 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 27th, 2013

Never again!

His office sets me up for surgery after a visit at his office that took hours, he didn't even look at my broken elbow which was causing me so much pain. I go to my surgery day show up at 6 am he shows up at 2 pm then cancels my surgery at 8pm said they ran out of anesthesia. I regret going to him in the first place! He takes on more than he can handle and wasted my time!

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

July 5th, 2011

Walk don't run to another doctor!!

Unfortunately ended up with this doctor not once but twice, on two separate occasions, several years apart. The second time I tried to get another doctor but was told because it was a long week end I had no options unless I changed hospitals and went out of network. Although very dissatisfied after my first experience, I agreed. I am a nurse and should have gone with my instincts. Both surgeries have since been repaired by other doctors, but I am left with chronic pain which makes it very hard to work....although I do. When I asked for a second opinion I got referred for pain management. Trying to deal with his rude office staff to get records was almost impossible until I involved my insurance company and even then it took 4 visits when I was told they would be ready but weren't even though I phoned in advance. I saw his PA on most visits and he was the one positive note, frequently apologizing for long waits and when he heard staff be rude. I would lose my position if I ever treated a patient this way. I give doctors a lot of understanding for long hours and fatigue etc. but this goes away beyond this. Did he care, I suspect so but was rarely available to discuss problems even when I did try. One bad experience I can see but two...several years apart. Next time if there is a problem, with no other doctor, I will call my vet!!

Wait time
55.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

October 15th, 2009

My experience with Southern Bone and Joint

While I feel that Dr. Tijmes is a great surgery his staff needs more training on how to treat and deal with patients. They need to get back to the basics of respect,kindess, and courstesy. The need to have compassion and realize that these patients are recovering from severe injuries and surgeries. The seem to be heartless and uncaring! The are very rude and have no morals. I had the most difficult time just to get a perscription. The Dr. told me he would give samples but when I got to the front they told me they didnot have any and refused to even give me my prescription for orthopedic shoes. It was ridiculous an the wait was over 4 hours even with and appointment.

Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

February 5th, 2009

patient

have had a bad experience when asking for my record for a second opinion prior to surgery. felt he had something to hide.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 11th, 2017

5.0 Rating

July 11th, 2017

1.0 Rating

July 5th, 2017

5.0 Rating

February 18th, 2017

5.0 Rating

January 22nd, 2017

5.0 Rating

January 22nd, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Jorge Tijmes is similar to the following 3 Doctors near McAllen, TX.

  • Dr. Salvador Mendez

    Orthopedic Surgery

    McAllen, TX 0.83 mi

    3.4
    (9)
    44
  • Dr. Manish Lambat

    Pediatric Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery

    McAllen, TX 1.27 mi

    3.3
    (4)
    15
  • Dr. Ross Chapel

    General Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery

    McAllen, TX 1.39 mi

    2.3
    (3)