Orthopedic Surgeons
17 years of experience

Accepting new patients
Iowa Orthopaedics Ctr.
450 Laurel St
Suite A
Des Moines, IA 50314
(515) 247-8400
Locations and availability (7)

Patient Reviews ?

Overall Rating:
4.0
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Total Ratings

14

Total Reviews

9

Ratings
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star
Ease of Appointment:
  • Currently 3.8181818181818 of 4 stars
Promptness:
  • Currently 3.6 of 4 stars
Courteous Staff:
  • Currently 3.9 of 4 stars
Accurate Diagnosis:
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Bedside Manner:
  • Currently 3.9090909090909 of 4 stars
Spends Time with Me:
  • Currently 3.6363636363636 of 4 stars
Follows Up After Visit:
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
Average Wait: 19 minutes
Some ratings provided by DrScore.
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Highly Recommend  |  show details
by Kevin T on Oct 31st, 2013

I cannot recommend Joe Galles, Jr highly enough. First surgeon told me I needed amputation on one leg and surgical repair on the other. I walk now (on the legs God gave me) because of this guy. Argued on my behalf with work comp insurance. Takes the time needed with patients.

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Four compartment release on both legs for compartment syndrome  |  show details
by Nicki Briggs on May 16th, 2013

Dr. Galles is awesome, he explained what the pressure testing would be like (not fun)and surgery went well. I am glad I decided to both legs at the same time. recovery is going well.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  Dr. Joe Galles  |  show details
Nov 20th, 2012

I had surgery on my left foot about two years ago and am scheduled to have my right foot done in January, 2013. Dr. Galles did an amazing job removing the arthritis and fusing the bones on the first surgery, and I truly anticipate the same excellent results for the right foot. I found him to be just awesome. Complete explantation. Answered all my questions in a manner I could understand. I think he is just the best!!!

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Dec 16th, 2011

A top physician in all respects. He is very empathetic and precise in his explanations regarding all aspects of a patient's problem. He allows the patient full participation in the treatment plan. What a great person as well as physician!

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  excellent surgeon  |  show details
Jul 19th, 2011

Great surgeon. Recently had surgeryon my ankle and he did a great job came out of surgery virtually pain free. Great work!! Will never switch surgeon or doctor. Highly recommended

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Dec 28th, 2010

Dr. Galles very professional. Took time to explain diagnosis and treatment/future care.

  • Currently 3 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by New patient--M on Sep 24th, 2009

Seems very nice. In a bit too much of a rush, though I totally understand he has many patients.

  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
Apr 15th, 2009

dr joe galles is great doctor and I gave him 4 stars

Mark as Helpful  | 1 person found this helpful Report Abuse
  • Currently 4 of 4 stars
 |  show details
by Ken Haney on Jan 29th, 2009

The most informative doctor I have ever been to. He talks to you like a normal person, not someone that is better than you because he is a doctor. I feel very lucky to have had him as my surgeon.