The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Joseph Mccarthy Is this you?

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joseph Mccarthy?

Metastatic Melanoma

The facts about metastatic melanoma, a serious skin cancer, including signs, symptoms & what happens to the body in each stage of cancer.

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Joseph Mccarthy?

Ratings and Reviews

17 Ratings with 3 Comments

  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    7
  • Excellent
    6
  • Great
    0
  • Good
    4
  • Poor
    0
  • Bad
    7

Quality Rating

Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
33.2 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Showing 17 Ratings with 3 Comments

1.0 Rating

July 29th, 2015

Dr Joe McCarthy did my primary 25 years ago (I'm...

Dr Joe McCarthy did my primary 25 years ago (I'm 46 yrs old now.) Was supposed to be a simple procedure of shaving down my bone b/c my only problem was a Greek hump, not severe, but it bothered me. He did shave it down (not scooped, did an ok job) BUT left me with severely uneven/asymmetric nostrils. He apologized, said that there's nothing he could do & sent me to Dr Nicholas Tabbal in NYC as the 'go to' revision guy. 14 months post-primary I consulted with Tabbal and he was shocked at my McCarthy nose. Dr Tabbal said it could be fixed to a certain extent but never will it be 'good', rather an 'improvement.' I opted not to go thru w/revision bc I didn't want an open surgery w/a scar which is what Tabbal said he would do. Now, I'm desperate to fix my nose bc gravity has taken its toll and my nose tip is deformed w/significant nostril asymmetry and bizarre deep tip bifidity. I've been depressed and haven't stopped thinking about my nose for 25 yrs. I deeply regret my primary and specifically poor choice in Dr McCarthy. He was uncaring, aloof, reminded me that rhinoplasty is elective w/no guarantees .... He ruined aspects of the last 25 years of my life.

Wait time
56 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 16th, 2012

Dr Mccarthy did orgnathic surgery many years ago and continue to suffer -he misdiagnosed me , did the wrong surgery creating a jaw malrelation and his surgery created a malunion-a significant fracture and destruction of the nasal floor-he knew about mobility but never told me or my prosthodontist till years later and I suffered brutally lost all maxillary teeth,created tmj and severe maloclusal problems as i was a skeletal clss 111 but he diagnosed me as class 1

Wait time
20 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 16th, 2011

Wonderful Dr.

Very caring doctor and very compassionate. He spent time with me and answered all my questions and my husbands questions about our daughter diagnoses. While we were very worried and wanted to make sure we were making the correct choice for our daughter. He was able to explain it to us and not treat us as stupid people. I would highly recommend this doctor.

Wait time
25.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

1.0 Rating

August 16th, 2017

1.0 Rating

August 16th, 2017

1.0 Rating

April 4th, 2017

3.0 Rating

April 3rd, 2016

5.0 Rating

February 14th, 2016

3.0 Rating

September 28th, 2015

5.0 Rating

September 19th, 2015

5.0 Rating

November 23rd, 2014

3.7 Rating

October 10th, 2014

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Joseph Mccarthy is similar to the following 3 Doctors near New York, NY.

  • Dr. John Saunders

    Bariatric Medicine, General Surgery

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (5)
    12
  • Dr. Robert Reader

    General Surgery

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (2)
    42
  • Dr. Deane Smith III

    Vascular Surgery, Thoracic Surgery, General Surgery

    New York, NY 0 mi

    5.0
    (1)
    12