Dr. Joseph Baratta MD Patient Reviews

  • General Surgery Clifton, NJ

Overall Rating

3.5
  • 53 patient ratings
  • 19 comments

Last 12 months:

3.1 (-0.4)

53 Patient Reviews

  • Excellent
    45%
  • Great
    8%
  • Good
    13%
  • Poor
    9%
  • Bad
    25%
  • Friendly Staff
  • Promptness
  • Appropriate Followup
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Bedside Manner
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Easy Appointments
  • Wait Time 30.2 minutes

Showing 1 - 12 reviews

3.0 of 5
May 20th, 2015
don't use this guy
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was called to inform me the doctor would be 1 hour late, my appointment was changed. I went and still waited 1 and 1/2 hours never told me he wasn't coming passed me off to an secondary doctor who told me I needed to see a specialist are you kidding me they couldn't do this over the phone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
November 18th, 2014
Please find a different doctor if you can.AVOID HIS OFFICE
Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would never recommend him. Every time you go there you have to wait at least 2 hours, no matter what time your appointment is. You make an appointment to see him and he is never there....EMERGENCY ALWAYS is the excuse. The staff there is not pleasant and understanding at all. They think its your fault that you chose to see this doctor and so you have to pay for it by waiting forever. Extremely unhappy with their service. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME BY GOING TO VISIT HIS OFFICE BECAUSE HE IS NERER THERE ANYWAY. GOOD LUCK IF YOU CHOOSE TO BE A PATIENT THERE.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
September 18th, 2012
Discourteous and Unprofessional
Wait time
60 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was referred to Joesph Barrata's office and was seen by a junior doctor who looked unsure of his diagnosis. He sent me though for a CT scan and even after a second visit and the scan results the junior was unable to accurately diagnose the problem.After a few months the problem got worse so I scheduled an appointment with Joesph Barrata himself. I received several calls from his office to ensure I'd attend but when I did attend Barratas decided that he wouldn't. His staff called him and he eventually agreed to meet his obligation and come but refused to give me an ETA on his arrival.His treatment of me was discourteous at best and down right unprofessional at worst.Either way avoid this practice at all costs.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
August 2nd, 2012
Have a little rspect for your patients!
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
I walked out! Was referred by my primary doc. First appt attempt they tried to schedule me with a NP/PA. I was NOT referred to an NP/PA, I was referred to the surgeon! Then almost two weeks for an appt with the actual doc. I walk in today 10 minutes prior to my apt and there had to be at least 25 others in the waiting room! I asked the receptionist if I would be seen on time? No. How long? Dear in the headlights. Even at 10 patients an hours, it had to be at least a 2.5 hour wait. I know many surgeons have egos the size of M. Everest but this demonstrates a complete lack of respect for his patients. If you get this backed up, have your staff pick up the damned phones and start rescheduling!But given the other comments posted here and other places, it seems this doctor thinks his time is considerably more valuable than that of his patients. It is NOT!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

3.7 of 5
June 7th, 2012
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
the wait time in the office is too long...almost 2 hours before you get to see the doctor. Then Dr. Baratta is not available...while you're in the waiting room, the staff talks about the patients being upset and think it's a joke. Meanwhile, you're in the room listening to the whole conversation. We, as patients, have a right to be upset for waiting so long. Some of us leave work early to get to the doctor's appointments on time and they (Dr. Baratta's office) don't have the professionalism to understand the patients anger...would never go to the office again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.3 of 5
May 10th, 2011
?????
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
my wait time as aforementioned was 2 hrs the doctor did not even see me one of his assistants and nurse did and i have surgery schedule with him...so im a little concerned. i was recommended to him by another doctor so im trusting that doctors choice and also the high number of patients must mean something...either he's good or everyones sick!!!! follow up to come...

1.0 of 5
August 24th, 2010
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I would most definitely not recommend this doctor. He was rude and even asked my mom how long she had been in this country because she could not understand the medical terms he was using. The wait at his office is over 2 hours and Dr. Baratta has no regard for his patients time. His office staff will cover for him and tell you they are on time when you call ahead.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
August 20th, 2010
Excellent doctor!!!!!! Wonderful experience!!!!
Wait time
20.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Baratta answered all of my questions in detail and gave me all the time I needed in order for me to understand my procedure. I probably kept the next patient waiting, but Dr. Baratta did not seem to pressure me or hurry me at all. I felt very comfortable. i can see why someone must wait for him as I did, and likely the next patient, but he is worth the wait. I read the comment below regarding the PA (physician's assistant). He is no longer working for Dr. Baratta nor anyone else's private practice at this time from what I am told. I hope this will help others to know.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

1.0 of 5
July 7th, 2010
Worst experience of my life
Wait time
60.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
looooong wait. (more than 2.5 hours).worst office staff.doctor has so many patients waiting outside, he doesn't have time to talk to you.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 3rd, 2010
The Best Dr I've ever had!
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have shared my story of Dr Baratta with everyone!!He is BY FAR the kindest most fantastic Dr with the most extraordinary bedside manner EVER!! I have absolutely no threshold for pain and am an extremely nervous patient - he made my surgery a breeze! Unforgettable and one of a kind!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 17th, 2010
Excellent surgeon.
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great bedside manner, excellent skills, heart of gold. Dr. Baratta is as conscientious as they come. I recommend above all others in the area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 11th, 2010
I would follow Dr. Baratta anywhere.
Wait time
5.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
No matter what hospital, I would have Dr. Baratta perform my surgery and any surgery for my family members. I would follow Dr. Baratta anywhere. He is the most experienced and knowledgeable surgeon in the Northern New Jersey area.
Was this review helpful? Yes No


Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joseph Baratta, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near Clifton, NJ.