ttcqeayetrwczwezdueawsrsbdyr

The Vitals website is provided for your informational use only. Nothing contained or offered by, on or through Vitals should be construed as medical advice or relied upon for medical diagnosis or treatment. Vitals does not recommend or endorse any particular healthcare provider whose information or ratings appear on this website. We encourage you to read our full Terms of Service.

Dr. Josef Gorek Is this you?
  • 25
  • 5
  • 1
  • 7
  • 3

Quality Rating

Highly Satisfied

Friendly Staff
Promptness
Wait Time
12.5 min
Appropriate Followup
Spends Time With Me
Bedside Manner
Accurate Diagnosis
Easy Appointments

Rate Now

Share Your Experience

Have you seen Dr. Josef Gorek?


41 Ratings with 8 Comments

5.0 Rating

September 5th, 2017

Spinal fusion surgery

He is very thorough and kind and answers all your questions. He did a great job on my first back surgery.

Wait time
10 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

October 31st, 2015

Great doc, great guy

Very thorough with his explanation of the procedure. Gave me articles to read about the exact method he and his team will be using. Answered all my questions and gave me reasonable hope that my pain will be addressed with this procedure. The only qualification is that I had a career in health care and grew up with a surgeon as my Dad. So I readily understand the terminology and anatomy. But I think ordinary lay people would as well.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

July 29th, 2015

Very meticulous explanations that were very reassuring and helpful. Great communicator

Wait time
5 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 28th, 2014

Great surgeon

Dr Gorek performed a complex 9-hr surgery on my lower back to relieve pain and keep me out if a wheelchair. His care was meticulous and the results? I am active--swimming, biking-- with no residual pain. I owe my quality of life to him, will forever be grateful for his care.

Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

2.3 Rating

February 8th, 2013

Not to demean Dr.Gorek,but I had a laminectomy a year ago (3-5) and continue to be in constant pain and limited body function. I am not saying he is a bad surgeon,maybe it was just not the best thing for my body. I went from being a very active cyclist to no cycling or aerobic activity, walking is painful. I would have appreciated it if he would have been more upfront about the rehab time and down side of getting surgery. I am hopeful that in time I will heal,but had I had any idea that I would still be this uncomffortable I would have chosen other options. So I strongly recommend to anyone considering back surgery to be patient with PT,core strengthening and to consider only in an emergency situation. That said I felt Dr.Gorek was kind,but just wish he would have been more upfront . It just did not work for me.Good luck!

Wait time
15 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

November 5th, 2011

AFTER HAVING 4 BACK SURGERIES FROM 1984 TO 2006, DR GOREK PERFORMED A 10 LEVEL 11 HOURSURGERY IN 2007 THAT HAS REMEDIED MY BACK PROBLEMS & I HAVE HAD NO PAIN SINCE THEN.DR GOREK IS THE BEST BACK SURGEON IN THEBAY AREA, BAR NONE!

Wait time
30.0 minutes
Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

March 10th, 2010

Best of the Best

Dr. Gorek brought back happiness to my life and family. He is the most proffesional and competent doctor .

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

5.0 Rating

June 22nd, 2009

He did what he said . It all worked out well. Now I'm back 11 years later to do it at another location on the spine. I am just happy he can help me.

Easy Appointment
Promptness
Friendly Staff
Accurate Diagnosis
Bedside Manner
Spends Time with Me
Appropriate Follow-up
Was this review helpful? Yes No Report Abuse

3.0 Rating

October 10th, 2017

4.0 Rating

October 10th, 2017

5.0 Rating

September 26th, 2017

5.0 Rating

September 26th, 2017

  • Nearby Doctors

    Dr. Josef Gorek is similar to the following 3 Doctors near Oakland, CA.

  • Dr. David Seidman

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Oakland, CA 0 mi

    5.0
    (8)
    23
  • Dr. John Cummins

    Orthopedic Surgery

    Oakland, CA 0 mi

    4.5
    (5)
    26
  • Dr. Christopher Grimsrud

    Trauma Surgery, Orthopedic Surgery

    Oakland, CA 0 mi

    4.4
    (7)
    15