Dr. Joseph Allen MD Patient Reviews

Overall Rating

3.9
  • 19 patient ratings
  • 9 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 1.1)

9 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    58%
  • Satisfied
    11%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    26%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Wait Time 15.6 minutes

Showing 1 - 9 reviews

5.0 of 5
July 14th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great staff, good location, family friendly for sure.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
May 8th, 2015
Over the years...
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Dr. Fassetts for over 15 years. He is a wonderful man, and I hope he continues to practice medicine for many years. Dr Allen is the physician I see when I cannot get an appt with Fassett. Dr Allen always seems distracted and not overly interested in making any conversation at all. He wants to get in and out of the room.His nurse leaves much to be desired. She is rude and unkind to patients. Both my mother and my husband have commented on how unnecessarily nasty she is to paying patients. Last time I went in she slapped a paper in my hand and gruffly told me I could get my blood work elsewhere. She did not offer an explanation, and didn't even tell me to fast for the test... which I had to get twice . The quality of care has gone down dramatically over the years, I am seriously considering changing doctors at this point.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 25th, 2011
Wait time
45 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
the best part about this office is how easy it is to be seen. usually dr allen will see you within a day or too. that is the best thing about this doctor. otherwise, pretty mediocre...
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
May 18th, 2011
Dr. Allen - Excellent doctor
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been a patient of Doc Joe for 10 years. His bedside manner, courtesy and professionalism has always been stellar.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

4.0 of 5
February 18th, 2011
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Best doctor I have had. Staff is on the ball and does not drag their feet.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 13th, 2011
Does the Doctor "CARE" more about certain types of insured patients ...??
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I switched over to Dr. Allen last year, as heard he also specializes in 'sports medicine", and I have seen him 4-5 visits, for several issues. EACH time, his persona seems as if he doesn't care much at all at what I am trying to describe (symptoms-wise). I am starting to wonder if he normally just doesn't show ANY enthusiasm/caring/passion about anything at all, personality-wise, or does my HMO type of insurance coverage only warrant a small degree of caring. Hopefully not, as I have had many doctors/surgeons/specialists in 4-5 different states, and none seemed to possess his level of "caring".I will be changing doctors soon, and am afraid I CANNOT recommend Dr. Allen to anyone.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
December 8th, 2010
Great doctor, good staff
Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I've been going to Dr. Allen for years and have never had anything but great experiences. Even though I only seem him once a year or so, he always remember my history, what sport I play, what college I'm in, and whatever my previous ailments have been. He listens to what I have to say and takes my opinion into consideration while being as professional and personable as a doctor can be. He never seems in a rush, always spends enough time with me, and leaves me feeling like I'm leaving a friend rather than a random doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
November 30th, 2010
Good Doctor, Bad Office Staff
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Allen is actually a very nice and helpful Doctor, but the staff that takes calls and make appointments are unhelpful and rude. Seems to have gotten worse over the last year or so.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
April 22nd, 2010
Very mediocre doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
He is nice, but doesn't seem to be personable. He also doesn't seem to care very much.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joseph Allen, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Richard Fassett

4.5 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Francesca Adriano

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Christine Shaw

6 years experience

5.0 of 5