Dr. Joseph Caperna MD Patient Reviews

Overall Review

4.8
  • 21 patient ratings
  • 11 comments

Last 12 months:

5.0 (+ 0.2)

11 Patient Reviews

  • Highly Satisfied
    90%
  • Satisfied
    5%
  • Neutral
    0%
  • Dissatisfied
    5%
  • Highly Dissatisfied
    0%
  • Wait Time 16.1 minutes
  • Easy Appointments
  • Promptness
  • Friendly Staff
  • Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
  • Bedside Manner
  • Spends Time With Patients
  • Appropriate Followup

Showing 1 - 11 reviews

5.0 of 5
August 16th, 2015
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
BEST Dr. I have ever been to. Seen him since 2006 and he is amazing!
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 16th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Great Primary Care Physician! Most compassionate and caring Doctor I have met and have an honour to know, and have as a doctor.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 19th, 2015
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I use t be a patient of Dr. Caperna's while he was at The Ownen clinic. I always liked him! Would like to see him again if possible? I live in Long Beach but might be relocating back to San Diego?
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
November 8th, 2013
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
joe caperna is simply the best dr. i have ever had. full stop.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
January 29th, 2013
Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Caperna is one of the most compassionate and caring doctors that I have ever met.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
March 2nd, 2012
I unconditionally recommend Dr. Caperna
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I have been going to Dr. Caperna "Joe" for over 12 years now. Yes, I have waited sometimes and yes sometimes he has many patients, it's a public clinic after all! However, these issues are NOT his fault, as others here have said, UCSD is to blame here for the poor management of the Owen Clinic in which Dr. Caperna works. However, I must confess that in my opinion, even Owen Clinic is not as bad as it was a few years ago.Once, way back in 2002, I am sure that some of his other patients had to wait while Dr. Caperna saved my life, making sure I was quickly admitted to the hospital and taken care of. So now, I do not mind waiting for him at all. He has always taken whatever time I have needed from him to make sure that all of my questions are answered, my needs are met and my medications are refilled. I have referred several friends to him and they have had very good experiences as well. I've been HIV+ for over 14 years now and for me, there is NO OTHER DOCTOR I would trust with my care, no matter where I may choose to live in this world, Joe will always be my doctor. Clearly, from my interactions with him and my friends interactions with him, he cares first and foremost about his patients! Making money is not even on his radar screen. Furthermore, I greatly admire that he GIVES his time and knowledge to other doctors and patients in Africa, Mexico and elsewhere.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
June 27th, 2011
Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Without Dr. Caperna's Help I would have died Years ago. He is not condescending when talking to you. he explains things until he knows you understand.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 5th, 2011
Best doctor I've ever seen
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Reading other comments by patients, I wonder how much responsibility they take for themselves, or realize that doctors at UCSD work in a public health setting, with huge challenges. DR. Caperna provides world class care in a setting with litle support staff. Dr. Caperna saved my life. YEs, I have waited for him. HE cares, he is very thorough and he is worth it.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
February 4th, 2011
Recommended highly
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Dr. Caperna is one of the best doctors I've ever seen. He diagnosed my lymphoma after several doctors missed it. UCSD HIV clinic is a public health clinic setting. The doctors are great. I recommend Dr. Caperna to any HIV patient or cancer patient, his specialties.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

2.0 of 5
January 25th, 2011
Mis-Diagnosed
Wait time
30 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
I was misdiagnosed by Dr. Caperna and left with permanant nuerological damage. He has a very kind bed-side manner, but given his huge case-loads, he is not thorough. He is "harried, hurried and frantic most times I see him. My last visit was conducted by an intern, in which I spent almost 15 minutes going over my "issues". Upon entering my room, Caperna apologized and said he had 3 other patients in other rooms and another waiting in the lobby. He said that the intern had communicated my current physical problems to him. Apparently not very well and much was lost in translation, as I had to reiterate everything, ultimately forgetting some problems as.... at this point I was exhausted. I always end up being horribly depressed after I leave UCSD. Unfortunatly beggers cannot be choosers. I have Medi-Medi and we are considered second class citizens. Not many HIV clinics to chooose from in San Diego.
Was this review helpful? Yes No

5.0 of 5
April 15th, 2010
Outstanding Doctor
Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Fair and Accurate Diagnosis
Spends Time with Patients
Appropriate Follow-up
Very pleasant with all of the patients even if not under his direct care. I recommend those who need a doctor that is for you and not big business he's the guy
Was this review helpful? Yes No

Nearby Doctors

Dr. Joseph Caperna, MD is similar to these 3 Doctors near San Diego, CA.

Doctor

Dr. Eric Chou

5.0 of 5

Doctor

Dr. Timothy Holden

be the first to rate this Doctor

Doctor

Dr. Parag Agnihotri

22 years experience

5.0 of 5