Dr. Joseph Aleo MD Patient Reviews

  • Internal Medicine Ellicott City, MD

Overall Rating

4.5
  • 15 patient ratings
  • 7 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.5)

15 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    73%
  • Great
    0%
  • Good
    20%
  • Poor
    7%
  • Bad
    0%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Wait Time 8.9 minutes
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 5th, 2016
Dr. Aleo's excellent care
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Aleo has been my primary care doctor for 10 years. He has always been caring, informative, and extremely competent. He will find time to see me in emergencies.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.0 of 5
January 25th, 2016
Good, but spread too thin
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have mixed feelings about Dr. Aleo. I've seen him for almost two decades now, and had mostly positive experiences under his care. He seems increasingly rushed as of late, though, and it has really diminished him as a primary care physician. He always seems to have one eye on the door, no longer gives me opportunities to ask questions or raise concerns, and seems almost put off when I bring up a question or concern unprompted. He'll tell me to make another appointment to look into it, but I get the distinct impression he hopes I won't. Admittance for a scheduled appointment is usually very fast. He and his staff are often very slow to follow up, though. It takes several days (and sometimes repeated attempts) to get responses to phone and Patient Portal messages. I'm grateful for the years of care Dr. Aleo has provided, but I'm probably going to go elsewhere soon. I feel like Dr Aleo and his staff are simply too busy these days.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 14th, 2011
Dr. Aleo is the Best
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Aleo for over 20 years and I can't say enough good things about him. He always has time to talk with me when I have questions, his manner is friendly and concerned, and his diagnosis is always spot on. If an issue is out of his realm of expertise, he will refer me to a specialist. I wish there were more doctors like him! He is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
August 31st, 2010
Good Doctor hampered by staff
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr Aleo is a fine doctor, although over the last few years his practice has grown so large that he always seems rushed. The staff treat patients like they are an annoyance - staff treatment ranges from a weary tolerance of patients to downright rudeness. Perhaps they are overworked as well. To get any services (such as an emergency appointment or prescription refill) one must jump through an ever-changing series of hoops. However, Dr Aleo is respectful of patient's time - in years of seeing him I have never had to wait more than a trivial amount of time. However, once he turns you over to staff for tests, bloodwork, etc - well, bring a good book!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
July 31st, 2009
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Quick to dismiss some symptoms without fully investigating yet other times is quick to order tests for symptoms. Problems arose as a result of not investigating concerns. Usually okay.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
February 11th, 2009
Why do I need a doctor if he is not there for me when I really need him the most?
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Doctor was very nice and very polite during the visit.He made a lot of promises. I was excited when I transferred to his office...I got really sick: fever over 103, tried to call - nothing, I left message - no one called back, I tried to make an appointment - even after explaining how sick I was, I've been told he was available only in a week... I ended up in ER.I though am just a bad day, but...I had another emergency - and story repeated itself in frustrating matterWhy do I need a doctor if he is not there for me when I really need him the most?It is a nightmare not only to see a doctor but to prove that I have an appointment. I have a rule now never forget an appointment card, because I have to prove receptionist that I scheduled appointment almost every time my name is not found in the computer! It is ridiculous. In spite that doctor seemed so nice and location is so convenient I'm looking for a new one

5.0 of 5
December 4th, 2008
Great Doctor
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Very hard to get through his staff to him directly.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 21st, 2017
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 18th, 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
September 3rd, 2015
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 11th, 2012
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 4th, 2011
Wait time
10.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joseph Aleo, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Ellicott City, MD.